Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | November 7, 2014

    Karelia Stetz-Waters: IMG The Hot Sex Tip Cosmo Won't Tell You



    Cosmopolitan Magazine recently released an article titled "28 Mind-Blowing Lesbian Sex Positions." Where was this vital information when I was a... Continue »
    1. $10.47 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$2.95
Used Mass Market
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Literature- A to Z

A Son of the Circus

by

A Son of the Circus Cover

ISBN13: 9780345389961
ISBN10: 0345389964
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $2.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

"A SON OF THE CIRCUS IS COMIC GENIUS....GET READY FOR IRVING'S MOST RAUCOUS NOVEL TO DATE."

--The Boston Globe

"Dr. Farrokh Daruwalla, reared in Bombay by maverick foes of tradition, educated in Vienna, married to an Austrian and long a resident of Toronto, is a 59-year-old without a country, culture or religion to call his own....The novel may not be 'about' India, but Irving's imagined India, which Daruwalla visits periodically, is a remarkable achievement--a pandemonium of servants and clubmen, dwarf clowns and transvestite whores, missionaries and movie stars. This is a land of energetic colliding egos, of modern media clashing with ancient cultures, of broken sexual boundaries."

--New York Newsday

"HIS MOST DARING AND MOST VIBRANT NOVEL...The story of circus-as-India is told with gusto and delightful irreverence."

--Bharati Mukherjee

The Washington Post Book World

"Ringmaster Irving introduces act after act, until three (or more) rings are awhirl at a lunatic pace....[He] spills characters from his imagination as agilely as improbable numbers of clowns pile out of a tiny car....His Bombay and his Indian characters are vibrant and convincing."

--The Wall Street Journal

"IRRESISTIBLE...POWERFUL...Irving's gift for dialogue shines."

--Chicago Tribune

Synopsis:

A Hindi film star . . . an American missionary . . . twins separated at birth . . . a dwarf chauffeur . . . a serial killer . . . all are on a collision course. In the tradition of A Prayer for Owen Meany, Irving's characters transcend nationality. They are misfits--coming from everywhere, belonging nowhere. Set almost entirely in India, this is John Irving's most ambitious novel and a major publishing event.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Robert Jarrett, January 1, 2010 (view all comments by Robert Jarrett)
I love John Irving, and have since "Hotel New Hampshire"... but this story line was so full of twists, character development and gut-checking surprises from start to end. Can't wait to re-read it.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780345389961
Author:
Irving, John
Publisher:
Ballantine Books
Location:
New York :
Subject:
General
Subject:
Fiction
Subject:
India
Subject:
Detective and mystery stories
Subject:
Mystery fiction
Subject:
Fantasy - General
Subject:
India Fiction.
Subject:
Science Fiction and Fantasy-Fantasy
Subject:
fiction;india;novel;circus;american;mystery;literature;murder;20th century;contemporary;american fiction;american literature;usa;indien;humor;bombay;contemporary fiction;doctor;dwarf;us;canada;toronto
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Mass market paperback
Series Volume:
154
Publication Date:
19950830
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Yes
Pages:
704
Dimensions:
7.40x4.38x1.17 in. .72 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Trying to Save Piggy Sneed
    Used Trade Paper $1.50
  2. A Prayer for Owen Meany
    Used Mass Market $3.50
  3. The Remains of the Day
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  4. Setting Free the Bears Used Mass Market $3.50
  5. The Water-method Man Used Mass Market $3.95
  6. 158 Pound Marriage Used Mass Market $3.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Adventure
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Fantasy » General

A Son of the Circus Used Mass Market
0 stars - 0 reviews
$2.95 In Stock
Product details 704 pages Ballantine Books - English 9780345389961 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , A Hindi film star . . . an American missionary . . . twins separated at birth . . . a dwarf chauffeur . . . a serial killer . . . all are on a collision course. In the tradition of A Prayer for Owen Meany, Irving's characters transcend nationality. They are misfits--coming from everywhere, belonging nowhere. Set almost entirely in India, this is John Irving's most ambitious novel and a major publishing event.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.