Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | June 18, 2014

Daniel H. Wilson: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Daniel H. Wilson



Like many writers, I'm constantly haunting coffee shops with a laptop out and my headphones on. I listen to a lot of music while I write, and songs... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.95
Used Trade Paper
Usually ships in 5 to 7 business days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Qty Store Section
1 Remote Warehouse Literature- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

This title in other editions

Breath and Shadows

by

Breath and Shadows Cover

ISBN13: 9780345439239
ISBN10: 0345439236
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $5.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Breath and Shadows is about three pairs of people who live in widely separated periods of time — the late 1700s, late 1800s, and late 1900s. These people, as gradually becomes clear, are three generations of the same family, none of which has any knowledge of the other two. But there exists down through these far-flung generations a meshwork of cause and effect that reverberates all the way into the present.

The interrelatedness of these three pairs of people, the twining of their destinies, is the core of the book.

Though the novel takes place in three different centuries, it is rooted in such timeless attributes as social mores, class and money, as well as in historical events such as the battle at Leipzig, where Napoleon was crushed, and the ruins of Berlin in 1945.

These events are woven through the private lives of the characters, among whom are a lonely and young officer, a sculptress trying to find truth in the stone she works with, a man terrified of flying who forces himself to fly constantly, a woman who embodies the ineffable bond between an animal and a human being, and others responding to their world, their natures and their needs. It is a novel about the attempt of human beings to know the past, to know one another and to know themselves. It is about love, loss, sexual passion, human perception and the possibility that the search for goodness may be an act of insanity.

Review:

"[An] exquisite and moving family saga....Breath and Shadows attains a surprisingly peaceful quality in the end." Brooks Hansen, The New York Times Book Review

Review:

"Leffland, who moves with ease from Napoleon's battle at Leipzig to contemporary Malibu, plots her book as densely as a fugue." The New Yorker

Review:

"[A] richly imagined story....Leffland's graceful, poetic prose and her ability to create indelibly vivid settings (from a small hut in the Jura mountains to the bustle of 18th-century Copenhagen) is dazzling." Publishers Weekly

Review:

"An enthralling generational novel....Leffland's rich novel is an impressively original work....Leffland's several protagonists emerge with stunning clarity....[Her] best novel yet." Kirkus Reviews

Review:

"Leffland writes with a grandeur and an omnipotence reminiscent of nineteenth-century fiction...a wise and poetic novel as enchanting and resonant as a fairy tale." Donna Seaman, Booklist (Starred Review)

Review:

"A book of piercing beauty that probes the heart of what it means to be human....Leffland's subtle descriptive powers beautifully match place with character." Minneapolis Star Tribune

Review:

"An extraordinary novel....It recalls us to our roots....It reminds us of our myths....There is great pleasure in reading this book, and a profound sense of what it means to be alive." The Washington Post Book World

Review:

"One of America's master storytellers." Gina Maritzer Smith, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution

Review:

"The three stories eventually form a cohesive whole but demand much on the reader's part on the way there." Library Journal

Synopsis:

In the tradition of Marianne Fredriksson's Hanna's Daughter, Leffland offers a beautifully written novel about the Rosteds, a Dutch family that carries a love of beauty and a propensity for madness in its blood.

Synopsis:

Leffland's fifth novel takes place in three different time periods: the 1700s in Copenhagen, the late 1800s on the Danish coast, and the 1980s in Chicago. The destinies of three pairs of people, deeply embedded in history, are connected in mysterious ways.

About the Author

Ella Leffland is the author of four previous books including the highly regarded The Knight, Death and the Devil. She lives in San Francisco.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

kmckowen, March 6, 2007 (view all comments by kmckowen)
Compelling enough to keep me at it to the end, even though I needed a dictionary and encyclopedia in my attempts to make sense of the historical bits.
Ella Leffland is always good, even if I'm too dense to "get" her.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(2 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780345439239
Author:
Leffland, Ella
Publisher:
Ballantine Books
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Historical
Subject:
Family
Subject:
Historical - General
Subject:
Sagas
Subject:
Historical fiction
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
June 2000
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
336
Dimensions:
8.23x5.56x.80 in. .66 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Big Stone Gap
    Used Trade Paper $1.50
  2. Le Divorce (William Abrahams Book)
    Used Trade Paper $5.95
  3. Gone to Soldiers Used Mass Market $3.50
  4. Testament of youth :an... Used Trade Paper $7.95
  5. Bad Girl Creek: A Novel Used Hardcover $9.95
  6. The Time Traveler's Wife
    Used Trade Paper $5.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

Breath and Shadows Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.95 In Stock
Product details 336 pages Ballantine Books - English 9780345439239 Reviews:
"Review" by , "[An] exquisite and moving family saga....Breath and Shadows attains a surprisingly peaceful quality in the end."
"Review" by , "Leffland, who moves with ease from Napoleon's battle at Leipzig to contemporary Malibu, plots her book as densely as a fugue."
"Review" by , "[A] richly imagined story....Leffland's graceful, poetic prose and her ability to create indelibly vivid settings (from a small hut in the Jura mountains to the bustle of 18th-century Copenhagen) is dazzling."
"Review" by , "An enthralling generational novel....Leffland's rich novel is an impressively original work....Leffland's several protagonists emerge with stunning clarity....[Her] best novel yet."
"Review" by , "Leffland writes with a grandeur and an omnipotence reminiscent of nineteenth-century fiction...a wise and poetic novel as enchanting and resonant as a fairy tale."
"Review" by , "A book of piercing beauty that probes the heart of what it means to be human....Leffland's subtle descriptive powers beautifully match place with character."
"Review" by , "An extraordinary novel....It recalls us to our roots....It reminds us of our myths....There is great pleasure in reading this book, and a profound sense of what it means to be alive."
"Review" by , "One of America's master storytellers."
"Review" by , "The three stories eventually form a cohesive whole but demand much on the reader's part on the way there."
"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of Marianne Fredriksson's Hanna's Daughter, Leffland offers a beautifully written novel about the Rosteds, a Dutch family that carries a love of beauty and a propensity for madness in its blood.
"Synopsis" by , Leffland's fifth novel takes place in three different time periods: the 1700s in Copenhagen, the late 1800s on the Danish coast, and the 1980s in Chicago. The destinies of three pairs of people, deeply embedded in history, are connected in mysterious ways.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.