Warriors B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Book News | May 11, 2015

    Chris Hedges: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Chris Hedges



    Describe your latest book. Wages of Rebellion looks at the nature of rebellion, those who do it, why they do it, and the price they pay for being a... Continue »
    1. $18.89 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      Wages of Rebellion

      Chris Hedges 9781568589664

    spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

This title in other editions

The Mourning Sexton: A Novel of Suspense

by

The Mourning Sexton: A Novel of Suspense Cover

ISBN13: 9780385513265
ISBN10: 0385513267
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In this deft, multilayered thriller, a disgraced lawyer trying to revive his tattered career stumbles across a hidden case of cold-blooded murder and discovers that he must pursue justice even though doing so might just cost him what little he has left — possibly even his life.

Attorney David Hirsch was the managing partner of one of St. Louis's most prestigious law firms, until he was convicted of embezzlement and sent to the federal penitentiary for seven years. He emerges from prison humbled and genuinely contrite, eager to patch things up with his estranged daughter and to build up a modest legal practice. In forging his life afresh, Hirsch has rediscovered his Judaism and has become part of the daily minyan, the group of ten men necessary to pray together, at the synagogue near his home. When an elderly man in the group asks for his help with a product liability case involving his daughter's death, Hirsch reluctantly takes it on — only to discover that the seemingly straightforward lawsuit conceals a cold-blooded murder.

With the help of Dulcie Lorenz, the altruistic, public-spirited attorney the dead woman worked for, Hirsch pursues the liability case while quietly amassing evidence against the highly placed person he suspects of murder. His attempt to bring his powerful adversary to justice draws Hirsch into a fierce, seesawing battle of wits — and ultimately to an act that expresses the true depth of his atonement.

A page-turner in the tradition of Scott Turow, The Mourning Sexton goes beyond the question of "who done it" to explore the more intriguing questions of why the crime was committed and what it reveals about human nature. Set against the richly textured backdrops of St. Louis's legal establishment and the city's tight-knit Jewish community, and animated by a vivid cast of characters, it marks the debut of an extraordinary new talent.

Review:

"This debut novel by a pseudonymous St. Louis attorney will appeal to Scott Turow fans. Hirsch, a multidimensional, clearly flawed hero, has the makings of a fine series lead." Booklist

Review:

"Michael Baron...has no trouble making the legal aspects of the story sound authentic. The courtrooms come alive in his deft hands, with rich characters that texture The Mourning Sexton with a lush feeling of realism." BookReporter.com

Review:

"Attractive and credible characters in slightly-less-credible circumstances." Kirkus Reviews

Review:

"There is a maxim in the legal profession that the law does not concern itself with trifles, and Michael Baron, in his wonderful story, does not concern himself with trifles. The Mourning Sexton shows what the law is really supposed to be about — morality, atonement, responsibility, and redemption. A truly original legal thriller by a fresh, new voice." Nelson DeMille

Review:

"The Mourning Sexton is an original thriller with a clever plot and a complex and fascinating hero; a good read that is difficult to put down." Phillip Margolin, author of Lost Lake

Review:

"Michael Baron has penned an extraordinarily nuanced novel that other writers will be alluding to with envy for years to come." Jeremiah Healy, author of Invasion Of Privacy and Turnabout

Synopsis:

In this deft, multilayered thriller, a disgraced lawyer trying to revive his tattered career discovers that exacting justice in a complicated murder case demands something far more personal than a well-honed display of legal expertise in the courtroom. Set against the richly textured backdrops of St. Louis's legal establishment and the city's tight-knit Jewish community, and animated by a vivid cast of characters, it marks the debut of an extraordinary new talent.

About the Author

Michael Baron is a pseudonym for an attorney in St. Louis, Missouri. This is his first novel.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

The Hungry Worm, May 17, 2010 (view all comments by The Hungry Worm)
I read The Mourning Sexton by Michael Baron many years ago and am still recommending it to friends. It's the murder mystery that convinced me that this genre can be worth reading. The main character is believable and engaging, not your typical smarmy detective. He has doubts and faults, and the pursuit of resolution of this murder reveals as much about him as it does the strange events that revolve around the murder itself. The ending is a bit Hollywood thriller, but the book is still so worth reading.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780385513265
Publisher:
Random House
Subject:
Thrillers
Author:
Baron, Michael
Subject:
Jews
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - General
Subject:
Legal
Subject:
Products liability
Copyright:
Publication Date:
April 19, 2005
Binding:
Hardcover
Language:
English
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
9.40x6.38x.97 in. 1.27 lbs.

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Contemporary Thrillers

The Mourning Sexton: A Novel of Suspense
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 320 pages Doubleday Books - English 9780385513265 Reviews:
"Review" by , "This debut novel by a pseudonymous St. Louis attorney will appeal to Scott Turow fans. Hirsch, a multidimensional, clearly flawed hero, has the makings of a fine series lead."
"Review" by , "Michael Baron...has no trouble making the legal aspects of the story sound authentic. The courtrooms come alive in his deft hands, with rich characters that texture The Mourning Sexton with a lush feeling of realism."
"Review" by , "Attractive and credible characters in slightly-less-credible circumstances."
"Review" by , "There is a maxim in the legal profession that the law does not concern itself with trifles, and Michael Baron, in his wonderful story, does not concern himself with trifles. The Mourning Sexton shows what the law is really supposed to be about — morality, atonement, responsibility, and redemption. A truly original legal thriller by a fresh, new voice." Nelson DeMille
"Review" by , "The Mourning Sexton is an original thriller with a clever plot and a complex and fascinating hero; a good read that is difficult to put down." Phillip Margolin, author of Lost Lake
"Review" by , "Michael Baron has penned an extraordinarily nuanced novel that other writers will be alluding to with envy for years to come." Jeremiah Healy, author of Invasion Of Privacy and Turnabout
"Synopsis" by , In this deft, multilayered thriller, a disgraced lawyer trying to revive his tattered career discovers that exacting justice in a complicated murder case demands something far more personal than a well-honed display of legal expertise in the courtroom. Set against the richly textured backdrops of St. Louis's legal establishment and the city's tight-knit Jewish community, and animated by a vivid cast of characters, it marks the debut of an extraordinary new talent.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.