Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    What I'm Giving | December 1, 2014

    Edward O. Wilson: IMG Edward O. Wilson: What I'm Giving



    At Powell's, we feel the holidays are the perfect time to share our love of books with those close to us. For this special blog series, we reached... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$7.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Literature- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

Breaking the Tongue

by

Breaking the Tongue Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

This brilliant novel chronicles the fall of Singapore to the Japanese in World War II. Central to the story is one Chinese family: Claude, raised to be more British than the British and ashamed of his own heritage; his father, Humphrey, whose Anglophilia blinds him to possible defeat and his wife's dalliances; and the redoubtable Grandma Siok, whose sage advice falls on deaf ears.

Expatriates, spies, fifth columnists, and nationalists — including the elusive young woman Ling-Li — mingle in this exotic culture as the Japanese threat looms. Beset by the horror of war and betrayal and, finally, torture, Claude must embrace his true heritage. In the extraordinary final paragraphs of the novel, the language itself breaks into Chinese. With penetrating observation, Vyvyane Loh unfolds the coming-of-age story of a young man and a nation, a story that deals with myth, race, and class, with the ways language shapes perceptions, and with the intrigue and suffering of war.

Review:

"In the tradition of Rushdie or Ondaatje, this is one of the most accomplished first novels I've ever seen." Andrea Barrett

Review:

"a solid and moving accomplishment."Publisher's Weekly

Review:

"[T]his masterly novel is not only bold and challenging but also beautifully written. The reader will be left breathless by the ending." Library Journal

Review:

"Loh's subtle narrative exfoliates skillfully...One of the most ambitious and accomplished debut novels in recent memory. " Kirkus Reviews

About the Author

Vyvyane Loh, a physician with an M.F.A. from Warren Wilson College, lives in Watertown, Massachusetts.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780393057928
Author:
Loh, Vyvyane
Publisher:
W. W. Norton & Company
Location:
New York
Subject:
General
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
World war, 1939-1945
Subject:
History
Subject:
Historical - General
Subject:
Historical fiction
Subject:
Singapore
Subject:
War stories
Subject:
Domestic fiction
Subject:
World War, 19
Copyright:
Edition Number:
1st ed.
Edition Description:
Includes bibliographical references (p. [409]).
Series Volume:
108-52
Publication Date:
March 2004
Binding:
Hardcover
Language:
English
Pages:
448
Dimensions:
9.32x6.38x1.39 in. 1.51 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Riven Rock Used Hardcover $6.95
  2. Ten Days in the Hills Used Trade Paper $2.50
  3. The Attack
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  4. The Summer Before the Dark Used Mass Market $2.50
  5. The Heart of Redness Used Trade Paper $5.95
  6. Sayonara, Gangsters Used Hardcover $11.00

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

Breaking the Tongue Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$7.95 In Stock
Product details 448 pages W. W. Norton & Company - English 9780393057928 Reviews:
"Review" by , "In the tradition of Rushdie or Ondaatje, this is one of the most accomplished first novels I've ever seen."
"Review" by , "a solid and moving accomplishment."
"Review" by , "[T]his masterly novel is not only bold and challenging but also beautifully written. The reader will be left breathless by the ending."
"Review" by , "Loh's subtle narrative exfoliates skillfully...One of the most ambitious and accomplished debut novels in recent memory. "
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.