Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | Yesterday, 10:00am

Jessica Valenti: IMG Full Frontal Feminism Revisited



It is arguably the worst and best time to be a feminist. In the years since I first wrote Full Frontal Feminism, we've seen a huge cultural shift in... Continue »
  1. $11.90 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$10.95
List price: $15.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Literature- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

The Storyteller of Marrakesh

by

The Storyteller of Marrakesh Cover

ISBN13: 9780393340617
ISBN10: 0393340619
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $10.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Hassan, a storyteller, has gathered listeners in Marrakesh's fabled Jemaa el Fna to perform his annual re-creation of the night on which two foreigners mysteriously disappeared from the square. But as his audience offers contradicting testimonies, and details transform or dissolve in the haze of memory, the couple takes on an air as enigmatic as their fate, leaving us to wonder whether Hassan is getting closer to the truth or, more disturbingly, is himself part of the mystery.

Synopsis:

"An enigmatic fable in the tradition of 'The Thousand and One Nights.' " --Anderson Tepper, New York Times Book Review

About the Author

Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya was born in Jamshedpur, India, and lives in New York. His first novel, The Gabriel Club, was published in eight languages in sixteen countries.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

E S Pittenger, January 6, 2013 (view all comments by E S Pittenger)
In order to live, a story requires a teller and an audience. In the case of Hassan, the storyteller of the Djemaa el Fna, the central square of the fabled city of Marrakesh, he involves his entire audience in the recreation of the night two foreign visitors disappeared from that very square, involving Hassan’s brother, Mustafa, a man who has sworn to pursue beauty no matter the cost and who has been swept up in the crime that seems to surround the incident.

We often hear that stories are the means we have invented for exploring and finding life’s truths, but in this case we see that the story’s truth may be a compilation of everyone’s lies. Roy-Bhattacharya gives us an enigmatic tale, richly symbolic, and overflowing with the exotic variety of the inhabitants of northwest Africa. The mysterious young couple are so thoroughly described by the various eye-witnesses to the events of that night that they become ironically unknowable except, perhaps, as symbols of Truth and Beauty much as the Djemma becomes a symbol and an unknowable entity in its function as a nexus or navel of the world.

India’s Roy-Bhattacharya creates a modern Arabesque reminiscent of A Thousand and One Nights in this compilation of vignettes around a central themes of what is truth and the unreliability of memory. This story about storytelling is a memorable book that will, no doubt, resonate within me for a long time after I have put it down.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780393340617
Author:
Roy Bhattacharya, Joydeep
Publisher:
W. W. Norton & Company
Author:
Roy-Bhattacharya, Joydeep
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Publication Date:
20120231
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
368
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in

Other books you might like

  1. Comedy in a Minor Key Sale Trade Paper $6.98
  2. City of Dragons (Miranda Corbie Mystery) Used Trade Paper $10.50
  3. The Great Typo Hunt: Two Friends... Used Trade Paper $6.95

Related Subjects


Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

The Storyteller of Marrakesh Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$10.95 In Stock
Product details 368 pages W. W. Norton & Company - English 9780393340617 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , "An enigmatic fable in the tradition of 'The Thousand and One Nights.' " --Anderson Tepper, New York Times Book Review
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.