Nonficionado Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Q&A | May 12, 2015

    Aleksandar Hemon: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Aleksandar Hemon



    Describe your latest book. The Making of Zombie Wars is a roller-coaster ride of violence and sex. The main character, Joshua Levin, is a modestly... Continue »
    1. $18.20 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      The Making of Zombie Wars

      Aleksandar Hemon 9780374203412

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$12.50
List price: $17.99
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Burnside Children's Picture Books- General
2 Burnside Children's- Caldecott Award Winners

This title in other editions

Officer Buckle and Gloria

by

Officer Buckle and Gloria Cover

ISBN13: 9780399226168
ISBN10: 0399226168
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

This hilarious tale of a friendship that develops over a love of books is the perfect picture book for fans of IT'S A BOOK and OFFICER BUCKLE AND GLORIA!

Everyone needs a little attention from time to time. Just ask our gorilla who will stop at nothing to be noticed by the boy with his eyes glued to the TV set. But for the gorilla, its going to take more than a quiet nudge to steal away the boys attention. When his usual antics fail to catch the boys eye—LOOK OUT! The gorilla has some other tricks up his sleeve.

 

Using only two words—LOOK and OUT—Jeff Mack relates an adorably hilarious story about an attention-loving gorilla, a television-loving boy, and a friendship that develops over books. Simple in construct yet richly creative, this interactive and colorful tale will leave children laughing and loving books for years to come.

Perfect for fans of It's a Book and Officer Buckle and Gloria. 

Praise for LOOK!:

 

"The personalities and emotions of the chunky, fluffy ape and the TV-entranced boy nearly vibrate off the page. Look, indeed! An energetic invitation to the joys of books."—Kirkus Reviews

"This is a fun read-aloud that will have children wanting to look and look again."—School Library Journal

Synopsis:

"Besides the beguiling story, the affable illustrations of the smiling Gloria, the accidental mayhem in the background, and the myriad safety tips — such as 'always pull the toothpick out of your sandwhich' and 'never lick a stop sign in the winter' — add to the enjoyment. A glorious picture book." — The Horn Book "Rathmann is a quick rising star in the world of chidren's books. In this book, she again shows her flair for creating real characters, dramatic situations and for knowing what will make young audiences giggle and think." — Children's Book Review Magazine "Rathman brings a lighter-than-air comic touch to this outstanding, solid-as-a-brick picture book." — Publisher's Weekly "A five-star performance." — School Library Journal

Synopsis:

Officer Buckle knows more about safety than anyone else in Napville, but his dull presentations put his audiences to sleep. Enter Gloria, Napville's new police dog. Gloria knows just how to liven up the safety speeches--as long as Officer Buckle's back is turned! Full color. Caldecott medal Book.

About the Author

Originally from Syracuse, NY, Jeff Mack (www.JeffMack.com) grew up fascinated by monsters and robots. He built his own pinball machines from cardboard boxes, and created comic books about his four siblings being devoured by monsters. Now at home in Western Massachusetts, he continues to write, paint, and talk with school groups about his various projects. Jeff is the author/illustrator of such books as Good News Bad News and Ah Ha! Follow @jeffmackbooks

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

tryprz, October 19, 2006 (view all comments by tryprz)
Is it possible to fall hopelessly in love with a stubby, middle-aged cop who bores little kids to tears? Is it also thinkable to cheer on an annoyingly over-confident dog skilled in the art of one-upmanship? Yes, but only when conceived by the brilliant mind of Peggy Rathman (10 minutes 'til bedtime).

Officer Buckle is a police officer who fails miserably at his job: delivering safety lectures to school children. Because he is so rotten at it, he is forced to work with a doggie partner to spice up his talks; however, Gloria, the doggie, is just a little bit too skilled at what she does. Comical confusion ensues and erupts into the most emotionally wrought revelation of betrayal you will ever read (in a children's book, anyway).

Please read this story to your child, your children, or to yourself. The illustrations are soft and nostalgic, at times a hoot, but that all too universal dynamic between Officer Buckle and Gloria will hit your empathy strings hard.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(6 of 10 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780399226168
performance Narrated:
Rathmann, Peggy
production Music composed:
Ernest V. Troost.
Illustrator:
Rathmann, Peggy
Author:
Mack, Jeff
Author:
Rathmann, Peggy
Publisher:
Putnam Publishing Group
Location:
United States
Subject:
Fiction
Subject:
Children's 4-8 - Picturebooks
Subject:
Classics
Subject:
Humorous Stories
Subject:
Dogs
Subject:
Schools
Subject:
Police
Subject:
Safety
Subject:
Accidents
Subject:
Health & Medicine - Safety
Subject:
Police dogs
Subject:
School stories
Subject:
Schools -- Fiction.
Subject:
Health & Daily Living - Safety
Subject:
Animals - Dogs
Subject:
Childrens classics
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Picture book
Series:
Weston Woods read-along CD
Series Volume:
v. 2
Publication Date:
19950931
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from P up to 3
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Yes
Pages:
32
Dimensions:
4 3/4 in. +
Media Run Time:
000819$a000812
Age Level:
04-08

Other books you might like

  1. So You Want to Be President?
    Used Hardcover $5.95
  2. The Polar Express
    Used Hardcover $8.95
  3. The Story of Jumping Mouse Used Book Club Paperback $2.50
  4. Alexander and the Terrible,...
    Used Pamphlet $3.50
  5. Smoky Night
    Used Trade Paper $3.95
  6. Mirette on the High Wire Used Book Club Paperback $2.95

Related Subjects

» BLOCKED
» Children's » Animals » Dogs
» Children's » Awards » Caldecott Award Winners
» Children's » Classics » General
» Children's » General
» Children's » Humor
» Children's » Picture Books » A to Z
» Children's » Picture Books » Caldecott Awards
» Children's » Picture Books » General
» Children's » Sale Books
» Featured Titles » Science

Officer Buckle and Gloria Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$12.50 In Stock
Product details 32 pages Putnam Publishing Group - English 9780399226168 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,

"Besides the beguiling story, the affable illustrations of the smiling Gloria, the accidental mayhem in the background, and the myriad safety tips — such as 'always pull the toothpick out of your sandwhich' and 'never lick a stop sign in the winter' — add to the enjoyment. A glorious picture book." — The Horn Book "Rathmann is a quick rising star in the world of chidren's books. In this book, she again shows her flair for creating real characters, dramatic situations and for knowing what will make young audiences giggle and think." — Children's Book Review Magazine "Rathman brings a lighter-than-air comic touch to this outstanding, solid-as-a-brick picture book." — Publisher's Weekly "A five-star performance." — School Library Journal

"Synopsis" by , Officer Buckle knows more about safety than anyone else in Napville, but his dull presentations put his audiences to sleep. Enter Gloria, Napville's new police dog. Gloria knows just how to liven up the safety speeches--as long as Officer Buckle's back is turned! Full color. Caldecott medal Book.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.