Summer Reading B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Q&A | July 20, 2015

    Jesse Ball: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Jesse Ball



    Describe your latest book. I woke up one day from a sort of daydream with an idea for a book's structure, and for the thread of that book, one... Continue »
    1. $16.80 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      A Cure for Suicide

      Jesse Ball 9781101870129

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$3.50
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Local Warehouse Romance- General

More copies of this ISBN

This title in other editions

Open Country

by

Open Country Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Four unlikely brides make their way west—and find love where they least expect it in award-winner Kaki Warners heartwarming series, one “as stellar as her Blood Rose trilogy…”* For fans of Linda Lael Miller and Jodi Thomas...

Edwina Ladoux hoped becoming a mail-order bride would be her way out of the war-torn South, but as soon as she arrives in Heartbreak Creek, Colorado, and meets her hulking, taciturn groom, she realizes shes made a terrible mistake. Declan Brodie already had one flighty wife who ran off with a gambler before being killed by Indians. Hes hoping for a practical farm woman who can corral his four rambunctious children. Instead, he gets a skinny Southern princess who doesnt even know how to cook.

Luckily, Edwina and Declan agreed on a three-month courtship period, allowing them time to get the proxy marriage annulled. Yet as the weeks pass, thoughts of annulment turn into hopes for a real marriage—until the unspeakable happens, and suddenly Declan is torn between duty and desire, and Edwina has to fight for the family shes grown to love…

*The Romance Dish

Review:

"Molly McFarlane flees from her vicious brother-in-law with her late sister's children in tow in this second entry of the Blood Rose trilogy. Without a real plan, she heads for the frontier, hoping for a new life but the train carrying them is derailed and, desperate, Molly marries an injured man in the hopes of getting the widow's benefits. However, Hank Wilkins doesn't die, and though he remembers nothing, still he takes Molly and the children back to his ranch, where he starts to fall in love with her. But when a tracker sent by her brother-in-law menaces her and Hank learns the truth about their marriage, Molly is desperate, with no one to turn to except the man she has deceived but also come to love. While there's a great deal of genre conventions in this historical romance: rough and tumble men, independent but vulnerable women and a frontier code of honor, still, Molly and Hank are a charming couple, despite the needlessly dramatic villains and the preposterous "conspiracy" around them. For fans of Western romance who don't mind some suspension of disbelief." Publishers Weekly (Copyright PWyxz LLC)

Synopsis:

From a "truly original new voice in historical fiction" ("New York Times"-bestselling author Jodi Thomas) comes the second novel in the Blood Rose trilogy--a passionate new saga of the three Wilkins brothers, living and loving on the dangerous American frontier.

Synopsis:

USA Today raved that Kaki Warners “warm, witty, and lovable characters shine” in the latest addition to her series about four unlikely brides who make their way west to discover newfound freedom and rediscover love.  For fans of Linda Lael Miller and Jodi Thomas...

After only three letters and one visit during her six-year marriage to a Scottish cavalry officer, Maddie Wallace decides to build a new life for herself by accepting an assignment from a London periodical to photograph the American West. Then Angus Wallace returns home unexpectedly after a military injury to find his wife gone, and to discover hes in line to an earldom. His mission to find Maddie takes him to Heartbreak Creek, Colorado where his biggest challenge awaits: convincing his headstrong wife to return home as his viscountess.

Now Maddie must decide between the glorious Colorado mountains or the glittering ballrooms of London, and between the man she has loved and the dreams she wants so desperately to fulfill.  

Synopsis:

First in a wonderful new historical series starring four unlikely brides who make their way West.

Edwina Ladoux hoped becoming a mail-order bride would be her way to a better life, but as soon as she arrives in Breakheart, Colorado, and meets Declan Brodie and his four rambunctious children, she realizes she's made a mistake. Luckily, Edwina and Declan agreed on a three- month courtship period, which should give them time to get the proxy marriage annulled. Except that as the weeks pass, thoughts of annulment turn into hopes for a real marriage-until Declan's first wife suddenly returns.

About the Author

Kaki Warner lives in Washington with her family.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780425234303
Author:
Warner, Kaki
Publisher:
Berkley Publishing Group
Subject:
Romance - Historical
Subject:
Historical fiction
Subject:
Western stories
Subject:
Westerns
Subject:
Jodi Thomas; Linda Lael Miller; Joan Johnston; Catherine Anderson; Jo Goodman; Diana Palmer; Horse Whisperer; Louis L Amour; Larry McMurtry; western; western romance; western historical romance; Colorado; Heartbreak Creek; Heroes of Heartbreak Creek; Behi
Subject:
Jodi Thomas; Linda Lael Miller; Joan Johnston; Catherine Anderson; Jo Goodman; Diana Palmer; Horse Whisperer; Louis L Amour; Larry McMurtry; western; western romance; western historical romance; Colorado; Heartbreak Creek; Heroes of Heartbreak Creek; Behi
Subject:
Jodi Thomas; Linda Lael Miller; Joan Johnston; Catherine Anderson; Jo Goodman; Diana Palmer; Horse Whisperer; Louis L Amour; Larry McMurtry; western; western romance; western historical romance; Colorado; Heartbreak Creek; Heroes of Heartbreak Creek; Behi
Subject:
Jodi Thomas; Linda Lael Miller; Joan Johnston; Catherine Anderson; Jo Goodman; Diana Palmer; Horse Whisperer; Louis L Amour; Larry McMurtry; western; western romance; western historical romance; Colorado; Heartbreak Creek; Heroes of Heartbreak Creek; Behi
Subject:
Jodi Thomas; Linda Lael Miller; Joan Johnston; Catherine Anderson; Jo Goodman; Diana Palmer; Horse Whisperer; Louis L Amour; Larry McMurtry; western; western romance; western historical romance; Colorado; Heartbreak Creek; Heroes of Heartbreak Creek; Behi
Subject:
Jodi Thomas; Linda Lael Miller; Joan Johnston; Catherine Anderson; Jo Goodman; Diana Palmer; Horse Whisperer; Louis L Amour; Larry McMurtry; western; western romance; western historical romance; Colorado; Heartbreak Creek; Heroes of Heartbreak Creek; Behi
Subject:
Jodi Thomas; Linda Lael Miller; Joan Johnston; Catherine Anderson; Jo Goodman; Diana Palmer; Horse Whisperer; Louis L Amour; Larry McMurtry; western; western romance; western historical romance; Colorado; Heartbreak Creek; Heroes of Heartbreak Creek; Behi
Subject:
Jodi Thomas; Linda Lael Miller; Joan Johnston; Catherine Anderson; Jo Goodman; Diana Palmer; Horse Whisperer; Louis L Amour; Larry McMurtry; western; western romance; western historical romance; Colorado; Heartbreak Creek; Heroes of Heartbreak Creek; Behi
Edition Description:
Paperback / softback
Series:
A Runaway Brides Novel
Series Volume:
2
Publication Date:
20100631
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
400
Dimensions:
8.22 x 5.54 x 1 in 0.76 lb
Age Level:
17-17

Other books you might like

  1. Summer Brides: The Borrowed Bride\A... New Mass Market $7.99
  2. The Horsemaster's Daughter Used Mass Market $2.50
  3. Lonesome Way #1: Sage Creek Used Mass Market $4.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Romance » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Romance » General
Fiction and Poetry » Romance » Historical

Open Country Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$3.50 In Stock
Product details 400 pages Berkley Publishing Group - English 9780425234303 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Molly McFarlane flees from her vicious brother-in-law with her late sister's children in tow in this second entry of the Blood Rose trilogy. Without a real plan, she heads for the frontier, hoping for a new life but the train carrying them is derailed and, desperate, Molly marries an injured man in the hopes of getting the widow's benefits. However, Hank Wilkins doesn't die, and though he remembers nothing, still he takes Molly and the children back to his ranch, where he starts to fall in love with her. But when a tracker sent by her brother-in-law menaces her and Hank learns the truth about their marriage, Molly is desperate, with no one to turn to except the man she has deceived but also come to love. While there's a great deal of genre conventions in this historical romance: rough and tumble men, independent but vulnerable women and a frontier code of honor, still, Molly and Hank are a charming couple, despite the needlessly dramatic villains and the preposterous "conspiracy" around them. For fans of Western romance who don't mind some suspension of disbelief." Publishers Weekly (Copyright PWyxz LLC)
"Synopsis" by , From a "truly original new voice in historical fiction" ("New York Times"-bestselling author Jodi Thomas) comes the second novel in the Blood Rose trilogy--a passionate new saga of the three Wilkins brothers, living and loving on the dangerous American frontier.
"Synopsis" by ,
USA Today raved that Kaki Warners “warm, witty, and lovable characters shine” in the latest addition to her series about four unlikely brides who make their way west to discover newfound freedom and rediscover love.  For fans of Linda Lael Miller and Jodi Thomas...

After only three letters and one visit during her six-year marriage to a Scottish cavalry officer, Maddie Wallace decides to build a new life for herself by accepting an assignment from a London periodical to photograph the American West. Then Angus Wallace returns home unexpectedly after a military injury to find his wife gone, and to discover hes in line to an earldom. His mission to find Maddie takes him to Heartbreak Creek, Colorado where his biggest challenge awaits: convincing his headstrong wife to return home as his viscountess.

Now Maddie must decide between the glorious Colorado mountains or the glittering ballrooms of London, and between the man she has loved and the dreams she wants so desperately to fulfill.  

"Synopsis" by ,
First in a wonderful new historical series starring four unlikely brides who make their way West.

Edwina Ladoux hoped becoming a mail-order bride would be her way to a better life, but as soon as she arrives in Breakheart, Colorado, and meets Declan Brodie and his four rambunctious children, she realizes she's made a mistake. Luckily, Edwina and Declan agreed on a three- month courtship period, which should give them time to get the proxy marriage annulled. Except that as the weeks pass, thoughts of annulment turn into hopes for a real marriage-until Declan's first wife suddenly returns.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.