Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Contributors | November 26, 2014

    Chris Faatz: IMG The Collected Poems of James Laughlin



    Fall has brought us a true gift in the publication of the massive The Collected Poems of James Laughlin, published by New Directions in an... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$3.95
List price: $16.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Mystery- A to Z
2 Local Warehouse Mystery- A to Z

This title in other editions

Bad Things Happen

by

Bad Things Happen Cover

ISBN13: 9780425234402
ISBN10: 0425234401
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 3 left in stock at $3.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

"Witty, sophisticated, suspenseful and endless fun...the best first novel I've read this year." -Washington Post

"A hypnotically readable novel, with...dialog worthy of Elmore Leonard."--Douglas Preston

The man who calls himself David Loogan is hoping to escape a violent past by living a quiet, anonymous life in Ann Arbor, Michigan. But when he's hired as an editor at a mystery magazine, he is drawn into an affair with the sleek blond wife of the publisher, Tom Kristoll-a man who soon turns up dead.

Elizabeth Waishkey is the most talented detective in the Ann Arbor Police Department, but even she doesn't know if Loogan is a killer or an ally who might help her find the truth. As more deaths start mounting up-some of them echoing stories published in the magazine-it's up to Elizabeth to solve both the murders and the mystery of Loogan himself.

"Fans of Peter Abrahams and Scott Turow will find a lot to like."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)

 

Synopsis:

David Loogan finds himself drawn into a friendship with the publisher of a mystery magazine. But as several deaths are uncovered--some of them echoing stories published in the magazine--Loogan begins to look more and more like the most promising suspect.

Synopsis:

A Wall Street Journal Best Mystery of 2014!

David Loogans dark past is revealed in this prequel to Bad Things Happen—the critically acclaimed mystery that Stephen King called a “great f***ing book.”

 
On a rainy night in April, a chance encounter on a lonely road draws David into a romance with Jana Fletcher, a beautiful young law student. Jana is an enigma: living in a run-down apartment and sporting a bruise on her cheek that she refuses to explain. David would like to know her secrets, but he lets them lie—until its too late. 
When Jana is brutally murdered, the police consider David a prime suspect. But as he sets out to uncover the truth about Jana, he begins to realize hes treading a very dangerous path—and that her killer is watching every move he makes.
 

Synopsis:

Elizabeth Hampton is consumed by grief when her mother dies unexpectedly. Leslie Hampton cared for Elizabeths troubled brother Ronnies special needs, assuming Elizabeth would take him in when the time came. But Leslies sudden death propels Elizabeth into a world of danger and double lives that undoes everything she thought she knew....

When police discover that Leslie was strangled, they immediately suspect that one of Ronnies outbursts took a tragic turn. Elizabeth cant believe that her brother is capable of murder, but who else could have had a motive to kill their quiet, retired mother? 

More questions arise when a stranger is named in Leslies will: a woman also named Elizabeth. As the familys secrets unravel, a man from Leslies past who claims to have all the answers shows up, but those answers might put Elizabeth and those she loves the most in mortal danger. 

About the Author

Harry Dolan graduated from Colgate University where he studied fiction writing with the novelist Frederick Busch. Currently working as a freelance editor, he lives in Ann Arbor, Michigan, where he is at work on the sequel to Bad Things Happen.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

OneMansView, March 27, 2011 (view all comments by OneMansView)
Intricate, interesting mystery

Why would anyone be so leery of casual chat with a checker when buying gardening tools: shovel, gloves, weed-killer, etc. It becomes quite obvious that David Loogan (a bizarre name itself) wants to keep a low profile, like he has something to hide. In addition, his very presence in Ann Arbor cannot be explained. However, it turns out that David has writing talent; his anonymous submissions of his writing to the GRAY STREETS magazine of mystery short stories had eventually resulted in the owner Tom Kristoll hiring him as editor of the publication. But far more than editing occurs. Not only does David begin an affair with Tom’s comely professor wife Laura, but people are being murdered who have a connection with the magazine.

In steps detective Elizabeth Waishkey of the Ann Arbor PD to unravel these related deaths. Loogan puzzles Waishkey: he is good-looking, has a low-key personality, is somewhat helpful in her investigation, yet he is a mysterious character who is too conveniently connected to the victims. But she also discovers many ego-driven writers and wannabes associated with the magazine, who seem to have hidden details or agendas in their lives. Some of them apparently are inclined to take actions to further or protect their positions, reputations, etc, regardless of the risks.

This first-time novel is intricately plotted with the focus on suspects shifting rapidly as facts and personal connections are uncovered. Despite the twists, the book has an even, easily-read pace and feel. The focus is on plot, but the characters are effectively sketched. It is amusing and ironic that the characters, perhaps even the reader, are warned that this mystery is real, not to be found in GRAY STRAIGHTS. Actually it would be a big hit in such a magazine.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)
John Lewis, August 7, 2010 (view all comments by John Lewis)
Bad Things Happen might be the "detective story" that Hemingway would have written had he ventured into the genre. Harry Dolan's prose in his first published novel is that succinct and that good. The opening sentence - "The shovel has to meet certain requirements." - foreshadows many wonderful lines to come and immediately grabs the reader's attention with a desire to learn more about what is going on here.

While I would recommend this novel for its writing and carefully crafted paragraphs and sentences alone, it is also an excellent and enjoyable "read" with a compelling plot. The author concocts a gripping, suspenseful thriller that is filled with more twists and turns than San Francisco's famed Lombard Street. The novel's protagonist, a "man of mystery with a troubled past" trying to lead a reclusive life in Ann Arbor, Michigan, must solve a series of murders of people connected to a local literary publication while staying one step ahead of the authorities. The novel works on two levels: as the story unfolds the reader learns more about the protagonist's own dark and deadly past in the process of learning how the crimes were committed and by whom.

The only "flaw" in the novel, if indeed there is one, is that certain aspects of the story are a little too coincidental or stretch reality. Because of how well it is written and the author's mastery of language, Bad Things Happen is more than a mystery or detective story, however, and should be on the reading list of anyone who enjoys a well written novel.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780425234402
Author:
Dolan, Harry
Publisher:
Berkley Publishing Group
Author:
Bell, David
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - General
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Mystery-A to Z
Subject:
Suspense
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series:
David Loogan
Publication Date:
20100631
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Illustrations:
readers guide inside
Pages:
416
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in 1 lb
Age Level:
17-17

Other books you might like

  1. Baby Proof Used Trade Paper $1.95
  2. Something Blue
    Used Trade Paper $2.50
  3. As They See 'em: A Fan's Travels in... New Trade Paper $16.00
  4. Love the One You're with Used Trade Paper $3.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z

Bad Things Happen Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$3.95 In Stock
Product details 416 pages Berkley Publishing Group - English 9780425234402 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , David Loogan finds himself drawn into a friendship with the publisher of a mystery magazine. But as several deaths are uncovered--some of them echoing stories published in the magazine--Loogan begins to look more and more like the most promising suspect.
"Synopsis" by ,
A Wall Street Journal Best Mystery of 2014!

David Loogans dark past is revealed in this prequel to Bad Things Happen—the critically acclaimed mystery that Stephen King called a “great f***ing book.”

 
On a rainy night in April, a chance encounter on a lonely road draws David into a romance with Jana Fletcher, a beautiful young law student. Jana is an enigma: living in a run-down apartment and sporting a bruise on her cheek that she refuses to explain. David would like to know her secrets, but he lets them lie—until its too late. 
When Jana is brutally murdered, the police consider David a prime suspect. But as he sets out to uncover the truth about Jana, he begins to realize hes treading a very dangerous path—and that her killer is watching every move he makes.
 

"Synopsis" by ,
Elizabeth Hampton is consumed by grief when her mother dies unexpectedly. Leslie Hampton cared for Elizabeths troubled brother Ronnies special needs, assuming Elizabeth would take him in when the time came. But Leslies sudden death propels Elizabeth into a world of danger and double lives that undoes everything she thought she knew....

When police discover that Leslie was strangled, they immediately suspect that one of Ronnies outbursts took a tragic turn. Elizabeth cant believe that her brother is capable of murder, but who else could have had a motive to kill their quiet, retired mother? 

More questions arise when a stranger is named in Leslies will: a woman also named Elizabeth. As the familys secrets unravel, a man from Leslies past who claims to have all the answers shows up, but those answers might put Elizabeth and those she loves the most in mortal danger. 

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.