Poetry Madness
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | March 26, 2015

    Kyle Boelte: IMG Selfies, Memoir, and the World Beyond the Self



    When I was a teenager in Colorado during the late '90s, I liked to climb 14ers — 14,000-foot mountains. I'd often hike with friends, and at... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$15.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Hawthorne Children's Holiday- Christmas

Rover Saves Christmas

by

Rover Saves Christmas Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Rudolph the reindeer is being a pain. He only has to work one day a year and what does he do? He calls in sick! Enter Rover, the only dog with the smarts, talent, good looks, and charms to be a sub. Rover's about to take Santa on the ride of his life — and readers get to come along.

Review:

"[An] invitingly loopy escapade....[I]f the fun feels a little frenetically self-conscious at times, it's still enormously entertaining. Ajhar's frisky drawings add to the mayhem." Publishers Weekly

Review:

"Fans of Dav Pilkey, Jon Scieszka, and Lemony Snicket will appreciate this zany, irreverent story that spoofs literary and bookmaking conventions and includes references to Harry Potter, dog poo, and monkeys' bums." School Library Journal

Review:

"This spoof on Christmas needs to restring its lights to make it less dependent on the distracting gimmicks and silly devices and focus on the goofy, outlandish appeal of a talking dog leading Santa's sleigh across the world." Kirkus Reviews

Review:

"This book is silly, zany and irreverent — and kids will love it....There are a couple of PG words, but readers will be laughing too hard to dwell on them. Brian Ajhar's drawings add to the fun." Children's Literature

Synopsis:

When Rudolph comes down with the flu, it's up to Rover the dog and the Mack children to help Santa complete his Christmas deliveries.

Synopsis:

About the Author

Born in Dublin, Ireland in 1958, Roddy Doyle has become one of the most renown and celebrated Irish authors of the late twentieth century. Doyl received his Bachelor of Arts from St. Finians Christian Brothers School in Sutton and went on to University College, Dublin. Upon the completion of his education, Roddy Doyle worked as a Geography and English teacher in Kilbarrack, North Dublin.

Roddy Doyles adult novel, Paddy Clark Ha Ha Ha, a story about a ten-year old boy living Ireland, won Doyle the Booker Prize, the United Kingdoms greatest literary honor.

Roddy Doyle lives in Ireland with his wife, Belinda and their two children.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780439305303
Illustrated by:
Ajhar, Brian
Publisher:
Arthur A. Levine Books
Author:
Doyle, Roddy
Subject:
Animals - Dogs
Subject:
Holidays & Festivals - Christmas
Subject:
Children's 9-12 - Fiction - General
Subject:
Humorous Stories
Subject:
General Juvenile Fiction
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Publication Date:
October 2001
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
from 4 up to 7
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Yes
Pages:
160
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in
Age Level:
04-08

Other books you might like

  1. Giggler Treatment Used Trade Paper $2.95
  2. From Seed to Plant Used Trade Paper $5.50
  3. Centered Riding
    Used Hardcover $12.50
  4. Taking Charge of Adhd Rev Edition Used Trade Paper $9.50
  5. The Corrections
    Used Hardcover $3.50
  6. Manhattan Unfurled Used Hardcover $9.95

Related Subjects

Children's » Holidays » Christmas
Children's » Middle Readers » General

Rover Saves Christmas Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$15.95 In Stock
Product details 160 pages Arthur A. Levine Books - English 9780439305303 Reviews:
"Review" by , "[An] invitingly loopy escapade....[I]f the fun feels a little frenetically self-conscious at times, it's still enormously entertaining. Ajhar's frisky drawings add to the mayhem."
"Review" by , "Fans of Dav Pilkey, Jon Scieszka, and Lemony Snicket will appreciate this zany, irreverent story that spoofs literary and bookmaking conventions and includes references to Harry Potter, dog poo, and monkeys' bums."
"Review" by , "This spoof on Christmas needs to restring its lights to make it less dependent on the distracting gimmicks and silly devices and focus on the goofy, outlandish appeal of a talking dog leading Santa's sleigh across the world."
"Review" by , "This book is silly, zany and irreverent — and kids will love it....There are a couple of PG words, but readers will be laughing too hard to dwell on them. Brian Ajhar's drawings add to the fun."
"Synopsis" by , When Rudolph comes down with the flu, it's up to Rover the dog and the Mack children to help Santa complete his Christmas deliveries.
"Synopsis" by ,

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.