We Need Diverse Ya Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Lists | June 22, 2015

    Stephen Jarvis: IMG Robert Seymour — 13 Pictures



    1. Self-Portrait. My new novel, Death and Mr. Pickwick, tells the story of the origins of Charles Dickens's first novel, The Pickwick Papers. Its... Continue »
    1. $21.00 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      Death and Mr. Pickwick

      Stephen Jarvis 9780374139667

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$15.99
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
18 Local Warehouse Children's Young Adult- Social Issue Fiction
21 Remote Warehouse Children's- Reference Family and Genealogy

Rules

by

Rules Cover

ISBN13: 9780439443821
ISBN10: 0439443822
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

From the award winning author of Fat Kid Rules the World and The Liberation of Gabriel King comes a lyrical, middle grade gem that asks all the hard questions and hits all the right notes--perfect for fans of Cynthia Rylant and Mockingbird by Kathryn Erskine

Tia lives with her mom in a high-risk neighborhood in New Orleans and loves singing gospel in the Rainbow Choir with Keisha, her boisterous and assertive best friend. Tia's dream is to change the world with her voice; and by all accounts, she might be talented enough. But when a shooting happens in her neighborhood and she learns the truth about the crime that sent her father to prison years ago, Tia finds she can't sing anymore. The loss prompts her to start asking the people in her community hard questions--questions everyone has always been too afraid to ask.

Full of humanity, Pieces of Why is a timely story that addresses grief, healing, and forgiveness, told through the eyes of a gifted girl who hears rhythm and song everywhere in her life.

Review:

"The appealing, credible narrator at the heart of Lord's debut novel will draw in readers, as she struggles to find order and balance in her life. Her parents place 12-year-old Catherine in charge of her younger autistic brother more often than she would like. Taking solace in art, the girl fills the back of her sketchbook with rules she has established for David, 'so if my someday-he'll-wake-up-a-regular-brother wish doesn't ever come true, at least he'll know how the world works, and I won't have to keep explaining things.' Sorely missing her best friend, who is away for the summer, and realizing that the girl who has just moved in next door is not a kindred spirit, Catherine devises some of her own self-protective rules ('When you want to get out of answering something, distract the questioner with another question'). In the able hands of the author, mother of an autistic child, Catherine's emotions come across as entirely convincing, especially her alternating devotion to and resentment of David, and her guilt at her impatience with him. Through her artwork, the heroine gradually opens up to Jason, a wheelchair-bound peer who can communicate only by pointing to words on cards. As she creates new cards that expand Jason's ability to express his feelings, their growing friendship enables Catherine to do the same. A rewarding story that may well inspire readers to think about others' points of view. Ages 9-12. (Apr.)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

A heartfelt and witty debut about feeling different and finding acceptance--beyond the rules.

Twelve-year-old Catherine just wants a normal life. Which is near impossible when you have a brother with autism and a family that revolves around his disability. She's spent years trying to teach David the rules-from "a peach is not a funny-looking apple" to "keep your pants on in public"-in order to stop his embarrassing behaviors. But the summer Catherine meets Jason, a paraplegic boy, and Kristi, the next-door friend she's always wished for, it's her own shocking behavior that turns everything upside down and forces her to ask: What is normal?

About the Author

Cynthia Lord is the award-winning author of RULES, a Newbery Honor book (among its many distinctions), as well as the critically acclaimed TOUCH BLUE, released August, 2010. She made her picture book debut with HOT ROD HAMSTER. She lives in Maine with her family. Visit her at cynthialord.com.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 6 comments:

hazelbunny1, May 4, 2009 (view all comments by hazelbunny1)
This book is a hillarious piece of literature
Please right more books like this Cynthia Lord
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(26 of 67 readers found this comment helpful)
jayhawker37, November 7, 2008 (view all comments by jayhawker37)
i don't get why you hate it?
its real life situations.
if you hate it, i'm thinking you can't
handle it??
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(23 of 75 readers found this comment helpful)
lizanellb, August 27, 2008 (view all comments by lizanellb)
This book is amazingly well written and is a beautiful story. Parts are very funny while others are so real it hurts.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(63 of 82 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 6 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780439443821
Author:
Lord, Cynthia
Publisher:
Scholastic Press
Author:
Going, K. L.
Subject:
Children's 9-12 - Fiction - General
Subject:
Social Situations - General
Subject:
Brothers and sisters
Subject:
Autism
Subject:
General Juvenile Fiction
Subject:
Social Issues - General
Subject:
People with disabilities
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction-General
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction
Subject:
Situations / Violence
Edition Description:
Hardback
Publication Date:
20070531
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 4 up to 7
Language:
English
Pages:
224
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in
Age Level:
09-12

Other books you might like

  1. Crooked Kind of Perfect Used Trade Paper $1.50
  2. Hattie Big Sky Used Trade Paper $4.95
  3. The Higher Power of Lucky
    Used Hardcover $8.50
  4. Jeremy Fink and the Meaning of Life
    Used Book Club Paperback $3.50
  5. Penny from Heaven Used Trade Paper $5.95
  6. Hattie Big Sky Used Trade Paper $4.95

Related Subjects

Children's » Awards » Newbery Award Winners
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Middle Readers » Newbery Award Winners
Children's » Reference » Family and Genealogy
Children's » Situations » General
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Friendship
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Special Needs

Rules New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$15.99 In Stock
Product details 224 pages Scholastic Press - English 9780439443821 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "The appealing, credible narrator at the heart of Lord's debut novel will draw in readers, as she struggles to find order and balance in her life. Her parents place 12-year-old Catherine in charge of her younger autistic brother more often than she would like. Taking solace in art, the girl fills the back of her sketchbook with rules she has established for David, 'so if my someday-he'll-wake-up-a-regular-brother wish doesn't ever come true, at least he'll know how the world works, and I won't have to keep explaining things.' Sorely missing her best friend, who is away for the summer, and realizing that the girl who has just moved in next door is not a kindred spirit, Catherine devises some of her own self-protective rules ('When you want to get out of answering something, distract the questioner with another question'). In the able hands of the author, mother of an autistic child, Catherine's emotions come across as entirely convincing, especially her alternating devotion to and resentment of David, and her guilt at her impatience with him. Through her artwork, the heroine gradually opens up to Jason, a wheelchair-bound peer who can communicate only by pointing to words on cards. As she creates new cards that expand Jason's ability to express his feelings, their growing friendship enables Catherine to do the same. A rewarding story that may well inspire readers to think about others' points of view. Ages 9-12. (Apr.)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by ,
A heartfelt and witty debut about feeling different and finding acceptance--beyond the rules.

Twelve-year-old Catherine just wants a normal life. Which is near impossible when you have a brother with autism and a family that revolves around his disability. She's spent years trying to teach David the rules-from "a peach is not a funny-looking apple" to "keep your pants on in public"-in order to stop his embarrassing behaviors. But the summer Catherine meets Jason, a paraplegic boy, and Kristi, the next-door friend she's always wished for, it's her own shocking behavior that turns everything upside down and forces her to ask: What is normal?

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.