The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | September 2, 2014

Jill Owens: IMG David Mitchell: The Powells.com Interview



David MitchellDavid Mitchell's newest mind-bending, time-skipping novel may be his most accomplished work yet. Written in six sections, one per decade, The Bone... Continue »
  1. $21.00 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Bone Clocks

    David Mitchell 9781400065677

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.50
Used Mass Market
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Mystery- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

This title in other editions

The Jury Master

by

The Jury Master Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In a courtroom, David Sloane can grab a jury and make it dance. He can read jurors' expressions, feel their emotions, know their thoughts. With this remarkable ability, Sloane gets juries to believe the unbelievable, excuse the inexcusable, and return the most astonishing verdicts. The only barrier to Sloane's professional success is his conscience — until he gets a call from a man later found dead, and his life rockets out of control.

The call is from Joe Branick, special assistant and personal friend of the president of the United States, made just hours before Branick eats his gun. In a single moment, the death of a man Sloane has never met propels the jury master out of his successful career and into a whirlwind that is shattering lives from San Francisco to Washington, D.C.

To get back his life, Sloane needs to know more. About Branick. About others who are in as much danger as he is. And about the president and his gun. But in the face of a secret that spans decades and governments, and puts billions of dollars at risk, there's one thing David Sloane can't possibly envision — that this runaway conspiracy is all about him — and only he can stop it.

Review:

"The most impressive thing about this gripping legal thriller is what it doesn't do. Dugoni, a lawyer who coauthored a nonfiction book about an Idaho worker brain-damaged in 1996 by cyanide fumes, opens his debut novel with a wrongful death attorney in San Francisco, David Sloane, about to make his closing remarks defending a corporation in a similar case. Sloane, who has won 14 cases in a row, hates his arrogant client and must face an obviously hostile jury. But instead of devoting many chapters to the case, Dugoni quickly moves into some unexpected and very interesting territory: a recurring childhood nightmare Sloane shares with former CIA agent Charles Jenkins, apparently a complete stranger. Meanwhile, unstoppable West Virginia police detective Tom Molia investigates the suicide of a top adviser to the president, and what he finds draws Sloane and Jenkins closer to the truth behind their shared terror: an international conspiracy 30 years in the making. All of Dugoni's characters have a fresh and believable edge, and there is plenty of action in far-flung settings. One looks forward to Sloane's return." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Review:

"The action keeps coming, so omnivorous thrill seekers who favor Martini and Grisham may want to give Dugoni a look. The jury's still out, though, on whether he has the potential to play in their league." David Wright, Booklist

Review:

"John Grisham, move over....Dugoni has a flair for developing an engaging plot, with memorable characters, and keeping things moving like an overcaffeinated barista. For an opening salvo, it's hard to ask for more." Seattle Times

Review:

"This thriller is reminiscent of the early John Grisham and should easily find its way onto the best sellers lists." Library Journal

Synopsis:

In the tradition of Scott Turow and Brad Meltzer, this New York Times bestselling debut novel introduces a bold and entertaining new voice to the legal thriller genre. As he fights for his life, an attorney gets closer to the explosive truth about who he is, how little he knows, and who is really the master of his fate.

Synopsis:

David Sloane is the best wrongful death attorney in San Francisco. But despite his professional success, he's plagued by a nightmare of a childhood he cannot consciously remember. When he recieves a package from a White House confidant who then turns up dead, the contents reveal a history he could never have imagined.

About the Author

Robert Dugoni is the author of The Jury Master. He worked as a reporter for the Los Angeles Times and was a civil litigator in San Francisco and Seattle for nineteen years. Dugoni lives with his wife and two children in the Pacific Northwest.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780446617079
Author:
Dugoni, Robert
Publisher:
Popular Library
Subject:
Murder
Subject:
Thrillers
Subject:
San Francisco (Calif.)
Subject:
Legal
Subject:
Legal stories
Subject:
Mystery fiction
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Subject:
Nightmares; Trials; Lawyers; Suicide; Conspiracies; Search for truth
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Mass market paperback
Publication Date:
20070101
Binding:
Paperback
Language:
English
Pages:
496
Dimensions:
7 x 4.25 x 1.25 in 0.5 lb

Other books you might like

  1. When All Is Said and Done: A Novel
    Used Trade Paper $0.95
  2. Promise Me
    Used Book Club Hardcover $1.95
  3. The Fallen: A Novel Used Book Club Hardcover $1.00
  4. The King of Lies Used Trade Paper $1.95
  5. The Confessor Used Mass Market $5.50
  6. The Hard Way
    Used Mass Market $4.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » Pacific Northwest
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Contemporary Thrillers

The Jury Master Used Mass Market
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.50 In Stock
Product details 496 pages Warner Books - English 9780446617079 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "The most impressive thing about this gripping legal thriller is what it doesn't do. Dugoni, a lawyer who coauthored a nonfiction book about an Idaho worker brain-damaged in 1996 by cyanide fumes, opens his debut novel with a wrongful death attorney in San Francisco, David Sloane, about to make his closing remarks defending a corporation in a similar case. Sloane, who has won 14 cases in a row, hates his arrogant client and must face an obviously hostile jury. But instead of devoting many chapters to the case, Dugoni quickly moves into some unexpected and very interesting territory: a recurring childhood nightmare Sloane shares with former CIA agent Charles Jenkins, apparently a complete stranger. Meanwhile, unstoppable West Virginia police detective Tom Molia investigates the suicide of a top adviser to the president, and what he finds draws Sloane and Jenkins closer to the truth behind their shared terror: an international conspiracy 30 years in the making. All of Dugoni's characters have a fresh and believable edge, and there is plenty of action in far-flung settings. One looks forward to Sloane's return." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Review" by , "The action keeps coming, so omnivorous thrill seekers who favor Martini and Grisham may want to give Dugoni a look. The jury's still out, though, on whether he has the potential to play in their league."
"Review" by , "John Grisham, move over....Dugoni has a flair for developing an engaging plot, with memorable characters, and keeping things moving like an overcaffeinated barista. For an opening salvo, it's hard to ask for more."
"Review" by , "This thriller is reminiscent of the early John Grisham and should easily find its way onto the best sellers lists."
"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of Scott Turow and Brad Meltzer, this New York Times bestselling debut novel introduces a bold and entertaining new voice to the legal thriller genre. As he fights for his life, an attorney gets closer to the explosive truth about who he is, how little he knows, and who is really the master of his fate.
"Synopsis" by , David Sloane is the best wrongful death attorney in San Francisco. But despite his professional success, he's plagued by a nightmare of a childhood he cannot consciously remember. When he recieves a package from a White House confidant who then turns up dead, the contents reveal a history he could never have imagined.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.