Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | November 7, 2014

    Karelia Stetz-Waters: IMG The Hot Sex Tip Cosmo Won't Tell You



    Cosmopolitan Magazine recently released an article titled "28 Mind-Blowing Lesbian Sex Positions." Where was this vital information when I was a... Continue »
    1. $10.47 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$7.88
List price: $14.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Psychology- General

The Survivors Club: The Secrets and Science That Could Save Your Life

by

The Survivors Club: The Secrets and Science That Could Save Your Life Cover

ISBN13: 9780446698856
ISBN10: 0446698857
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $7.88!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Which is the safest seat on an airplane? Where is the best place to have a heart attack? Why does religious observance add years to your life? How can birthdays be hazardous to your health?


THE SURVIVORS CLUB


Each second of the day, someone in America faces a crisis, whether it's a car accident, violent crime, serious illness, or financial trouble. Given the inevitability of adversity, we all wonder: Who beats the odds and who surrenders? Why do some people bound back and others give up? How can I become the kind of person who survives and thrives?


The fascinating, hopeful answers to these questions are found in THE SURVIVORS CLUB. In the tradition of Freakonomics and The Tipping Point, this book reveals the hidden side of survival by combining astonishing true stories, gripping scientific research, and the author's adventures inside the U.S. military's elite survival schools and the government's airplane crash evacuation course.


With THE SURVIVORS CLUB, you can also discover your own Survivor IQ through a powerful Internet-based test called the Survivor Profiler. Developed exclusively for this book, the test analyzes your personality and generates a customized report on your top survivor strengths.


There is no escaping life's inevitable struggles. But THE SURVIVORS CLUB can give you an edge when adversity strikes.


Synopsis:

This "New York Times" bestseller reveals the hidden side of surviving and thriving by combining astonishing true stories, scientific research, and the author's adventures inside the U.S. military's elite survival school.

About the Author

Ben Sherwood is a bestselling author, an award-winning journalist, and the president of ABC News. His novel The Man Who Ate the 747 has been published in 13 languages, and his other novel, The Death and Life of Charlie St. Cloud, was made into a feature film starring Zac Efron. A former broadcast producer for NBC Nightly News, he joined Good Morning America in April 2004 as executive producer and stayed in that position until Fall 06. He lives with his wife and sons in New York City.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

zellandyne, May 3, 2010 (view all comments by zellandyne)
I love this book.

I found it thanks to an excerpt in Newsweek, talking about the underlying factors that determine who survives in face of disaster. Sherwood analyzes the results of plane crashes, ship sinkings, bouts with illness and injury, and the standard human responses to danger. Some people freeze (bad idea) while others immediately take action. Some people are prepared and aware - on a plane they check the location of the nearest exits, they look at the safety instructions, they stay alert, and they move quickly. Others pop a sleeping pill or have a few drinks and ignore the standard safety demo at the start of each flight.

Sherwood has an engaging voice and uses well chosen personal examples (of people he's interviewed). He cites sound scientific research and provides an excellent bibliography (which led me to other excellent books, like The Luck Factor). He also discusses his experience going through one of the survival tests navy seals go through, which was fascinating. There are, of course, practical tips on improving your own odds of survival as well as quizzes to determine your survivor type and the web address for an online test.

I found the tests less useful than the rest of the book, but still worth taking.

Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780446698856
Author:
Sherwood, Ben
Publisher:
Grand Central Publishing
Subject:
Personal Growth - General
Subject:
Motivational & Inspirational
Subject:
Safety
Subject:
Self-Help : General
Subject:
General Self-Help
Copyright:
Publication Date:
20100231
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
400
Dimensions:
8.92x6.10x1.05 in. .90 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Secret Ingredients: The New Yorker... Used Hardcover $6.95
  2. Life Is a Verb: 37 Days to Wake Up,...
    Used Trade Paper $6.50
  3. Pain Free for Women: The... Used Trade Paper $12.50
  4. The Last American Man
    Used Trade Paper $7.50
  5. Deep Survival: Who Lives, Who Dies,...
    Used Trade Paper $5.50
  6. Little Pink House: A True Story of... Used Hardcover $9.95

Related Subjects

Business » General
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » General
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » General Medicine
Health and Self-Help » Psychology » General
Health and Self-Help » Safety » General
Health and Self-Help » Self-Help » General
Reference » General
Reference » Science Reference » General
Science and Mathematics » Agriculture » General
Sports and Outdoors » Outdoors » General

The Survivors Club: The Secrets and Science That Could Save Your Life Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$7.88 In Stock
Product details 400 pages Grand Central Publishing - English 9780446698856 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , This "New York Times" bestseller reveals the hidden side of surviving and thriving by combining astonishing true stories, scientific research, and the author's adventures inside the U.S. military's elite survival school.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.