Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | September 30, 2014

    Brian Doyle: IMG The Rude Burl of Our Masks



    One day when I was 12 years old and setting off on my newspaper route after school my mom said will you stop at the doctor's and pick up something... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.95
Used Mass Market
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
4 Beaverton Mystery- A to Z

Killing Floor

by

Killing Floor Cover

 

Out of Print

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

From its chilling opening page, you know all is not well in Margrave, Georgia. The sleepy, forgotten town hasn't seen a crime in decades, but within the span of three days it witnesses events that leave everyone stunned. An unidentified man is found beaten and shot to death on a lonely country road. The police chief and his wife are butchered on a quiet Sunday morning. Then a bank executive disappears from his home, leaving his keys on the table and his wife frozen with fear.

The easiest suspect is Jack Reacher — an outsider, a man just passing through. But Reacher is not just any drifter. He is a tough ex-military policeman, trained to think fast and act faster. He has lived with and hunted the worst: the hard men of the American military gone bad. When authorities learn the first victim was someone from Reacher's past, and he cannot convince them of his innocence, his patient self-defense becomes a raging crusade of revenge. With two cops who believe in him — a thoughtful black detective and a woman named Roscoe — he closes in on a ruthless conspiracy hiding behind Margrave's rural charm. But closing in on him is a team of killers so careful and efficient they are almost invisible.

Step by step, the two teams circle — waiting to see which will be the first to walk onto the killing floor.

Review:

"Child writes with a hand as strong and steady as steel." Publishers Weekly

Review:

"Child...stretches coincidence outrageously in this would-be noir outing, whose hero is creepily amoral, violent, and generally unpleasant." Library Journal

Review:

"Despite the crude, tough-naif narration, debut novelist Child serves up a big, rangy plot, menace as palpable as a ticking bomb, and enough battered corpses to make an undertaker grin." Kirkus Reviews

Synopsis:

See Jack Reacher now in his first major motion picture.

When a woman is kidnapped off a Chicago street in broad daylight, Jack Reacher’s in the wrong place at the wrong time. He’s kidnapped with her. Chained together and racing across America toward an unknown destination, they’re at the mercy of a group of men demanding an impossible ransom. Because Reacher’s female companion is worth more than he imagines. Now he has to save them both—from the inside out—or die trying…

Synopsis:

Across the country women are being murdered by a killer who leaves no evidence, no wounds, no signs of struggle, and no clues to a motive. They are perfect crimes. In fact, only one thing links each victim: they all knew Jack Reacher.

About the Author

Lee Child is the author of eleven Jack Reacher thrillers, including the New York Times bestsellers Persuader, the Barry Award Winner The Enemy, and One Shot, which has been optioned for a major motion picture by Paramount Pictures.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 6 comments:

Tinu, June 19, 2012 (view all comments by Tinu)
There are sixteen Lee Child - Jack Reacher novels, but I decided to start with Vol. 1, the one that started it all. I can honestly say that after reading this one, I am well and truly hooked!

I enjoyed the unique way this story began, with Reacher being arrested for murder and then introducing himself to the reader through his interactions with the police who, at least initially, wish he were guilty. Reacher starts the investigation from the suspect side of the equation, and then gradually moves to the private investigator side. It was an interesting and enjoyable twist of roles.

It feels that Lee Child has indeed breathed life into the protagonist, who's far from perfect! Right from the start till its conclusion, it kept me enthralled and I can't wait to get cracking on the next book in the series.....
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(7 of 7 readers found this comment helpful)
Katherine Chance, February 16, 2011 (view all comments by Katherine Chance)
Nothing is better than finding a new author and a new series. I am now in love with do-it-all, know-it-all, ass-kicking complicated hero, Jack Reacher. Based on a recommendation from a fellow book lover, I picked up “Killing Floor” by Lee Childs. Being a fan of reading book series in order, I started with this novel as it is the first focusing on ex-military police officer, Reacher.

Aside from introducing us to a new first-class leading man, the story itself is a twisted, clever mystery adventure set in a sleepy small southern town. Included in the suspense is a cast of well crafted supporting characters. A clever, star-crossed romantic angle is the icing on the cake.

If you’re a fan of novels driven by strong heroes in the vein of Lucas Davenport and Bobby Lee Swagger, “Killing Floor” will not disappoint.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(2 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)
Erica Horne, April 9, 2009 (view all comments by Erica Horne)
Wow, what a book! Lee Child has given us perhaps the most interesting and complex hero in some time. Jack Reacher is Clint Eastwood, John Wayne and Arnold Schwarzenegger rolled into one...but with much more personality and pizzazz! I'm only sorry it's taken me so long to read Mr. Child's book!
The story is a riveting one, focusing on Jack's involvement in a crime in a small town in Georgia. Boy, does he make a mistake in deciding to stop off in this little burg, just to find out about a blue singing legend named Blind Blake. But, what a story unfolds. The dialogue is brisk, economical, and very involving! Along with Jack, there are a ton of characters that are so remarkably fleshed out and described, you would think this was a true crime story!

There are scenes of nail-biting action; very graphic and disturbing scenes of violence; and amidst all this some really well-written scenes of sensitivity and poignancy. Jack's meeting with an old lady who once knew the old blues legend is outstanding in its emotional punch! Paul Hubble, the neurotic banker; Roscoe, the beautiful policewoman; Finlay, the chief of detectives; and the evil villains are some of the best written characters in recent mystery fiction.

What is so amazing about this book is the way Lee Child has not only woven a complex murder mystery, but also a chilling tale of greed, madness, and lost loves and lives.

This is an emotional, wrenching debut, and I cannot wait to start in on the rest of this series!

Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(3 of 5 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 6 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780515141429
Author:
Child, Lee
Publisher:
Jove
Author:
Child, Lee, Editor/Steve
Subject:
Georgia
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - General
Subject:
Private investigators
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Mystery fiction
Subject:
Mystery-A to Z
Subject:
Suspense
Subject:
Thrillers
Subject:
Writing Skills
Copyright:
Edition Description:
MM Picture Book
Series:
Jack Reacher
Series Volume:
1
Publication Date:
20061128
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
576
Dimensions:
7.58x4.34x1.14 in. .66 lbs.
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. Dead Watch Used Mass Market $0.95
  2. Cold Service (Spenser Mysteries) Used Mass Market $1.50
  3. Infernal (Repairman Jack Novels) Used Mass Market $3.95
  4. A Small Death in Lisbon Used Mass Market $3.50
  5. Tell No One
    Used Mass Market $2.50
  6. The Third Option
    Used Mass Market $4.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Contemporary Thrillers

Killing Floor Used Mass Market
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.95 In Stock
Product details 576 pages Jove Books - English 9780515141429 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Child writes with a hand as strong and steady as steel." Publishers Weekly
"Review" by , "Child...stretches coincidence outrageously in this would-be noir outing, whose hero is creepily amoral, violent, and generally unpleasant."
"Review" by , "Despite the crude, tough-naif narration, debut novelist Child serves up a big, rangy plot, menace as palpable as a ticking bomb, and enough battered corpses to make an undertaker grin."
"Synopsis" by ,
See Jack Reacher now in his first major motion picture.

When a woman is kidnapped off a Chicago street in broad daylight, Jack Reacher’s in the wrong place at the wrong time. He’s kidnapped with her. Chained together and racing across America toward an unknown destination, they’re at the mercy of a group of men demanding an impossible ransom. Because Reacher’s female companion is worth more than he imagines. Now he has to save them both—from the inside out—or die trying…

"Synopsis" by ,

Across the country women are being murdered by a killer who leaves no evidence, no wounds, no signs of struggle, and no clues to a motive. They are perfect crimes. In fact, only one thing links each victim: they all knew Jack Reacher.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.