Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | November 7, 2014

    Carli Davidson: IMG Puppies for Sale? Read This First



    Shake Puppies contains an almost unsettling amount of cuteness. There is a good chance after looking through its pages you will get puppy fever and... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$1.95
List price: $7.99
Used Mass Market
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Local Warehouse Romance- General

The Surrender of Miss Fairbourne

by

The Surrender of Miss Fairbourne Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

From New York Times bestselling author Madeline Hunter comes this seductive tale of a headstrong young lady, a scandalous manuscript, and the iron-willed duke determined to save her from her ruin. and#160;For fans of Mary Balogh, Eloisa James, and Julia Quinn. and#160;

When Lady Lydia Alfreton is blackmailed over the shocking contents of a manuscript she once wrote, she must go to the most desperate of measures to raise the money to buy back the ill-considered prose: agreeing to an old wager posed by the arrogant, dangerous Duke of Penthurst. At least Penthurst is a man she wouldnand#8217;t mind fleecingand#151;and sheand#8217;s confident sheand#8217;ll win.

Penthurst long ago concluded Lydia was a woman in search of ruinous adventure, but even he is surprised when she arrives at his house ready to bet her innocence against his ten thousand poundsand#151;a wager he only proposed to warn her off gambling.

When she loses to a simple draw of the cards, Lydia is shocked. Now, her problems are twofold: a blackmailer determined to see her pay and a duke determined to tame her rebellious ways. One misstep and Lydia could find herself ruinedand#151;or bound to the seductive man who would make her his duchess.

Review:

"In this 1790s quartet opener, Hunter weaves a suspenseful and romantic but improbable tale. Darius Alfreton, earl of Southwaite, is the secret partner in a successful auction house. When the owner dies suddenly, Darius assumes the business will close; Fairbourne's son was lost at sea two years before, and his plain and forthright daughter, Miss Emma Fairbourne cannot legally inherit. Emma, however, plans to run it from behind the scenes until her brother returns. As Darius and Emma engage in a battle of wills, sizzling chemistry draws them together despite a number of amusing miscommunications, their difference in stations, and the mutual threat of betrayal. Unbridled passion, tender affection, and escalating intrigue balance the unlikely resurfacing of Emma's brother and the unthinkable union of a tradesman's daughter and a peer of the realm. Agent: Pamela Hopkins, Hopkins Literary Associates. (Mar.)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

From the New York Times bestselling Madeline Hunter comes this first in a stunning new trilogy about three irresistibly attractive brothers. and#160;This is the story of the bastard brother.... For fans of Mary Balogh and Amanda Quick.

Gareth Fitzallen is celebrated for four things: his handsome face, his notable charm, his aristocratic connections, and an ability to give the kind of pleasure that has women begging for more. Normally he bestows his talents on experienced, worldly women. But when he heads to Langdonand#8217;s End to restore a property he inheritedand#151;and to investigate a massive art theftand#151;he lays plans to seduce a most unlikely lady.

Eva Russell lives a spinsterand#8217;s life of precarious finances and limited dreams while clinging to her familyand#8217;s old gentry status. She supports herself by copying paintings while she plots to marry her lovely sister to a well-established man. Everyone warns her of Garethand#8217;s reputation, and advises her to lock her sister away. Only it is not her sister Gareth desires. One look, and she knows he is trouble. One kiss, however, proves she is no match for this master of seduction.

Synopsis:

A woman running a prestigious London auction house? Preposterous! But that is exactly what Emma Fairbourne intends to do when her father dies, leaving her the reins of this fabulous enterprise.  Of course, she is not addlepated enough to do this openly and scare away her wealthy collectors.  So she and her friend concoct a deception, hiring a handsome and charming front man who will do her bidding…

 

All would have proceeded smoothly—if it weren’t for the maddening interference of Darius, the arrogant Earl of Southwaite, who has been her father’s “silent partner” and now shares ownership of Fairbourne’s.  An earl, of course, has no interest in running an auction house—and Darius is certainly not interested in allowing the lovely Miss Fairbourne to run it either, her ludicrous scheme notwithstanding.  Clearly the business must be sold.

 

But the headstrong Emma is like no other lady he has ever encountered, refusing to follow his dictates.  Holding his temper in check, Darius decides to attack on a different front.  There is another way to achieve her surrender, one far more pleasurable for both of them…

About the Author

Madeline Hunter has published 24 critically acclaimed historical romances. Her books regularly appear on the New York Times and USA Today bestseller lists. More than six million copies of her books are in print, and her books have been translated into twelve languages. She has won two RITA awards and is a seven-time RITA finalist. Madeline holds a PhD in art history, which she teaches at the university level.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780515150469
Author:
Hunter, Madeline
Publisher:
Jove Books
Subject:
Romance - Historical
Subject:
Eloisa James
Subject:
Stephanie Laurens
Subject:
Downton Abbey
Subject:
Historical
Subject:
nobility; aristocrat; spies; wedding; duchess; duke; rake; 19th century; love; marriage; regency; victorian; Mary Balogh; Eloisa James; Stephanie Laurens; Julia Quinn; romances with dukes; romance novel; Downton Abbey; desperate duchesses; Jane Austen; Sh
Subject:
nobility; aristocrat; spies; wedding; duchess; duke; rake; 19th century; love; marriage; regency; victorian; Mary Balogh; Eloisa James; Stephanie Laurens; Julia Quinn; romances with dukes; romance novel; Downton Abbey; desperate duchesses; Jane Austen; Sh
Subject:
19th century; regency; victorian; love; marriage; second chance; rich; aristocracy; war; spies; espionage; saga; lord; duke; sister; brothers; London; England; British; Madeline Hunter; Jane Feather; Mary Balogh; accidental duchess; wicked trilogy; and#16
Edition Description:
Mass market paperback
Publication Date:
20120331
Binding:
MASS MARKET
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Illustrations:
includes teaser
Pages:
432
Dimensions:
6.75 x 4.19 in 0.43 lb
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. Discount Armageddon (Incryptid Novels)
    New Mass Market $7.99
  2. Black Wings #3: Black Howl
    New Mass Market $7.99
  3. Inn Boonsboro Trilogy #02: The Last... Used Trade Paper $3.95

Related Subjects

Arts and Entertainment » Art » General
Fiction and Poetry » Romance » Featured Titles
Fiction and Poetry » Romance » General
Fiction and Poetry » Romance » Historical
Fiction and Poetry » Romance » Regency
Fiction and Poetry » Romance » Sale Books
History and Social Science » Politics » United States » Foreign Policy

The Surrender of Miss Fairbourne Used Mass Market
0 stars - 0 reviews
$1.95 In Stock
Product details 432 pages Jove Books - English 9780515150469 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "In this 1790s quartet opener, Hunter weaves a suspenseful and romantic but improbable tale. Darius Alfreton, earl of Southwaite, is the secret partner in a successful auction house. When the owner dies suddenly, Darius assumes the business will close; Fairbourne's son was lost at sea two years before, and his plain and forthright daughter, Miss Emma Fairbourne cannot legally inherit. Emma, however, plans to run it from behind the scenes until her brother returns. As Darius and Emma engage in a battle of wills, sizzling chemistry draws them together despite a number of amusing miscommunications, their difference in stations, and the mutual threat of betrayal. Unbridled passion, tender affection, and escalating intrigue balance the unlikely resurfacing of Emma's brother and the unthinkable union of a tradesman's daughter and a peer of the realm. Agent: Pamela Hopkins, Hopkins Literary Associates. (Mar.)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by ,
From the New York Times bestselling Madeline Hunter comes this first in a stunning new trilogy about three irresistibly attractive brothers. and#160;This is the story of the bastard brother.... For fans of Mary Balogh and Amanda Quick.

Gareth Fitzallen is celebrated for four things: his handsome face, his notable charm, his aristocratic connections, and an ability to give the kind of pleasure that has women begging for more. Normally he bestows his talents on experienced, worldly women. But when he heads to Langdonand#8217;s End to restore a property he inheritedand#151;and to investigate a massive art theftand#151;he lays plans to seduce a most unlikely lady.

Eva Russell lives a spinsterand#8217;s life of precarious finances and limited dreams while clinging to her familyand#8217;s old gentry status. She supports herself by copying paintings while she plots to marry her lovely sister to a well-established man. Everyone warns her of Garethand#8217;s reputation, and advises her to lock her sister away. Only it is not her sister Gareth desires. One look, and she knows he is trouble. One kiss, however, proves she is no match for this master of seduction.

"Synopsis" by ,

A woman running a prestigious London auction house? Preposterous! But that is exactly what Emma Fairbourne intends to do when her father dies, leaving her the reins of this fabulous enterprise.  Of course, she is not addlepated enough to do this openly and scare away her wealthy collectors.  So she and her friend concoct a deception, hiring a handsome and charming front man who will do her bidding…

 

All would have proceeded smoothly—if it weren’t for the maddening interference of Darius, the arrogant Earl of Southwaite, who has been her father’s “silent partner” and now shares ownership of Fairbourne’s.  An earl, of course, has no interest in running an auction house—and Darius is certainly not interested in allowing the lovely Miss Fairbourne to run it either, her ludicrous scheme notwithstanding.  Clearly the business must be sold.

 

But the headstrong Emma is like no other lady he has ever encountered, refusing to follow his dictates.  Holding his temper in check, Darius decides to attack on a different front.  There is another way to achieve her surrender, one far more pleasurable for both of them…

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.