Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    New Favorites | November 25, 2014

    Powell's Staff: IMG Our Favorite New Favorites of 2014



    Every week, we gather together a small pile of newly released titles that we agree should be on everyone's radar. We deem these titles our New... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$6.50
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Mystery- A to Z

Interred with Their Bones: A Novel

by

Interred with Their Bones: A Novel Cover

ISBN13: 9780525949701
ISBN10: 0525949704
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $6.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A long-lost work of Shakespeare, newly found.
A killer who stages the Bard's extravagant murders as flesh-and-blood realities.
A desperate race to find literary gold, and just to stay alive...

On the eve of the Globe's production of Hamlet, Shakespeare scholar and theater director Kate Stanley's eccentric mentor Rosalind Howard gives her a mysterious box, claiming to have made a groundbreaking discovery. But before she can reveal it to Kate, the Globe burns to the ground and Roz is found dead...murdered precisely in the manner of Hamlet's father. Inside the box Kate finds the first piece in a Shakespearean puzzle, setting her on a deadly, high-stakes treasure hunt.

From London to Harvard to the American West, Kate races to evade a killer and decipher a tantalizing string of clues, hidden in the words of Shakespeare, that may unlock literary history's greatest secret. At once suspenseful and elegantly written, Interred with Their Bones is poised to become the next bestselling literary adventure in the tradition of The Thirteenth Tale and The Historian.

Review:

"Plot twists worthy of The Da Vinci Code dominate this agile first novel from Carrell (The Speckled Monster: A Historical Tale of Battling Smallpox), a thriller involving a lost Shakespeare play, The History of Cardenio. On a June day in 2004, at London's rebuilt Globe theater, Rosalind Howard, flamboyantly eccentric Harvard Professor of Shakespeare, gives her friend Katharine Stanley, who's directing a production of Hamlet at the Globe, a small gold-wrapped box. That evening, a fire damages the Globe, where Roz is found murdered in the same manner as Hamlet's father. Roz's mysterious gift, which contains a Victorian mourning brooch decorated with flowers associated with Ophelia, propels Kate on a wild and wide-ranging quest that takes her to Utah; Arizona; Washington, D.C.; and back to London. Every step of the way, as the bodies pile up, Kate narrowly escapes becoming the next murder victim. From Shakespeare conferences to desert mines, from the present to the past, this spirited and action-packed novel delivers constant excitement. Foreign rights sold in 20 countries. (Sept.)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Review:

"Intriguing, fitfully brilliant and sometimes silly, Jennifer Lee Carrell's 'Interred With Their Bones' is one of the most perplexing novels I've ever read. Carrell is a Shakespeare scholar, and the great strength of her first novel is that it is all about the Bard, whose incomparable poetry and shadowy life are endlessly fascinating. The problem is that Carrell has tried to write a Shakespearean version... Washington Post Book Review (read the entire Washington Post review)

Review:

"[A]n exciting debut literary thriller....Kate's use of her academic skills to decode letters and other historical artifacts will appeal to Da Vinci Code fans, the fast-paced globe-trotting action to Robert Ludlum readers, and the exploration of the Shakespeare mysteries to English majors everywhere. Highly recommended." Library Journal

Review:

"Carrell effortlessly incorporates a mind-boggling amount of Elizabethan scholarship into the twist and turns of her plot....[A]n entertaining achievement." Houston Chronicle

Review:

"Intriguing, fitfully brilliant and sometimes silly....If you want to brush up on your Shakespeare, and are willing to overlook certain weaknesses, you might well enjoy Interred with Their Bones, but for me it was just...perplexing." Patrick Anderson, The Washington Post Book World

Review:

"Jennifer Lee Carrell's brisk, byzantine novel owes debts to The Da Vinci Code and Possession, without quite measuring up to either. (Grade: B)" Entertainment Weekly

Review:

"Besides being a highly entertaining mystery with the breakneck pace of The Da Vinci Code, Interred with Their Bones is an engaging debate on whether or not Shakespeare actually wrote all of the plays attributed to his name." BookReporter.com

Synopsis:

On the eve of the Globe's production of Hamlet, Shakespearean scholar Kate Shelton is given what is claimed to be the Bard's long-lost work. When a killer decides to stage theatrical murders as flesh-and-blood realities, Shelton must decipher a string of clues before anyone else dies.

Synopsis:

“A feverishly paced action adventure” (The New York Times) about a long-lost Shakespeare work and a killer who reenacts the Bard’s most bloody murders

Jennifer Lee Carrell’s highly acclaimed debut novel is a brilliant, breathlessly paced literary adventure. The action begins on the eve of the Globe’s production of Hamlet when Shakespeare scholar and theater director Kate Stanley’s eccentric mentor Rosalind Howard gives her a mysterious box, claiming to have made a groundbreaking discovery. Before she can reveal it to Kate, the Globe is burned to the ground and Roz is found dead…murdered precisely in the manner of Hamlet’s father.

Inside the box Kate finds the first piece in a Shakespearean puzzle, setting her on a deadly, highstakes treasure hunt. From London to Harvard to the American West, Kate races to evade a killer and solve a tantalizing string of clues hidden in the words of Shakespeare, which may unlock one of history’s greatest secrets.

About the Author

Jennifer Lee Carrell holds a Ph.D. in English and American literature from Harvard University and is the author of The Speckled Monster: A Historical Tale of Battling Smallpox. In addition to writing for Smithsonian magazine, Carrell has taught in the history and literature program at Harvard and directed Shakespeare for Harvard's Hyperion Theatre Company.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

lesleyss, October 29, 2008 (view all comments by lesleyss)
One of the best books I have read from a new author in quite some time!

Beautiful, erudite use of the language. Exhaustive knowledge of all things Shakespeare.

Darn good thriller, as well!

Can hardly wait for the next book!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(2 of 3 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780525949701
Author:
Carrell, Jennifer Lee
Publisher:
Plume
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Suspense
Subject:
Murder
Subject:
Shakespeare, William
Subject:
Authorship
Subject:
Suspense fiction
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Paperback / softback
Publication Date:
October 2007
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
from 8
Language:
English
Pages:
432
Dimensions:
9.29x6.38x1.41 in. 1.43 lbs.
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. The Book of Air and Shadows: A Novel
    Used Trade Paper $2.95
  2. Head Games: A Novel Used Trade Paper $8.95
  3. Darwin & the Barnacle Used Hardcover $7.95
  4. The Pandora Prescription Used Trade Paper $4.95
  5. The Savage Garden
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  6. Ghostwalk
    Used Trade Paper $3.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z

Interred with Their Bones: A Novel Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$6.50 In Stock
Product details 432 pages Dutton Books - English 9780525949701 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Plot twists worthy of The Da Vinci Code dominate this agile first novel from Carrell (The Speckled Monster: A Historical Tale of Battling Smallpox), a thriller involving a lost Shakespeare play, The History of Cardenio. On a June day in 2004, at London's rebuilt Globe theater, Rosalind Howard, flamboyantly eccentric Harvard Professor of Shakespeare, gives her friend Katharine Stanley, who's directing a production of Hamlet at the Globe, a small gold-wrapped box. That evening, a fire damages the Globe, where Roz is found murdered in the same manner as Hamlet's father. Roz's mysterious gift, which contains a Victorian mourning brooch decorated with flowers associated with Ophelia, propels Kate on a wild and wide-ranging quest that takes her to Utah; Arizona; Washington, D.C.; and back to London. Every step of the way, as the bodies pile up, Kate narrowly escapes becoming the next murder victim. From Shakespeare conferences to desert mines, from the present to the past, this spirited and action-packed novel delivers constant excitement. Foreign rights sold in 20 countries. (Sept.)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Review" by , "[A]n exciting debut literary thriller....Kate's use of her academic skills to decode letters and other historical artifacts will appeal to Da Vinci Code fans, the fast-paced globe-trotting action to Robert Ludlum readers, and the exploration of the Shakespeare mysteries to English majors everywhere. Highly recommended."
"Review" by , "Carrell effortlessly incorporates a mind-boggling amount of Elizabethan scholarship into the twist and turns of her plot....[A]n entertaining achievement."
"Review" by , "Intriguing, fitfully brilliant and sometimes silly....If you want to brush up on your Shakespeare, and are willing to overlook certain weaknesses, you might well enjoy Interred with Their Bones, but for me it was just...perplexing."
"Review" by , "Jennifer Lee Carrell's brisk, byzantine novel owes debts to The Da Vinci Code and Possession, without quite measuring up to either. (Grade: B)"
"Review" by , "Besides being a highly entertaining mystery with the breakneck pace of The Da Vinci Code, Interred with Their Bones is an engaging debate on whether or not Shakespeare actually wrote all of the plays attributed to his name."
"Synopsis" by , On the eve of the Globe's production of Hamlet, Shakespearean scholar Kate Shelton is given what is claimed to be the Bard's long-lost work. When a killer decides to stage theatrical murders as flesh-and-blood realities, Shelton must decipher a string of clues before anyone else dies.
"Synopsis" by ,
“A feverishly paced action adventure” (The New York Times) about a long-lost Shakespeare work and a killer who reenacts the Bard’s most bloody murders

Jennifer Lee Carrell’s highly acclaimed debut novel is a brilliant, breathlessly paced literary adventure. The action begins on the eve of the Globe’s production of Hamlet when Shakespeare scholar and theater director Kate Stanley’s eccentric mentor Rosalind Howard gives her a mysterious box, claiming to have made a groundbreaking discovery. Before she can reveal it to Kate, the Globe is burned to the ground and Roz is found dead…murdered precisely in the manner of Hamlet’s father.

Inside the box Kate finds the first piece in a Shakespearean puzzle, setting her on a deadly, highstakes treasure hunt. From London to Harvard to the American West, Kate races to evade a killer and solve a tantalizing string of clues hidden in the words of Shakespeare, which may unlock one of history’s greatest secrets.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.