Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | August 20, 2014

Julie Schumacher: IMG Dear Professor Fitger



Saint Paul, August 2014 Dear Professor Fitger, I've been asked to say a few words about you for Powells.com. Having dreamed you up with a ball-point... Continue »
  1. $16.07 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Dear Committee Members

    Julie Schumacher 9780385538138

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$8.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside ADV- THRILLERS

Daemon

by

Daemon Cover

ISBN13: 9780525951117
ISBN10: 0525951113
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $8.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Already an underground sensation, a high-tech thriller for the wireless age that explores the unthinkable consequences of a computer program running without human control — a daemon — designed to dismantle society and bring about a new world order.

Technology controls almost everything in our modern-day world, from remote entry on our cars to access to our homes, from the flight controls of our airplanes to the movements of the entire world economy. Thousands of autonomous computer programs, or daemons, make our networked world possible, running constantly in the background of our lives, trafficking e-mail, transferring money, and monitoring power grids. For the most part, daemons are benign, but the same can't always be said for the people who design them.

Matthew Sobol was a legendary computer game designer — the architect behind half-a-dozen popular online games. His premature death depressed both gamers and his company's stock price. But Sobol's fans aren't the only ones to note his passing. When his obituary is posted online, a previously dormant daemon activates, initiating a chain of events intended to unravel the fabric of our hyper-efficient, interconnected world. With Sobol's secrets buried along with him, and as new layers of his daemon are unleashed at every turn, it's up to an unlikely alliance to decipher his intricate plans and wrest the world from the grasp of a nameless, faceless enemy — or learn to live in a society in which we are no longer in control...

Computer technology expert Daniel Suarez blends haunting high-tech realism with gripping suspense in an authentic, complex thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton, Neal Stephenson, and William Gibson.

Review:

"Originally self-published, Suarez's riveting debut would be a perfect gift for a favorite computer geek or anyone who appreciates thrills, chills and cyber suspense. Gaming genius Matthew Sobol, the 34-year-old head of CyberStorm Entertainment, has just died of brain cancer, but death doesn't stop him from initiating an all-out Internet war against humanity. When the authorities investigate Sobol's mansion in Thousand Oaks, Calif., they find themselves under attack from his empty house, aided by an unmanned Hummer that tears into the cops with staggering ferocity. Sobol's weapon is a daemon, a kind of computer process that not only has taken over many of the world's computer systems but also enlists the help of superintelligent human henchmen willing to carry out his diabolical plan. Complicated jargon abounds, but most complexities are reasonably explained. A final twist that runs counter to expectations will leave readers anxiously awaiting the promised sequel." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Review:

"Mr. Suarez demonstrates...that a novel blessed with a fiendishly clever central plot device will survive any number of stylistic clunkers and cardboard-cutout characters." Dallas Morning News

Review:

"Suarez's not-just-for-gamers debut is a stunner, with an ending that promises sequels to come." Kirkus Reviews

Review:

"Greatest. Techno-thriller. Period. Suarez presents a fascinating account of autonomous, logic-based terrorism, incorporating current and anticipated technologies to create a credible and quite clever story. Experts have long feared the Internet doomsday scenario; the Daemon is arguably more terrifying." Billy O'Brien, Director of Cybersecurity and Communications Policy, The White House

Review:

"Suarez's dialog is crisp, and his action exciting." Library Journal

Synopsis:

When a designer of computer games dies, he leaves behind a program that unravels the Internet's interconnected world. It corrupts, kills, and runs independent of human control. It's up to Detective Peter Sebeck to wrest the world from the malevolent virtual enemy before its ultimate purpose is realized: to destroy civilization...

About the Author

Daniel Suarez is an independent systems consultant to Fortune 1000 companies. He has designed and developed enterprise software for the defense, finance, and entertainment industries. He is an avid gamer and technologist. Daemon is his first novel.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

P.A. Brown, January 30, 2013 (view all comments by P.A. Brown)
This book and it's sequel, Freedom, is by far the best cyberthriller I've ever read. In fact, I would rate it as the best thriller I've ever read, period. From the first page it is riveting, and the conflicts only increase. Suarez keeps the reader on his toes with twists that I never saw coming. Because of his background, the threat and possibilities laid out in both books is mind boggling. But where so many thrillers have flat, cardboard characters there to perform a role, Suarez's characters are well rounded, flawed and sometimes irremediable, but always interesting.

If you only read one thriller this year, this should be the one. Or two, since Daemon and Freedom need to be read in order. This is not a sequel that can be read on its own.

Buy it, read it and spread the word.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780525951117
Author:
Suarez, Daniel
Publisher:
Signet
Subject:
Thrillers
Subject:
Technological
Subject:
Espionage/Intrigue
Subject:
International economic integration
Subject:
Human-computer interaction
Subject:
Suspense fiction
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Mass market paperback
Publication Date:
20091229
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
from 8
Language:
English
Pages:
640
Dimensions:
9.3 x 6.32 x 1.5 in 1.5 lb
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. Terminal Freeze
    Used Mass Market $1.00
  2. Beat the Reaper
    Used Mass Market $1.95
  3. Eclipse Used Book Club Hardcover $2.50
  4. Halting State
    Used Mass Market $3.95
  5. Good People Used Mass Market $5.50
  6. Island of the Blue Dolphins Used Mass Market $1.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Contemporary Thrillers
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Cyberpunk

Daemon Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$8.95 In Stock
Product details 640 pages Dutton Books - English 9780525951117 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Originally self-published, Suarez's riveting debut would be a perfect gift for a favorite computer geek or anyone who appreciates thrills, chills and cyber suspense. Gaming genius Matthew Sobol, the 34-year-old head of CyberStorm Entertainment, has just died of brain cancer, but death doesn't stop him from initiating an all-out Internet war against humanity. When the authorities investigate Sobol's mansion in Thousand Oaks, Calif., they find themselves under attack from his empty house, aided by an unmanned Hummer that tears into the cops with staggering ferocity. Sobol's weapon is a daemon, a kind of computer process that not only has taken over many of the world's computer systems but also enlists the help of superintelligent human henchmen willing to carry out his diabolical plan. Complicated jargon abounds, but most complexities are reasonably explained. A final twist that runs counter to expectations will leave readers anxiously awaiting the promised sequel." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Review" by , "Mr. Suarez demonstrates...that a novel blessed with a fiendishly clever central plot device will survive any number of stylistic clunkers and cardboard-cutout characters."
"Review" by , "Suarez's not-just-for-gamers debut is a stunner, with an ending that promises sequels to come."
"Review" by , "Greatest. Techno-thriller. Period. Suarez presents a fascinating account of autonomous, logic-based terrorism, incorporating current and anticipated technologies to create a credible and quite clever story. Experts have long feared the Internet doomsday scenario; the Daemon is arguably more terrifying."
"Review" by , "Suarez's dialog is crisp, and his action exciting."
"Synopsis" by ,
When a designer of computer games dies, he leaves behind a program that unravels the Internet's interconnected world. It corrupts, kills, and runs independent of human control. It's up to Detective Peter Sebeck to wrest the world from the malevolent virtual enemy before its ultimate purpose is realized: to destroy civilization...

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.