The Good, the Bad, and the Hungry Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | June 20, 2014

Lisa Howorth: IMG So Many Books, So Many Writers



I'm not a bookseller, but I'm married to one, and Square Books is a family. And we all know about families and how hard it is to disassociate... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$7.95
List price: $15.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside - Bldg. 2 Nature Studies- General

Remarkable Creatures: Epic Adventures in the Search for the Origins of Species

by

Remarkable Creatures: Epic Adventures in the Search for the Origins of Species Cover

ISBN13: 9780547247786
ISBN10: 0547247788
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $7.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

An award-winning biologist takes us on the dramatic expeditions that unearthed the history of life on our planet.

**  National Book Award Finalist **

Just 150 years ago, most of our world was an unexplored wilderness. Our sense of its age was vague and vastly off the mark, and much of the knowledge of our own species history was a set of fantastic myths and fairy tales. In the tradition of The Microbe Hunters and Gods, Graves, and Scholars, Sean Carroll leads a rousing voyage that recounts the most important discoveries in two centuries of natural history: from Darwins trip around the world to Charles Walcotts discovery of pre-Cambrian life in the Grand Canyon; from Louis and Mary Leakeys investigation of our deepest past in East Africa to the trailblazers in modern laboratories who have located a time clock in our DNA.

Synopsis:

An award-wining biologist takes us on the dramatic expeditions that unearthed the history of life on our planet.

Just 150 years ago,most of our world was an unexplored wilderness.Our sense of how old it was? Vague and vastly off the mark. And our sense of our own species history? A set of fantastic myths and fairy tales. Fossils had been known for millennia, but they were seen as the bones of dragons and other imagined creatures.

In the tradition of The Microbe Hunters and Gods, Graves, and Scholars, Sean Carrolls Remarkable Creatures celebrates the pioneers who replaced our fancies with the even more amazing true story of how our world evolved.

Carroll recounts the most important discoveries in two centuries of national history — from Darwins trip around the world to CharlesWalcotts discovery of pre-Cambrian life in the Grand Canyon; from Louis and Mary Leakeys investigation of our deepest past in East Africa to the trailblazers in modern laboratories who have located a time clock in our DNA. Join him in a rousing voyage of discovery, from the epic journeys of pioneering naturalists to the breakthroughs making headlines today.

About the Author

SEAN CARROLL is a professor of molecular biology and genetics and an investigator with the Howard Hughes Medical Institute at the University of Wisconsin and is a member of the National Academy of Sciences. He is also the author of The Making of the Fittest and Endless Forms Most Beautiful: The New Science of Evo Devo.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

rsamurai12, September 2, 2011 (view all comments by rsamurai12)
Wonderful book!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780547247786
Author:
Carroll, Sean B
Publisher:
Mariner Books
Author:
Carroll, Sean
Author:
Carroll, Sean B.
Subject:
History
Subject:
Life Sciences - Evolution
Subject:
Expeditions & Discoveries
Subject:
Evolution (Biology) -- History.
Subject:
Naturalists - Travel - History
Subject:
History of Science-General
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Publication Date:
20091231
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Illustrations:
74 halftones
Pages:
352
Dimensions:
8 x 5.31 in 0.71 lb

Other books you might like

  1. The Archimedes Codex: How a Medieval...
    Used Trade Paper $8.95
  2. Darwin's Sacred Cause: How a Hatred... Used Hardcover $6.95
  3. The Age of Wonder: How the Romantic...
    Used Trade Paper $10.00
  4. Green Metropolis: Why Living... Used Hardcover $7.95
  5. Hope for Animals and Their World:... Sale Trade Paper $7.98
  6. Bringing It to the Table: On Farming... Sale Trade Paper $7.98

Related Subjects

History and Social Science » World History » General
Science and Mathematics » Biology » Evolution
Science and Mathematics » Biology » General
Science and Mathematics » Featured Titles in Tech » General
Science and Mathematics » History of Science » General
Science and Mathematics » Nature Studies » Evolution
Science and Mathematics » Nature Studies » General

Remarkable Creatures: Epic Adventures in the Search for the Origins of Species Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$7.95 In Stock
Product details 352 pages Mariner Books - English 9780547247786 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
An award-wining biologist takes us on the dramatic expeditions that unearthed the history of life on our planet.

Just 150 years ago,most of our world was an unexplored wilderness.Our sense of how old it was? Vague and vastly off the mark. And our sense of our own species history? A set of fantastic myths and fairy tales. Fossils had been known for millennia, but they were seen as the bones of dragons and other imagined creatures.

In the tradition of The Microbe Hunters and Gods, Graves, and Scholars, Sean Carrolls Remarkable Creatures celebrates the pioneers who replaced our fancies with the even more amazing true story of how our world evolved.

Carroll recounts the most important discoveries in two centuries of national history — from Darwins trip around the world to CharlesWalcotts discovery of pre-Cambrian life in the Grand Canyon; from Louis and Mary Leakeys investigation of our deepest past in East Africa to the trailblazers in modern laboratories who have located a time clock in our DNA. Join him in a rousing voyage of discovery, from the epic journeys of pioneering naturalists to the breakthroughs making headlines today.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.