The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 17, 2014

Merritt Tierce: IMG Has My Husband Read It?



My first novel, Love Me Back, was published on September 16. Writing the book took seven years, and along the way three chapters were published in... Continue »
  1. $16.77 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Love Me Back

    Merritt Tierce 9780385538077

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$0.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Literature- A to Z

This title in other editions

The Far Field: A Novel of Ceylon

by

The Far Field: A Novel of Ceylon Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In her debut novel, Edie Meidav tells the tale of Henry Fyre Gould, a self-described anti-missionary who travels to Ceylon from the spiritualist salons of 1930s New York City. Driven by an arrogant faith in his ideals, Henry settles in the village of Rajottama, intent on establishing a model society built on the lost truths of Buddhism. Instead of a utopian village, he slowly finds a tinderbox of caste struggle, political rebellion, espionage, and erotic intrigue. In the tradition of Michael Ondaatje, Barbara Kingsolver, and Joseph Conrad, Meidav grapples with the consequences of the West's fascination with the East and explores the nature of faith and love.

About the Author

EDIE MEIDAV was born in Toronto. She studied writing at Yale University and Mills College, taught fiction at the New School for Social Research in New York City, and has spent much of her life traveling and living in other countries. A Fulbright fellowship gave her the opportunity for an extended stay in Sri Lanka (formerly Ceylon), where she studied the language, Sinhala, and native dance, monitored elections, and researched the culture and colonial history of the region, finding the roots of the civil war that rages there today. In writing The Far Field, Meidav was also inspired by other sources: her childhood in the New Age culture of northern California, the plantation journals of Thomas Jefferson, and the lives of the spiritualists Henry Steel Olcott and Madame Blavatsky.

This is Edie Meidavs first novel. Early sections were published in the Kenyon Review and Terra Nova. Meidav was selected by the editors of the Voice Literary Supplement as one of their "Writers on the Verge" in 2000.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780618219162
Author:
Meidav, Edie
Publisher:
Mariner Books
Location:
Boston
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Historical
Subject:
Historical - General
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
May 2002
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
592
Dimensions:
8.50x5.54x1.53 in. 1.53 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. August Used Mass Market $1.00
  2. Paradise Alley: A Novel Used Trade Paper $5.95
  3. Dark Angel Used Mass Market $1.00
  4. Starting Out in the Evening Used Trade Paper $3.50
  5. Hotel World Used Trade Paper $5.95
  6. The News from Paraguay
    Used Trade Paper $2.95

Related Subjects


Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

The Far Field: A Novel of Ceylon Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$0.99 In Stock
Product details 592 pages Mariner Books - English 9780618219162 Reviews:
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.