The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 15, 2014

Lois Leveen: IMG Forsooth Me Not: Shakespeare, Juliet, Her Nurse, and a Novel



There's this writer, William Shakespeare. Perhaps you've heard of him. He wrote this play, Romeo and Juliet. Maybe you've heard of it as well. It's... Continue »
  1. $18.19 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Juliet's Nurse

    Lois Leveen 9781476757445

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$3.48
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Local Warehouse Spain and Portugal- Bullfighting

This title in other editions

Death and the Sun: A Matador's Season in the Heart of Spain

by

Death and the Sun: A Matador's Season in the Heart of Spain Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A brilliant observer in the tradition of Adam Gopnik and Paul Theroux, Edward Lewine reveals a Spain few outsiders have seen. There's nothing more Spanish than bullfighting, and nothing less like its stereotype. For matadors and aficionados, it is not a blood sport but an art, an ancient subculture steeped in ritual, machismo, and the feverish attentions of fans and the press.

Lewine explains Spain and the art of the bulls by spending a bullfighting season traveling Spanish highways with the celebrated matador Francisco Rivera Ordonez, following Fran, as he's known, through every region and social stratum. Fran's great-grandfather was a famous bullfighter and the inspiration for Hemingway's matador in The Sun Also Rises. Fran's father was also a star matador, until a bull took his life shortly before Fran's eleventh birthday.

Fran is blessed and haunted by his family history. Formerly a top performer himself, Fran's reputation has slipped, and as the season opens he feels intense pressure to live up to his legacy amid tabloid scrutiny in the wake of his separation from his wife, a duchess. But Fran perseveres through an eventful season of early triumph, serious injury, and an unlikely return to glory.

Synopsis:

In the tradition of Hemingway's Death in the Afternoon, Edward Lewine presents an inspired account of bullfighting culture in modern-day Spain. Lewine brilliantly captures the romance and machismo associated with the art of bullfighting, as well as the addictive adrenaline rush that persistently beckons spectators and matadors to the bullring. He spends a season traveling with the celebrated matador Francesco Rivera Ordonez — the great-grandson of the bullfighter who was the inspiration for Hemingway's Pedro Romero in The Sun Also Rises — and reveals a Spain few outsiders have seen. Death and the Sun is an illuminating portrayal of a country, its people, and their passion for this beautiful yet deadly spectacle.

Synopsis:

Peril and tradition mingle in this account of a thrilling season on the bullfighting circuit in the company of Spain's most dashing and tormented matador, Francisco Rivera Ordoez. Lewine explores one of the world's most venerable subcultures, steeped in ancient ritual, archetypal machismo and the feverish attentions of the tabloid press.

Synopsis:

In the tradition of Hemingway's Death in the Afternoon, Edward Lewine presents an inspired account of bullfighting culture in modern-day Spain. Lewine brilliantly captures the romance and machismo associated with the art of bullfighting, as well as the addictive adrenaline rush that persistently beckons spectators and matadors to the bullring. He spends a season traveling with the celebrated matador Francesco Rivera Ordonez — the great-grandson of the bullfighter who was the inspiration for Hemingway's Pedro Romero in The Sun Also Rises — and reveals a Spain few outsiders have seen. Death and the Sun is an illuminating portrayal of a country, its people, and their passion for this beautiful yet deadly spectacle.

About the Author

EDWARD LEWINE is a frequent contributor to the New York Times. This is his first book. Formerly an expert in old master drawings at Christie's, he graduated from the Columbia School of Journalism. He lives in Brooklyn, New York.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780618872305
Author:
Lewine, Edward
Publisher:
Houghton Mifflin
Location:
Boston
Subject:
General
Subject:
Europe - Spain & Portugal
Subject:
Travel-Spain
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20070531
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
272
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in 0.75 lb

Other books you might like

  1. Madrid: A Cultural Literary... New Trade Paper $15.00
  2. Iberia Used Mass Market $3.50
  3. Great Ape Odyssey Used Hardcover $17.50
  4. Risotto New Trade Paper $24.99
  5. Naked Economics: Undressing the...
    Used Trade Paper $5.50
  6. Why Geography Matters: Three... Used Hardcover $6.95

Related Subjects

Arts and Entertainment » Drama » General
History and Social Science » Europe » Spain and Portugal » Bullfighting
Sports and Outdoors » Sports and Fitness » Sports General
Travel » Europe » Spain

Death and the Sun: A Matador's Season in the Heart of Spain Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$3.48 In Stock
Product details 272 pages Houghton Mifflin Company - English 9780618872305 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
In the tradition of Hemingway's Death in the Afternoon, Edward Lewine presents an inspired account of bullfighting culture in modern-day Spain. Lewine brilliantly captures the romance and machismo associated with the art of bullfighting, as well as the addictive adrenaline rush that persistently beckons spectators and matadors to the bullring. He spends a season traveling with the celebrated matador Francesco Rivera Ordonez — the great-grandson of the bullfighter who was the inspiration for Hemingway's Pedro Romero in The Sun Also Rises — and reveals a Spain few outsiders have seen. Death and the Sun is an illuminating portrayal of a country, its people, and their passion for this beautiful yet deadly spectacle.
"Synopsis" by , Peril and tradition mingle in this account of a thrilling season on the bullfighting circuit in the company of Spain's most dashing and tormented matador, Francisco Rivera Ordoez. Lewine explores one of the world's most venerable subcultures, steeped in ancient ritual, archetypal machismo and the feverish attentions of the tabloid press.
"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of Hemingway's Death in the Afternoon, Edward Lewine presents an inspired account of bullfighting culture in modern-day Spain. Lewine brilliantly captures the romance and machismo associated with the art of bullfighting, as well as the addictive adrenaline rush that persistently beckons spectators and matadors to the bullring. He spends a season traveling with the celebrated matador Francesco Rivera Ordonez — the great-grandson of the bullfighter who was the inspiration for Hemingway's Pedro Romero in The Sun Also Rises — and reveals a Spain few outsiders have seen. Death and the Sun is an illuminating portrayal of a country, its people, and their passion for this beautiful yet deadly spectacle.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.