25 Books to Read Before You Die
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | August 8, 2014

Peter Mendelsund: IMG The Powell's Playlist: Water Music by Peter Mendelsund



We "see" when we read, and we "see" when we listen. There are many ways in which music can create the cross-sensory experience of this seeing...... Continue »
  1. $11.87 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$19.50
List price: $27.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Local Warehouse Literature- A to Z

The Widow Waltz

by

The Widow Waltz Cover

ISBN13: 9780670025640
ISBN10: 067002564x
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $19.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

“This heartfelt, witty addition to womens fiction will appeal to fans of Elizabeth Berg and Anna Quindlen.” (Booklist)

 

Georgia Waltz has things many people only dream of: a plush Manhattan apartment overlooking Central Park, a Hamptons beach house, valuable jewels and art, two bright daughters, and a husband she adores, even after decades of marriage. Its only when Ben suddenly drops dead from a massive coronary while training for the New York City Marathon that Georgia discovers her husband—a successful lawyer—has left them nearly penniless. Their wonderland was built on lies.

      

As the family attorney scours emptied bank accounts, Georgia must not only look for a way to support her family, she needs to face the revelation that Ben was not the perfect husband he appeared to be, just as her daughters—now ensconced back at home with secrets of their own—have to accept that they may not be returning to their lives in Paris and at Stanford subsidized by the Bank of Mom and Dad. As she uncovers hidden resilience, Georgias sudden midlife shift forces her to consider who she is and what she truly values. That Georgia may also find new love in the land of Spanx and stretch marks surprises everyone—most of all, her.

 

Sally Koslows fourth novel is deftly told through the alternating viewpoints of her remarkable female protagonists as they plumb for the grit required to reinvent their lives. Inspiring, funny, and deeply satisfying, The Widow Waltz explores in a profound way the bonds between mothers and daughters, belligerent siblings, skittish lovers, and bitter rivals as they discover the power of forgiveness, and healing, all while asking, “What is family, really?”

 

Review:

"Koslow (Little Pink Slips) illustrates how a family upheaval can prompt personal change in this entertaining but ultimately uninspired novel. Fifty-year-old Georgia Waltz's husband Ben Silver has always taken care of his family, providing them with a luxurious condo overlooking Central Park and an expansive beach house in the Hamptons. But when Ben dies during a marathon training run, Georgia discovers that their life of luxury has been built on lies; the real estate is mortgaged to the hilt, they owe thousands of dollars to creditors, and Ben has left behind less than ,000 for Georgia and her two daughters, Nicola and Louisa, both in their early 20s. Georgia, determined to get to the bottom of Ben's deceit, embarks on an odyssey that includes a new career venture and a tentative attempt at dating. Meanwhile, Nicola and Louisa stumble their way toward independence. Koslow's novel is diverting, and the three different viewpoints add interest, but Georgia's romance is tepid and unconvincing, and the resolution is abrupt and overly tidy. Agent: Christy Fletcher, Fletcher & Company. (June)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

Chosen by People and USA Today as a Great Summer Read

 

Georgia Waltz has an enviable life: a plush Manhattan apartment, a Hamptons beach house, two bright twenty-something daughters, and a seemingly perfect marriage. But when Ben dies suddenly, she discovers that her perfect lawyer-husband has left them nearly penniless. As Georgia scrambles to support the family, she and her daughters plumb for the grit required to reinvent their lives, and Georgia even finds that new love is possible in the land of Spanx.

 

Inspiring, funny, and deeply satisfying, The Widow Waltz is a compulsively readable tale of forgiveness, healing, and the bonds between mothers and daughters.

Synopsis:

A husband's secret upends a pampered widow's life, from the author of The Late, Lamented Molly Marx

Sally Koslow’s fourth novel is deftly told through the alternating viewpoints of her three remarkable female protagonists as they find the grit to survive devastating losses and reinvent their lives. Warm and witty, The Widow Waltz will appeal to readers of Cathleen Schine's The Three Weissmanns of Westport, Hilma Wolitzer, Elizabeth Berg, Anna Quindlen, and J. Courtney Sullivan.

Ben Silver had it all—a successful law practice, a New York apartment overlooking Central Park, a beach house, fine art, club memberships. Yet when a massive coronary fells him while training for the New York City Marathon, it’s revealed that his life was a lie. He’s left his wife, Georgia Waltz, and their two daughters almost penniless.

Georgia must now rally to support her family while mourning a husband whose private enigmas keep surfacing. To her surprise, she also discovers that it may even be possible to find new love in the land of Spanx and wrinkles. Meanwhile, her daughters must face the responsibilities of adulthood that they have avoided and put their hidden talents to work.

About the Author

Sally Koslow, who was born and raised in Fargo, North Dakota, is the former editor in chief of McCall’s magazine. Married and the mother of two sons, she lives in New York City. Little Pink Slips is her first novel.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Melinda Ott, August 4, 2014 (view all comments by Melinda Ott)
What can I say about this book? It wasn't an easy book for me to read--not because it was badly or heavily written, and not because the subject matter was tough to stomach. No, it was hard for me because I just couldn't get interested in it.

This book is advertised as a good beach read--and it is written as such. Koslow has a readable voice and this book is not what I would consider heavy. She does shift between the first person for Georgia and the third person for her daughters. This shift in narrator can work, but it doesn't work here. It just seemed messy to me.

Frankly, I just couldn't conjure up any feelings for any of the characters. Maybe I'm just too tired of the New Yorker socialite cliche to care. In fact, every single character in this book is stock and trite. From the betrayed widow, to the diametrically opposite daughters, to the cool gay uncle...all of these characters have been found in countless other books before this one.

The plot is predictable from the first page and there was nothing left to keep me guessing. Instead, it made me see all the characters as, well, rather dumb that they couldn't figure out what was going on when I could.

I understand why someone might enjoy this book--the same way someone might enjoy a Lifetime Original movie. Ultimately, though, it was not for me.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780670025640
Author:
Koslow, Sally
Publisher:
Viking Books
Subject:
Humorous
Subject:
Humor : General
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20130631
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
352
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in 1 lb
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. The Husband's Secret
    New Mass Market $13.50
  2. A Hundred Summers Used Trade Paper $10.95
  3. Paris Was the Place Used Hardcover $9.95
  4. A Street Cat Named Bob: And How He... New Trade Paper $14.99

Related Subjects

Arts and Entertainment » Humor » General
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Contemporary Women

The Widow Waltz Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$19.50 In Stock
Product details 352 pages Viking Books - English 9780670025640 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Koslow (Little Pink Slips) illustrates how a family upheaval can prompt personal change in this entertaining but ultimately uninspired novel. Fifty-year-old Georgia Waltz's husband Ben Silver has always taken care of his family, providing them with a luxurious condo overlooking Central Park and an expansive beach house in the Hamptons. But when Ben dies during a marathon training run, Georgia discovers that their life of luxury has been built on lies; the real estate is mortgaged to the hilt, they owe thousands of dollars to creditors, and Ben has left behind less than ,000 for Georgia and her two daughters, Nicola and Louisa, both in their early 20s. Georgia, determined to get to the bottom of Ben's deceit, embarks on an odyssey that includes a new career venture and a tentative attempt at dating. Meanwhile, Nicola and Louisa stumble their way toward independence. Koslow's novel is diverting, and the three different viewpoints add interest, but Georgia's romance is tepid and unconvincing, and the resolution is abrupt and overly tidy. Agent: Christy Fletcher, Fletcher & Company. (June)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by ,
Chosen by People and USA Today as a Great Summer Read

 

Georgia Waltz has an enviable life: a plush Manhattan apartment, a Hamptons beach house, two bright twenty-something daughters, and a seemingly perfect marriage. But when Ben dies suddenly, she discovers that her perfect lawyer-husband has left them nearly penniless. As Georgia scrambles to support the family, she and her daughters plumb for the grit required to reinvent their lives, and Georgia even finds that new love is possible in the land of Spanx.

 

Inspiring, funny, and deeply satisfying, The Widow Waltz is a compulsively readable tale of forgiveness, healing, and the bonds between mothers and daughters.

"Synopsis" by ,
A husband's secret upends a pampered widow's life, from the author of The Late, Lamented Molly Marx

Sally Koslow’s fourth novel is deftly told through the alternating viewpoints of her three remarkable female protagonists as they find the grit to survive devastating losses and reinvent their lives. Warm and witty, The Widow Waltz will appeal to readers of Cathleen Schine's The Three Weissmanns of Westport, Hilma Wolitzer, Elizabeth Berg, Anna Quindlen, and J. Courtney Sullivan.

Ben Silver had it all—a successful law practice, a New York apartment overlooking Central Park, a beach house, fine art, club memberships. Yet when a massive coronary fells him while training for the New York City Marathon, it’s revealed that his life was a lie. He’s left his wife, Georgia Waltz, and their two daughters almost penniless.

Georgia must now rally to support her family while mourning a husband whose private enigmas keep surfacing. To her surprise, she also discovers that it may even be possible to find new love in the land of Spanx and wrinkles. Meanwhile, her daughters must face the responsibilities of adulthood that they have avoided and put their hidden talents to work.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.