Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | June 18, 2014

Daniel H. Wilson: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Daniel H. Wilson



Like many writers, I'm constantly haunting coffee shops with a laptop out and my headphones on. I listen to a lot of music while I write, and songs... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Mystery- A to Z

Lost in a Good Book: A Thursday Next Novel

by

Lost in a Good Book: A Thursday Next Novel Cover

 

Review-A-Day

"Admittedly, this is pretty silly stuff, but somehow just what the doctor ordered now, in a world under the shadow of war, at the tail end of a long, cold winter. (There's publishing genius in bringing out Fforde's books in late February)....I'm not sure whether I've glimpsed it or not, but something tells me the core of Lost in a Good Book resembles whipped cream ? as sweet and light as the promise of spring." Laura Miller, Salon.com (read the entire Salon review)

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

If Thursday thought she could avoid the spotlight after her heroic escapades in the pages of Jane Eyre, she was sorely mistaken. The unforgettable literary detective whom Michiko Kakutani of The New York Times calls "part Bridget Jones, part Nancy Drew and part Dirty Harry" had another think coming. The love of her life has been eradicated by Goliath, everyone's favorite corrupt multinational. To rescue him Thursday must retrieve a supposedly vanquished enemy from the pages of "The Raven." But Poe is off-limits to even the most seasoned literary interloper. Enter a professional: the man-hating Miss Havisham from Dickens's Great Expectations. As her new apprentice, Thursday keeps her motives secret as she learns the ropes of Jurisfiction, where she moonlights as a Prose Resource Operative inside books. As if jumping into the likes of Kafka, Austen, and Beatrix Potter's Tale of the Flopsy Bunnies weren't enough, Thursday finds herself the target of a series of potentially lethal coincidences, the authenticator of a newly discovered play by the Bard himself, and the only one who can prevent an unidentifiable pink sludge from engulfing all life on Earth.

The inventive, exuberant, and totally original literary fun that began with The Eyre Affair continues with Fforde's magnificent new adventure, the second installment in what is sure to become a classic series of literary fantasy.

Review:

"Time flies — and leaps and zigzags — while reading this wickedly funny and clever fantasy. Would-be wordsmiths and mystery fans will find the surreal genre-buster irresistible." Publishers Weekly

Review:

"A lively, pun-packed sequel....Fans of Terry Pratchett's Discworld novels should check out Fforde's engagingly skewed comic utopia. As one of his characters predicts: the likely result will be 'paroxysms of litjoy.'" Kirkus Reviews

Synopsis:

Literary detective heroine Thursday Next returns in this follow-up to the acclaimed The Eyre Affair. To rescue the love of her life, Thursday must retrieve a supposedly vanquished enemy from the pages of Poe's "The Raven." Soon, Thursday finds herself the target of a series of potentially lethal coincidences.

Synopsis:

The second installment in Jasper Fforde’s New York Times bestselling series follows literary detective Thursday Next on another adventure in her alternate reality of literature-obsessed England

The inventive, exuberant, and totally original literary fun that began with The Eyre Affair continues with New York Times bestselling author Jasper Fforde’s magnificent second adventure starring the resourceful, fearless literary sleuth Thursday Next. When Landen, the love of her life, is eradicated by the corrupt multinational Goliath Corporation, Thursday must moonlight as a Prose Resource Operative of Jurisfiction—the police force inside the BookWorld. She is apprenticed to the man-hating Miss Havisham from Dickens’s Great Expectations, who grudgingly shows Thursday the ropes. And she gains just enough skill to get herself in a real mess entering the pages of Poe’s “The Raven.” What she really wants is to get Landen back. But this latest mission is not without further complications. Along with jumping into the works of Kafka and Austen, and even Beatrix Potter’s The Tale of the Flopsy Bunnies, Thursday finds herself the target of a series of potentially lethal coincidences, the authenticator of a newly discovered play by the Bard himself, and the only one who can prevent an unidentifiable pink sludge from engulfing all life on Earth. It’s another genre-bending blend of crime fiction, fantasy, and top-drawer literary entertainment for fans of Douglas Adams and P. G. Wodehouse. Thursday’s zany investigations continue with The Well of Lost Plots. Look for the five other bestselling Thursday Next novels, including One of Our Thursdays is Missing and Jasper Fforde’s latest bestseller, The Woman Who Died A Lot. Visit jasperfforde.com for a ffull window into the Ffordian world!

About the Author

After a varied career in the film industry, Jasper Fforde turned his hand to fiction writing-with stunning results.

Table of Contents

Lost in a Good Book 1. The Adrian Lush Show

2. The Speical Operations Network

3. Cardenio Unbound

4. Five Coincidences, Seven Irma Cohens and One Confused Neanderthal

5. Vanishing Hitchhikers

4a. Five Coincidences, Seven Irma Cohens and One Confused Thursday Next

6. Family

7. White Horse, Uffington, Picnics, for the Use of

8. Mr. Stiggins and SO-1

9. The More Things Stay the Same

10. A Lack of Differences

11. Granny Next

12. At Home with My Memories

13. Mount Pleasant

14. The Gravitube™

15. Curiouser and Curiouser in Osaka

16. Interview with the Cat

17. Miss Havisham

18. The Trial of Fräulein N

19. Bargain Books

20. Yorrick Kaine

21. Les Artes Modernes de Swindon '85

22. Travels with My Father

23. Fun with Spike

24. Performance-Related Pay, Miles Hawke and Norland Park

25. Roll Call at Jurisfiction

26. Assignment One: Bloophole Filled in Great Expectations

27. Landen and Joffy Again

28. "The Raven"

29. Rescued

30. Cardenio Rebound

31. Dream Topping

32. The End of Life As We Know It

33. The Dawn of Life as We Know It

34. The Well of Lost Plots

Product Details

ISBN:
9780670031900
Subtitle:
A Thursday Next Novel
Author:
Fforde, Jasper
Publisher:
Penguin Books
Location:
New York
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - General
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - Women Sleuths
Subject:
Fantasy fiction
Subject:
Fantasy - Historical
Subject:
Characters and characteristics in literature
Subject:
Alternative histories
Subject:
General Fiction
Copyright:
Edition Number:
1st American ed.
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series:
A Thursday Next Novel
Series Volume:
103-30
Publication Date:
March 31, 2003
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Yes
Pages:
432
Dimensions:
8.6 x 5.9 x 1.32 in 1.3 lb
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. The Eyre Affair (Thursday Next #01)
    Used Trade Paper $6.50
  2. Cerulean Sins: An Anita Blake... Used Hardcover $2.95
  3. Coraline
    Used Book Club Paperback $3.50
  4. The Scar
    Used Mass Market $5.50
  5. To Say Nothing of the Dog: Or How We...
    New Mass Market $7.99
  6. Lost Used Trade Paper $1.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » A to Z

Lost in a Good Book: A Thursday Next Novel Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.95 In Stock
Product details 432 pages Viking Books - English 9780670031900 Reviews:
"Review A Day" by , "Admittedly, this is pretty silly stuff, but somehow just what the doctor ordered now, in a world under the shadow of war, at the tail end of a long, cold winter. (There's publishing genius in bringing out Fforde's books in late February)....I'm not sure whether I've glimpsed it or not, but something tells me the core of Lost in a Good Book resembles whipped cream ? as sweet and light as the promise of spring." (read the entire Salon review)
"Review" by , "Time flies — and leaps and zigzags — while reading this wickedly funny and clever fantasy. Would-be wordsmiths and mystery fans will find the surreal genre-buster irresistible."
"Review" by , "A lively, pun-packed sequel....Fans of Terry Pratchett's Discworld novels should check out Fforde's engagingly skewed comic utopia. As one of his characters predicts: the likely result will be 'paroxysms of litjoy.'"
"Synopsis" by , Literary detective heroine Thursday Next returns in this follow-up to the acclaimed The Eyre Affair. To rescue the love of her life, Thursday must retrieve a supposedly vanquished enemy from the pages of Poe's "The Raven." Soon, Thursday finds herself the target of a series of potentially lethal coincidences.
"Synopsis" by ,

The second installment in Jasper Fforde’s New York Times bestselling series follows literary detective Thursday Next on another adventure in her alternate reality of literature-obsessed England

The inventive, exuberant, and totally original literary fun that began with The Eyre Affair continues with New York Times bestselling author Jasper Fforde’s magnificent second adventure starring the resourceful, fearless literary sleuth Thursday Next. When Landen, the love of her life, is eradicated by the corrupt multinational Goliath Corporation, Thursday must moonlight as a Prose Resource Operative of Jurisfiction—the police force inside the BookWorld. She is apprenticed to the man-hating Miss Havisham from Dickens’s Great Expectations, who grudgingly shows Thursday the ropes. And she gains just enough skill to get herself in a real mess entering the pages of Poe’s “The Raven.” What she really wants is to get Landen back. But this latest mission is not without further complications. Along with jumping into the works of Kafka and Austen, and even Beatrix Potter’s The Tale of the Flopsy Bunnies, Thursday finds herself the target of a series of potentially lethal coincidences, the authenticator of a newly discovered play by the Bard himself, and the only one who can prevent an unidentifiable pink sludge from engulfing all life on Earth. It’s another genre-bending blend of crime fiction, fantasy, and top-drawer literary entertainment for fans of Douglas Adams and P. G. Wodehouse. Thursday’s zany investigations continue with The Well of Lost Plots. Look for the five other bestselling Thursday Next novels, including One of Our Thursdays is Missing and Jasper Fforde’s latest bestseller, The Woman Who Died A Lot. Visit jasperfforde.com for a ffull window into the Ffordian world!

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.