Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | September 30, 2014

    Brian Doyle: IMG The Rude Burl of Our Masks



    One day when I was 12 years old and setting off on my newspaper route after school my mom said will you stop at the doctor's and pick up something... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.50
List price: $15.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Beaverton Americana- Southern States

All Over But the Shoutin'

by

All Over But the Shoutin' Cover

ISBN13: 9780679774020
ISBN10: 0679774025
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $5.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

From Powells.com:

By the time he received the Pulitzer Prize in 1996, New York Times correspondent Rick Bragg had already received nearly every award available to an American journalist, including the American Society of Newspaper Editors Distinguished Writing Award and 31 other national, regional, and state writing awards. The Pulitzer committee cited his "elegantly written stories about contemporary America." This is true. Rick Bragg writes with a lyricism rare in journalism. But the quality that truly sets Bragg apart from his colleagues can only be described as heart. In now classic articles about aging prisoners in Alabama, the sheriff who caught Susan Smith, black Indian Carnival enthusiasts, the Oklahoma City bombing, and countless others, Bragg approaches his subjects with compassion and clear-eyed respect. After reading All Over but the Shoutin' it becomes clear what prompted this "white trash" boy from the Alabama hills to become such a successful adult: his mother. In this celebrated memoir, Bragg recounts his childhood in the rural South, son of an alcoholic and absent father, and Margaret Bragg, his dedicated and "quietly heroic" mother. While this sounds like a formula for a Frank Capra movie, Bragg tells his story with such frank honesty, All Over but the Shoutin' transcends sentimentality and approaches that elusive quality, beauty. No one who reads this book will fail to be moved. Farley, Powells.com

Publisher Comments:

This haunting, harrowing, gloriously moving recollection of a life on the American margin is the story of Rick Bragg, who grew up dirt-poor in northeastern Alabama, seemingly destined for either the cotton mills or the penitentiary, and instead became a Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter for the New York Times. It is the story of Bragg's father, a hard-drinking man with a murderous temper and the habit of running out on the people who needed him most.

But at the center of this soaring memoir is Bragg's mother, who went eighteen years without a new dress so that her sons could have school clothes and picked other people's cotton so that her children wouldn't have to live on welfare alone. Evoking these lives — and the country that shaped and nourished them — with artistry, honesty, and compassion, Rick Bragg brings home the love and suffering that lie at the heart of every family. The result is unforgettable.

Review:

"Searingly honest, beautifully written, All Over but the Shoutin' is perhaps the most courageous thing Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Rick Bragg has ever written. Making his reputation on his "dark gothic" stories of urban riots, community disasters, and Haitian bloodbaths, Bragg has never failed to record the grace and dignity of people who live their lives in the margins. All Over but the Shoutin' is one more such story. But it is braver because the marginal people he gives us are himself, a child of "poor white Southern trash," and his family — an alcoholic, mostly absent father, and an extraordinary mother, quietly heroic in the face of devastating poverty. Bragg looks down the corridors of his past with love, hate, humor, regret, self-doubt, and understanding. In the telling, he may occasionally flinch, but he never turns away." Willie Morris

Review:

"Rick Bragg writes like a man on fire. And All Over but the Shoutin' is a work of art. While reading this book, I fell in love with Rick Bragg's mother, Margaret Bragg, a hundred times. I felt like I was reading one of the prophets in the Old Testament when reading parts of this book. I thought of Melville, I thought of Faulkner. Because I love the English language, I knew I was reading one of the best books I've ever read. By explaining his life to the world, Rick Bragg explained part of my life to me. You feel things in every line this man writes. His sentences bleed on you. I wept when the book ended. I never met Rick Bragg in my life, but I called him up and told him he'd written a masterpiece, and I sent flowers to his mother." Pat Conroy

Review:

"An absolutely wonderful book." Russell Baker

Review:

"In his sad, beautiful, funny and moving memoir, All Over but the Shoutin', Rick Bragg gives us a report from the forgotten heart of 'white trash' America....Bragg is showing us a place we have not seen before, not quite like this. And he is joining an elite group of American writers who have used the literature of childhood to affect our understanding of our society, standing in the tradition of Huck and Tom, Holden Caulfield and Dorothy Allison's Bone Boatwright." Anthony Walton, The New York Times Book Review

Review:

"This is a great book: a poem disguised as a memoir, a gift from a son to his mother, a primer on reporting....Language at its loveliest." Entertainment Weekly

Review:

"Bragg...has a strong voice and a sweeping style that...is rich, empathetic, and compelling. His memoir is a model of humility combined with pride in one's accomplishments." Kirkus Reviews

About the Author

Rick Bragg is a national correspondent for the New York Times. He is based in Atlanta, Georgia.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

autumnbride7, March 20, 2013 (view all comments by autumnbride7)
This memoir captured my heart from the first page, feeling the tears in my eyes. This is a glimpse into the life of Rick Bragg, New York Times reporter. He captured his poor upbringing in Alabama, although dirt poor they were wealthy in the most important things.. love for his family, his mother most of all. This memoir was beautifully written, capturing his time as a news reporter, as well as his childhood. This is a must read...just have some kleenex nearby. This is a perfect Mother's Day present.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780679774020
Author:
Bragg, Rick
Publisher:
Vintage Books USA
Location:
New York :
Subject:
General
Subject:
Biography
Subject:
United states
Subject:
Sociology, rural
Subject:
Regional Subjects - South
Subject:
Journalists
Subject:
Alabama
Subject:
Rural conditions
Subject:
Alabama Rural conditions.
Subject:
Working class whites
Subject:
Editors, Journalists, Publishers
Subject:
Journalists -- United States.
Subject:
Biography - General
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series:
Vintage
Publication Date:
19980931
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
4 PHOTOGRAPHS
Pages:
352
Dimensions:
7.99x5.26x.72 in. .76 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. The Portable Promised Land: Stories Used Trade Paper $5.95
  2. Ava's Man Used Trade Paper $2.95
  3. Somebody Told Me: The Newspaper... Used Trade Paper $5.50
  4. Letters of a Nation: A Collection of... Used Trade Paper $1.95
  5. The End of the World as We Know It:...
    Used Trade Paper $4.95
  6. Guns, Germs, and Steel: The Fates of...
    Used Trade Paper $8.50

Related Subjects

Biography » General
Featured Titles » History and Social Science
Health and Self-Help » Self-Help » Memoirs
History and Social Science » Americana » Southern States
History and Social Science » Journalism » Journalists

All Over But the Shoutin' Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.50 In Stock
Product details 352 pages Vintage Books USA - English 9780679774020 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Searingly honest, beautifully written, All Over but the Shoutin' is perhaps the most courageous thing Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Rick Bragg has ever written. Making his reputation on his "dark gothic" stories of urban riots, community disasters, and Haitian bloodbaths, Bragg has never failed to record the grace and dignity of people who live their lives in the margins. All Over but the Shoutin' is one more such story. But it is braver because the marginal people he gives us are himself, a child of "poor white Southern trash," and his family — an alcoholic, mostly absent father, and an extraordinary mother, quietly heroic in the face of devastating poverty. Bragg looks down the corridors of his past with love, hate, humor, regret, self-doubt, and understanding. In the telling, he may occasionally flinch, but he never turns away."
"Review" by , "Rick Bragg writes like a man on fire. And All Over but the Shoutin' is a work of art. While reading this book, I fell in love with Rick Bragg's mother, Margaret Bragg, a hundred times. I felt like I was reading one of the prophets in the Old Testament when reading parts of this book. I thought of Melville, I thought of Faulkner. Because I love the English language, I knew I was reading one of the best books I've ever read. By explaining his life to the world, Rick Bragg explained part of my life to me. You feel things in every line this man writes. His sentences bleed on you. I wept when the book ended. I never met Rick Bragg in my life, but I called him up and told him he'd written a masterpiece, and I sent flowers to his mother."
"Review" by , "An absolutely wonderful book."
"Review" by , "In his sad, beautiful, funny and moving memoir, All Over but the Shoutin', Rick Bragg gives us a report from the forgotten heart of 'white trash' America....Bragg is showing us a place we have not seen before, not quite like this. And he is joining an elite group of American writers who have used the literature of childhood to affect our understanding of our society, standing in the tradition of Huck and Tom, Holden Caulfield and Dorothy Allison's Bone Boatwright."
"Review" by , "This is a great book: a poem disguised as a memoir, a gift from a son to his mother, a primer on reporting....Language at its loveliest."
"Review" by , "Bragg...has a strong voice and a sweeping style that...is rich, empathetic, and compelling. His memoir is a model of humility combined with pride in one's accomplishments."
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.