Star Wars Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN!

Weekly drawing for $100 credit. Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

More at Powell's


Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | June 20, 2014

Lisa Howorth: IMG So Many Books, So Many Writers



I'm not a bookseller, but I'm married to one, and Square Books is a family. And we all know about families and how hard it is to disassociate... Continue »
  1. $18.20 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Flying Shoes

    Lisa Howorth 9781620403013

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.50
List price: $11.99
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
6 Beaverton Children's- Series General

This title in other editions

The Spiderwick Chronicles, Book 1: The Field Guide

by and

The Spiderwick Chronicles, Book 1: The Field Guide Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

When their great-aunt Lucinda Spiderwick is sent off to an asylum, the Grace kids — twins Jared and Simon and their older sister, Mallory — move into her creepy old mansion with their mother. Strange goings-on lead them to an old book filled with pictures of fanstastic creatures. It holds clues to recent odd events, and the key to an even bigger mystery: the disappearance of the children's great-uncle Arthur Spiderwick generations before...

Review:

"This snappy story...sets the scene for the next four books planned.... Appealing characters, well-measured suspense and an inviting package will lure readers on to The Seeing Stone" Publisher's Weekly

Review:

"[H]andsomely designed, and extravagantly illustrated...packs quite a punch. Readers who are too young to read Harry Potter independently will find these have just the right amount of menace laced with appealing humor and are blessed with crisp pacing and, of course, DiTerlizzi's enticingly Gothic illustrations." Kirkus Reviews

Review:

"Readers who like the Unfortunate Events series will probably enjoy this series....Detailed illustrations help bring the strange world of Spiderwick alive." Suzanne Lieurance, Children's Literature

Review:

"[The illustrations evoke] a delicious classical sense in this modern fantasy. Black...keeps the dialogue snappy and the children's personalities distinct....[W]ill surely develop a devoted following, particularly with avid fantasy readers." Diane Emge, VOYA

Synopsis:

When the Grace children go to stay at their Great Aunt Lucinda's worn Victorian house, they discover a field guide to fairies and other creatures and begin to have some unusual experiences.

Synopsis:

The Grace children discover the faerie world is closer than you think in this repackage of the first book in the #1 New York Times bestselling Spiderwick Chronicles.andlt;BRandgt;andlt;BRandgt;After finding a mysterious, handmade field guide in the attic of the ramshackle old mansion theyand#8217;ve just moved into, Jared; his twin brother, Simon; and their older sister, Mallory, discover that thereand#8217;s a magical and maybe dangerous world existing parallel to our ownand#8212;the world of faerie.andlt;BRandgt; andlt;BRandgt;The Grace children want to share their story, but the faeries will do everything possible to stop them...andlt;BRandgt; andlt;BRandgt;In honor of the tenth anniversary of the #1 New York Times bestselling Spiderwick Chronicles series, which has more than 12 million copies in print worldwide, this edition of The Field Guide features a larger trim size and an original cover with all-new art from Tony DiTerlizzi.

Synopsis:

Olive thought she'd uncovered all the house's secrets. She was wrong.

It's Halloween night when strangers come to Linden Street...and something dear to Olive goes missing. To what lengths will she go to get it back? Can she trust the strangers? Will she turn to a new and dangerous magic within the paintings of Elsewhere? Or will she put her faith in her own worst enemies to save the people and home she loves?

The stakes grow higher, the secrets more dangerous, and mystery and magic abound as Olive, the boys, and the cats uncover the true nature of the house on Linden Street. A must-read fantasy series for fans of Pseudonymous Bosch, Coraline, and Septimus Heap.

About the Author

A New York Times bestselling author, Tony DiTerlizzi created the Zena Sutherland Award-winning Ted, Jimmy Zangwow's Out-of-This-World Moon Pie Adventure, as well as illustrations in Tony Johnston's Alien and Possum beginning-reader series. Most recently, his brilliantly cinematic version of Mary Howitt's classic The Spider and the Fly was awarded a Caldecott Honor. He and his wife, Angela, reside with their pug, Goblin, in Amherst, Massachusetts.

An avid collector of rare folklore volumes, Holly Black spent her early years in a decaying Victorian mansion where her mother fed her a steady diet of ghost stories and books about faeries. Her first book, Tithe: A Modern Faerie Tale, received two starred reviews and a Best Book for Young Adults citation from the American Library Association. She lives in West Long Branch, New Jersey, with her husband, Theo.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

Shoshana, February 19, 2008 (view all comments by Shoshana)
An auspicious beginning to the series, this very sweet little book has terific illustrations and conveys a surprising amount of information about characters' behaviors, skills, hopes and fears, and relationships with few words and little fanfare. Although it is intended for younger children, it will hold older readers' attention as well. While children may move on to the Harry Potter books, adults may want to pair it with The Stolen Child for their own reading pleasure as they contemplate the potential effects of domestic supernatural creatures on their own families.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(7 of 21 readers found this comment helpful)
dragonmist02, April 13, 2007 (view all comments by dragonmist02)
After I saw book #4 I had to find this one and read it, I don't like starting with the middle book. I really like faeries, elves, goblins and the like, so these books were awesome, the story is very good, and none of the books are boring.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(14 of 28 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780689859366
Author:
DiTerlizzi, Tony
Publisher:
Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Illustrator:
DiTerlizzi, Tony
Author:
DiTerlizzi, Tony
Author:
ony
Author:
Black, Holly
Author:
West, Jacqueline
Author:
Bernatene, Poly
Author:
Diterlizzi, T.
Location:
New York
Subject:
Action & Adventure
Subject:
Science Fiction, Fantasy, & Magic
Subject:
Children's 9-12 - Fiction - Fantasy
Subject:
Legends, Myths, & Fables - General
Subject:
Fairy Tales & Folklore - Single Title
Subject:
Family - Siblings
Subject:
Brothers and sisters
Subject:
Fairies
Subject:
Single-parent families
Subject:
Action & Adventure - General
Subject:
Fantasy & Magic
Subject:
Children s-Science Fiction and Fantasy
Copyright:
Edition Description:
B402
Series:
Spiderwick Chronicles, The
Series Volume:
01
Publication Date:
May 2003
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 1 up to 5
Language:
English
Illustrations:
2 f-c tip-ins + bandamp;w line art; f-c
Pages:
128
Dimensions:
6.75 x 4.5 in 6.58 oz
Age Level:
06-10

Other books you might like

  1. The Spiderwick Chronicles, Book 3:...
    Used Hardcover $0.95
  2. The Spiderwick Chronicles, Book 2:...
    Used Hardcover $3.50
  3. Charlie Bone and the Time Twister
    Used Hardcover $2.50
  4. The Ironwood Tree (The Spiderwick...
    Used Hardcover $1.95
  5. The Wrath of Mulgarath: The...
    Used Hardcover $2.50
  6. A House Called Awful End: The Eddie... Used Trade Paper $0.95

Related Subjects

Children's » Action and Adventure » Adventure Stories
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Reference » Family and Genealogy
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General
Children's » Series » General

The Spiderwick Chronicles, Book 1: The Field Guide Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.50 In Stock
Product details 128 pages Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing Simon - English 9780689859366 Reviews:
"Review" by , "This snappy story...sets the scene for the next four books planned.... Appealing characters, well-measured suspense and an inviting package will lure readers on to The Seeing Stone" Publisher's Weekly
"Review" by , "[H]andsomely designed, and extravagantly illustrated...packs quite a punch. Readers who are too young to read Harry Potter independently will find these have just the right amount of menace laced with appealing humor and are blessed with crisp pacing and, of course, DiTerlizzi's enticingly Gothic illustrations."
"Review" by , "Readers who like the Unfortunate Events series will probably enjoy this series....Detailed illustrations help bring the strange world of Spiderwick alive."
"Review" by , "[The illustrations evoke] a delicious classical sense in this modern fantasy. Black...keeps the dialogue snappy and the children's personalities distinct....[W]ill surely develop a devoted following, particularly with avid fantasy readers."
"Synopsis" by , When the Grace children go to stay at their Great Aunt Lucinda's worn Victorian house, they discover a field guide to fairies and other creatures and begin to have some unusual experiences.
"Synopsis" by , The Grace children discover the faerie world is closer than you think in this repackage of the first book in the #1 New York Times bestselling Spiderwick Chronicles.andlt;BRandgt;andlt;BRandgt;After finding a mysterious, handmade field guide in the attic of the ramshackle old mansion theyand#8217;ve just moved into, Jared; his twin brother, Simon; and their older sister, Mallory, discover that thereand#8217;s a magical and maybe dangerous world existing parallel to our ownand#8212;the world of faerie.andlt;BRandgt; andlt;BRandgt;The Grace children want to share their story, but the faeries will do everything possible to stop them...andlt;BRandgt; andlt;BRandgt;In honor of the tenth anniversary of the #1 New York Times bestselling Spiderwick Chronicles series, which has more than 12 million copies in print worldwide, this edition of The Field Guide features a larger trim size and an original cover with all-new art from Tony DiTerlizzi.
"Synopsis" by ,
Olive thought she'd uncovered all the house's secrets. She was wrong.

It's Halloween night when strangers come to Linden Street...and something dear to Olive goes missing. To what lengths will she go to get it back? Can she trust the strangers? Will she turn to a new and dangerous magic within the paintings of Elsewhere? Or will she put her faith in her own worst enemies to save the people and home she loves?

The stakes grow higher, the secrets more dangerous, and mystery and magic abound as Olive, the boys, and the cats uncover the true nature of the house on Linden Street. A must-read fantasy series for fans of Pseudonymous Bosch, Coraline, and Septimus Heap.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.