Star Wars Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN!

Weekly drawing for $100 credit. Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

More at Powell's


Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | June 18, 2014

Daniel H. Wilson: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Daniel H. Wilson



Like many writers, I'm constantly haunting coffee shops with a laptop out and my headphones on. I listen to a lot of music while I write, and songs... Continue »
  1. $18.87 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Robogenesis

    Daniel H. Wilson 9780385537094

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$10.95
List price: $16.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Local Warehouse US History- Revolution and Constitution Era

Samuel Adams: A Life

by

Samuel Adams: A Life Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In this stirring biography, Samuel Adams joins the first tier of founding fathers, a rank he has long deserved. With eloquence equal to that of Thomas Jefferson and Tom Paine, and with a passionate love of God, Adams helped ignite the flame of liberty and made sure it glowed even during the Revolution's darkest hours. He was, as Jefferson later observed, "truly the man of the Revolution."

In a role that many Americans have not fully appreciated until now, Adams played a pivotal role in the events leading up to the bloody confrontation with the British. Believing that God had willed a free American nation, he was among the first patriot leaders to call for independence from England. He was ever the man of action: He saw the opportunity to stir things up after the Boston Massacre and helped plan and instigate the Boston Tea Party, though he did not actually participate in it. A fiery newspaper editor, he railed ceaselessly against "taxation without representation."

In a relentless blizzard of articles and speeches, Adams, a man of New England, argued the urgency of revolution. When the top British general in America, Thomas Gage, offered a general amnesty in June 1775 to all revolutionaries who would lay down their arms, he excepted only two men, John Hancock and Samuel Adams: These two were destined for the gallows. It was this pair, author Ira Stoll argues, whom the British were pursuing in their fateful march on Lexington and Concord.

In the tradition of David McCullough's John Adams, Joseph Ellis's The Founding Brothers, and Walter Isaacson's Benjamin Franklin, Ira Stoll's Samuel Adams vividly re-creates a world of ideas and action, reminding us that none of these men of courage knew what we know today: that they would prevail and make history anew.

The idea that especially inspired Adams was religious in nature: He believed that God had intervened on behalf of the United States and would do so as long asits citizens maintained civic virtue. "We shall never be abandoned by Heaven while we act worthy of its aid and protection," Adams insisted. A central thesis of this biography is that religion in large part motivated the founding of America.

A gifted young historian and newspaperman, Ira Stoll has written a gripping story about the man who was the revolution's moral conscience. Sure to be discussed widely, this book reminds us who Samuel Adams was, why he has been slighted by history, and why he must be remembered.

Synopsis:

The gripping story of the man who was the American Revolutionand#8217;s moral compassand#8212;Ira Stoll tells readers who Samuel Adams was, why he has been forgotten, and why he must be remembered.andlt;BRandgt;andlt;BRandgt;Thomas Jefferson called Samuel Adams and#8220;truly the man of the Revolution.and#8221; Adams, filled with religious fervor, inspired others to fight on and overcome the challenges of the Revolutionary War. He was the editor of the influential andlt;Iandgt;Boston Gazetteandlt;/Iandgt;, planner of the Boston Tea Party, and signer of the Declaration of Independence, and yet, he is largely ignored and unknown today. Understanding the leading part Adams played in building and sustaining support for the revolutionary cause gives readers new insight into the way religion motivated the founding of America.

About the Author

andlt;bandgt;Ira Stollandlt;/bandgt; was vice president and managing editor of andlt;iandgt;The New York Sun,andlt;/iandgt; which he helped to found. He has been a consultant to the editorial page of andlt;iandgt;The Wall Street Journal,andlt;/iandgt; an editor of the andlt;iandgt;Jerusalem Post,andlt;/iandgt; managing editor and Washington correspondent of the andlt;iandgt;Forward,andlt;/iandgt; editor of Smartertimes.com, and a reporter for the andlt;iandgt;Los Angeles Times.andlt;/iandgt; He is a native of Massachusetts and a graduate of Harvard College. He lives in New York City.

Table of Contents

Prelude

"Pillar of Fire by Night": 1777

Introduction

"Truly the Man of the Revolution"

Chapter 1

"Born a Rebel": 1722-1764

Chapter 2

"Zealous in the Cause": 1765-1769

Chapter 3

Massacre: 1769-1773

Chapter 4

Tea Party: 1773-1774

Chapter 5

Congressman: 1774-1775

Chapter 6

Lexington and Concord: 1775

Chapter 7

Congressman, II: 1775-1779

Chapter 8

Back to Massachusetts: 1779-1793

Chapter 9

Governor: 1793-1797

Chapter 10

Passing of the Patriarch: 1797 to the Present

Acknowledgments

Notes

Bibliography

Index

Product Details

ISBN:
9780743299121
Author:
Stoll, Ira
Publisher:
Free Press
Subject:
Historical - U.S.
Subject:
Political
Subject:
United States - Revolutionary War
Subject:
Historical
Subject:
Biography-Historical
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade Paperback
Publication Date:
20091131
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
bandamp;w 8-page photo insert; index; no
Pages:
352
Dimensions:
8.44 x 5.5 in 10.955 oz

Other books you might like

  1. Kitten's First Full Moon
    Used Hardcover $9.50
  2. Giggle, Giggle, Quack Used Hardcover $4.50
  3. George Washington, Spymaster: How... Used Trade Paper $4.50
  4. Revolutionary War on Wednesday Used Book Club Paperback $2.50
  5. Click, Clack, 123 Sale Board Book $3.98
  6. Team of Rivals: The Political Genius...
    Used Trade Paper $6.50

Related Subjects

Biography » Historical
Biography » Political
History and Social Science » US History » 18th Century
History and Social Science » US History » Early American Biographies
History and Social Science » US History » General
History and Social Science » US History » Revolution and Constitution Era

Samuel Adams: A Life Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$10.95 In Stock
Product details 352 pages Free Press - English 9780743299121 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , The gripping story of the man who was the American Revolutionand#8217;s moral compassand#8212;Ira Stoll tells readers who Samuel Adams was, why he has been forgotten, and why he must be remembered.andlt;BRandgt;andlt;BRandgt;Thomas Jefferson called Samuel Adams and#8220;truly the man of the Revolution.and#8221; Adams, filled with religious fervor, inspired others to fight on and overcome the challenges of the Revolutionary War. He was the editor of the influential andlt;Iandgt;Boston Gazetteandlt;/Iandgt;, planner of the Boston Tea Party, and signer of the Declaration of Independence, and yet, he is largely ignored and unknown today. Understanding the leading part Adams played in building and sustaining support for the revolutionary cause gives readers new insight into the way religion motivated the founding of America.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.