Nonficionado Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | May 5, 2015

    Leonard Mlodinow: IMG The Fragility of Grand Discoveries



    When I was in graduate school at Berkeley I was offered a prestigious fellowship to study for a year in Germany, but I decided it would be a... Continue »
    1. $19.57 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

Because of Winn-Dixie

by

Because of Winn-Dixie Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Ten-year-old Star Mackie lives in a trailer park with her flaky mom and her melancholy older sister, Winter, whom Star idolizes. Moving to a new town has made it difficult for Star to make friends, when her classmates tease her because of where she lives and because of her layered blue hair. But when Star starts a poetry club, she develops a love of Emily Dickinson and, through Dickinsonandrsquo;s poetry, learns some important lessons about herself and comes to terms with her hopes for the future.

With an unforgettable voice with a lot of heart, Hope Is a Ferris Wheel is the story of a young girl who learns to accept her family and herself while trying to make sense of the world around her.

Praise for Hope is a Ferris Wheel

STARRED REVIEW

andquot;Herreraandrsquo;s first novel is quite accomplished, with plenty of heart and humor, especially apparent in the spelling assignments Star has to complete but refuses to turn in, as she uses them as a sort of journal. Star is a unique, determined, and loving child making the best of a bad situation; readers cannot help but root for her.andquot;

--School Library Journal, starred review

andquot;Well-constructed, thought-provoking and appealing, this first effort bodes well for the authorandrsquo;s future.andquot;

--Kirkus Reviews

andquot;In her debut, Herrera has created a delightful narrator with a memorable voice and surrounded her with a unique supporting cast. Got fans of Joan Bauer in your neck of the woods? Send them this way.andquot;

--Booklist

andquot;A tender and truthful novel that addresses stereotypes without promising easy answers or cookie-cutter closure.andquot;

--Publishers Weekly

andquot;First-time author Herrera, telling the story from Starandrsquo;s point of view, gives readers a front-row seat to all the embarrassment and angst of Starandrsquo;s jumbled lifeandmdash;and all of the triumphs. Hereandrsquo;s hoping we hear more from this author.andquot;

--The Horn Book Magazine

andquot;Starandrsquo;s contemplation, through poetic metaphors and real-life relationships, of what really matters in her life is compelling. Additionally, the poetry angle offers food for thought for those just coming to understand the power and purpose of metaphor, and Starandrsquo;s vocabulary assignments, occasionally interspersed between chapters, provide inspiration and entertainment for word-lovers.andquot;

--Bulletin of the Center for Childrenandrsquo;s Books

and#160;

Synopsis:

A tender and beautifully illustrated debut childrens book from a New York Times bestselling team

A city savvy stray cat named Pretty Boy has always managed to make it on his own. Hes as vain as they come, and he wont admit to being dependent on anyone. But as he discovers the pleasures of friendship, he learns that home really is where the heart is. Or, at the very least, home is where his friends are. And with friends all around New York City, Pretty Boy will always have a place to call home.

The author and illustrator team who brought us the New York Times bestseller The Christmas Tree introduce an unforgettable animal adventure in the tradition of A Cricket in Times Square and The One and Only Ivan. The result is a story that will captivate readers of all ages with its warmth and wit.

Synopsis:

“Beasts of the Southern Wild” meets Because of Winn Dixie in this inspiring story of hope.

August “Auggie” Jones lives with her Grandpa Gus, a trash hauler, in a poor part of town. So when her wealthy classmates father starts the House Beautification Committee, its homes like Auggies that are deemed “in violation.” Auggie is determined to prove that she is not as run-down as the outside of her house might suggest. Using the kind of items Gus usually hauls to the scrap heap, a broken toaster becomes a flower; church windows turn into a rainbow walkway; and an old car gets new life as spinning whirligigs. What starts out as a home renovation project becomes much more as Auggie and her grandpa discover a talent they never knew they had—and redefine a whole towns perception of beauty, one recycled sculpture at a time. Auggies talent for creating found art will remind readers that one girls trash really is another girls treasure.

About the Author

Kate DiCamillo says of writing BECAUSE OF WINN-DIXIE, "I was living in an apartment where no dogs were allowed. As a result, I was suffering from a serious case of 'dog withdrawal.' One night, before I went to sleep, I heard this little girl's voice (with a Southern accent) say, 'I have a dog named Winn-Dixie.' When I woke up the next morning, the voice was still talking, and I started writing down what India Opal Buloni was telling me. The book is (I hope) a hymn of praise to dogs, friendship, and the South."

Product Details

ISBN:
9780763607760
Author:
Dicamillo, Kate
Publisher:
Amulet Books
Author:
Schindler, Holly
Author:
Weber, Jill
Author:
DiCamillo, Kate
Author:
Salamon, Julie
Author:
Herlong, M.H.
Author:
Herrera, Robin
Location:
Cambridge, Mass. :
Subject:
Family - General
Subject:
City and town life
Subject:
Animals - Dogs
Subject:
Children's 9-12 - Fiction - General
Subject:
Dogs
Subject:
Social Situations - General
Subject:
Animals - Pets
Subject:
Florida
Subject:
Social Issues - General
Subject:
Situations / Homelessness & Poverty
Subject:
Animals - Cats
Subject:
Situations / Emotions & Feelings
Edition Number:
1st ed.
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series:
Because of Winn-Dixie
Series Volume:
105-345
Publication Date:
20140311
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
from 4 up to 7
Language:
English
Illustrations:
None
Pages:
272
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 x 1 in
Age Level:
08-12

Other books you might like

  1. Ramona and Her Father (Avon Camelot... Used Trade Paper $3.50
  2. The Hundred Penny Box Used Book Club Paperback $1.50
  3. Bridge to Terabithia
    Used Trade Paper $1.95
  4. Frindle Used Trade Paper $2.50
  5. Island of the Blue Dolphins Used Mass Market $1.95
  6. Holes
    Used Trade Paper $2.50

Related Subjects


Children's » Animals » Dogs
Children's » Animals » Pets
Children's » Awards » Newbery Award Winners
Young Adult » Fiction » Newbery Award Winners

Because of Winn-Dixie Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 272 pages Candlewick Press (MA) - English 9780763607760 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
A tender and beautifully illustrated debut childrens book from a New York Times bestselling team

A city savvy stray cat named Pretty Boy has always managed to make it on his own. Hes as vain as they come, and he wont admit to being dependent on anyone. But as he discovers the pleasures of friendship, he learns that home really is where the heart is. Or, at the very least, home is where his friends are. And with friends all around New York City, Pretty Boy will always have a place to call home.

The author and illustrator team who brought us the New York Times bestseller The Christmas Tree introduce an unforgettable animal adventure in the tradition of A Cricket in Times Square and The One and Only Ivan. The result is a story that will captivate readers of all ages with its warmth and wit.

"Synopsis" by ,
“Beasts of the Southern Wild” meets Because of Winn Dixie in this inspiring story of hope.

August “Auggie” Jones lives with her Grandpa Gus, a trash hauler, in a poor part of town. So when her wealthy classmates father starts the House Beautification Committee, its homes like Auggies that are deemed “in violation.” Auggie is determined to prove that she is not as run-down as the outside of her house might suggest. Using the kind of items Gus usually hauls to the scrap heap, a broken toaster becomes a flower; church windows turn into a rainbow walkway; and an old car gets new life as spinning whirligigs. What starts out as a home renovation project becomes much more as Auggie and her grandpa discover a talent they never knew they had—and redefine a whole towns perception of beauty, one recycled sculpture at a time. Auggies talent for creating found art will remind readers that one girls trash really is another girls treasure.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.