It's Raining Books Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 17, 2014

Merritt Tierce: IMG Has My Husband Read It?



My first novel, Love Me Back, was published on September 16. Writing the book took seven years, and along the way three chapters were published in... Continue »
  1. $16.77 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Love Me Back

    Merritt Tierce 9780385538077

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$2.98
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Local Warehouse SF- D

The Man Who Fought Alone

by

The Man Who Fought Alone Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In this sprawling new novel, Stephen R. Donaldson tells a tale of a hero's dark night of the soul. The Man Who Fought Alone will enthrall the millions of readers who followed Thomas Covenant's adventures through six bestselling books.

Mick Axbrewder has enough problems to kill ten lesser men. He's a recovering alcoholic. He's healing — painfully and slowly — from a gunshot wound that nearly killed him. His old partner and lover, Ginny, seems to want as little to do with him as possible.

Years ago, he and Ginny worked side-by-side. But that was before he accidentally shot and killed a cop. While drunk. A cop who happened to be his brother.

Now Axbrewder — "Brew" to his friends — is trying to make his way back to self-respect. It isn't easy. It doesn't help that Ginny has moved the pair of them to the sprawling, heartless Sunbelt city of Carner, where he can't get the "feel" of the streets. At least he has work, handling security for the area's booming martial arts industry, a world of modern commercial competition and ancient resentments. A world with hidden stakes, over which someone is evidently willing to kill.

But Brew's real job isn't the one for which he's been hired. His real job is regaining his own self-respect.

Review:

"The fourth book in bestseller Donaldson's "The Man Who..." mystery series (previously written under the pseudonym Reed Stephens) continues the story of ex-PI Mick ("Brew") Axbrewder and his search for redemption after the accidental shooting death of his own brother....The author's shotokan karate experience (he's a second degree black belt) lends the martial arts scenes an authoritative touch. Fans of Donaldson's better known fantasy (The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant series) and his cranky, self-involved antiheroes will find familiar enough territory to satisfy them." Publishers Weekly

Review:

"The well-known science fiction and fantasy author (Reave the Just, 1999, etc.) dons a trenchcoat for what might be the beginning of a hard-boiled detective series....Cliched, chop-soggy whodunit that might be tough love for fans of Donaldson's Thomas Covenant and Gap Into Power series." Kirkus Reviews

Synopsis:

In a sprawling new novel, Stephen R. Donaldson tells a tale of a hero's dark night of the soul.

Mick Axbrewder has enough problems to kill any ten lesser men. He's a recovering alcoholic. He's also healing-painfully and slowly-from a gunshot wound that nearly killed him. His old partner, Ginny, seems to want as little to do with him as possible.

Years ago, he and Ginny worked side by side. That was before he accidentally shot and killed a cop. While drunk. A cop who happened to be his brother.

Now Axbrewder-"Brew" to his friends-is trying to make his way back to self-respect. It isn't easy. It doesn't help that Ginny has moved them to the sprawling, heartless Sunbelt city of Carner, where he can't get the "feel" of the streets. At least he has work, handling security in the booming martial-arts industry centered in Carner. A world of modern commercial competition and ancient resentments. A world with hidden stakes, over which someone is evidently willing to kill.

But Brew's real job isn't the one for which he's been hired. His real job is regaining his own self-respect.

About the Author

The author of eight New York Times bestsellers, including the Chronicles of Thomas Covenant, Stephen R. Donaldson lives in northern New Mexico.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780765302021
Author:
Donaldson, Stephen R.
Publisher:
Forge Books
Author:
Donaldson, Stephen R.
Location:
New York
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - General
Subject:
Mystery fiction
Subject:
Southwestern States
Subject:
Psychological fiction
Subject:
Recovering alcoholics
Subject:
Security consultants
Subject:
Martial arts schools
Subject:
Axbrewder, Mick
Copyright:
Edition Number:
1st ed.
Series Volume:
R-1296-01-RR
Publication Date:
20021013
Binding:
Electronic book text in proprietary or open standard format
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
512
Dimensions:
9.48x6.58x1.41 in. 1.77 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. The Man Who Risked His Partner Used Mass Market $4.95
  2. The Man Who Killed His Brother Used Mass Market $3.50
  3. The Man Who Tried to Get Away Used Mass Market $4.95
  4. Reave the Just and Other Tales Used Book Club Hardcover $1.75
  5. Not One Damsel in Distress: World... Used Hardcover $7.95
  6. Hounds of the Morrigan
    Used Mass Market $4.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » A to Z

The Man Who Fought Alone Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$2.98 In Stock
Product details 512 pages Forge - English 9780765302021 Reviews:
"Review" by , "The fourth book in bestseller Donaldson's "The Man Who..." mystery series (previously written under the pseudonym Reed Stephens) continues the story of ex-PI Mick ("Brew") Axbrewder and his search for redemption after the accidental shooting death of his own brother....The author's shotokan karate experience (he's a second degree black belt) lends the martial arts scenes an authoritative touch. Fans of Donaldson's better known fantasy (The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant series) and his cranky, self-involved antiheroes will find familiar enough territory to satisfy them."
"Review" by , "The well-known science fiction and fantasy author (Reave the Just, 1999, etc.) dons a trenchcoat for what might be the beginning of a hard-boiled detective series....Cliched, chop-soggy whodunit that might be tough love for fans of Donaldson's Thomas Covenant and Gap Into Power series."
"Synopsis" by ,
In a sprawling new novel, Stephen R. Donaldson tells a tale of a hero's dark night of the soul.

Mick Axbrewder has enough problems to kill any ten lesser men. He's a recovering alcoholic. He's also healing-painfully and slowly-from a gunshot wound that nearly killed him. His old partner, Ginny, seems to want as little to do with him as possible.

Years ago, he and Ginny worked side by side. That was before he accidentally shot and killed a cop. While drunk. A cop who happened to be his brother.

Now Axbrewder-"Brew" to his friends-is trying to make his way back to self-respect. It isn't easy. It doesn't help that Ginny has moved them to the sprawling, heartless Sunbelt city of Carner, where he can't get the "feel" of the streets. At least he has work, handling security in the booming martial-arts industry centered in Carner. A world of modern commercial competition and ancient resentments. A world with hidden stakes, over which someone is evidently willing to kill.

But Brew's real job isn't the one for which he's been hired. His real job is regaining his own self-respect.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.