Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | June 20, 2014

Lisa Howorth: IMG So Many Books, So Many Writers



I'm not a bookseller, but I'm married to one, and Square Books is a family. And we all know about families and how hard it is to disassociate... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$1.00
List price: $13.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Local Warehouse Journalism- Journalists

War Reporting for Cowards

by

War Reporting for Cowards Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In the tradition of "M*A*S*H, Catch-22," and other classics in which irreverence springs from life in extremis, journalist Ayres, a "war virgin," tells the story of the war in Iraq in a way that is extraordinarily honest, heartfelt, and bitterly hilarious.

Synopsis:

Chris Ayres is a small-town boy, a hypochondriac, and a neat freak with an anxiety disorder. Not exactly the picture of a war correspondent. But when his boss asks him if he would like to go to Iraq, he doesn't have the guts to say no. After signing a 1 million dollar life-insurance policy, studying a tutorial on repairing severed limbs, and spending 20 thousand dollars in camping gear (only to find out that his bright yellow tent makes him a sitting duck), Ayres is embedded with a battalion of gung ho Marines who either shun him or threaten him when he files an unfavorable story. As time goes on, though, he begins to understand them (and his inexplicably enthusiastic fellow war reporters) more and more: Each night of terrifying combat brings, in the morning, something more visceral than he has ever experienced — the thrill of having won a fight for survival.

In the tradition of MASH, Catch-22, and other classics in which irreverence springs from life in extremis, War Reporting for Cowards tells the story of Iraq in a way that is extraordinarily honest, heartfelt, and bitterly hilarious.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780802142566
Author:
Ayres, Chris
Publisher:
Grove/Atlantic
Subject:
Military - Other
Subject:
HISTORY / Military / Other
Subject:
Personal Memoirs
Subject:
Editors, Journalists, Publishers
Subject:
Military - Iraq War
Subject:
Military - Iraq War (2003-)
Subject:
World History-Iraq War (2003-?)
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Publication Date:
20060631
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
304
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 12.5 oz

Other books you might like

  1. The Infinite Book: A Short Guide to... Used Hardcover $6.95
  2. Rising Tide: The Great Mississippi... Used Trade Paper $8.50
  3. The Devil Wears Prada
    Used Trade Paper $2.50
  4. Bury Me Standing: The Gypsies and... Used Trade Paper $5.50
  5. Longitudes and Attitudes: America in... Used Hardcover $4.95

Related Subjects

Biography » General
Featured Titles » Staff Picks
History and Social Science » Journalism » General
History and Social Science » Journalism » Journalists
History and Social Science » Military » Iraq War (2003-)
History and Social Science » Military » Recent Military History

War Reporting for Cowards Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$1.00 In Stock
Product details 304 pages Grove Press - English 9780802142566 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
Chris Ayres is a small-town boy, a hypochondriac, and a neat freak with an anxiety disorder. Not exactly the picture of a war correspondent. But when his boss asks him if he would like to go to Iraq, he doesn't have the guts to say no. After signing a 1 million dollar life-insurance policy, studying a tutorial on repairing severed limbs, and spending 20 thousand dollars in camping gear (only to find out that his bright yellow tent makes him a sitting duck), Ayres is embedded with a battalion of gung ho Marines who either shun him or threaten him when he files an unfavorable story. As time goes on, though, he begins to understand them (and his inexplicably enthusiastic fellow war reporters) more and more: Each night of terrifying combat brings, in the morning, something more visceral than he has ever experienced — the thrill of having won a fight for survival.

In the tradition of MASH, Catch-22, and other classics in which irreverence springs from life in extremis, War Reporting for Cowards tells the story of Iraq in a way that is extraordinarily honest, heartfelt, and bitterly hilarious.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.