Nonficionado Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Lists | May 12, 2015

    Mark Bittman: IMG Six Things You Can Do to Join the Food Movement Today



    People ask me all the time what they can do to help improve the food system. Given that some of the problems that need fixing (like unsustainable... Continue »
    1. $18.20 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Literature- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

The Royal Nonesuch: Or, What Will I Do When I Grow Up?

by

The Royal Nonesuch: Or, What Will I Do When I Grow Up? Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Glasgow Phillips published his debut novel Tuscaloosa at the tender age of twenty-four. The results were disastrous: encouraging reviews, translations, a paperback sale, a film option, and a Stegner Fellowship at Stanford. But over the next two years, as Phillips's second novel unraveled and freelance journalism assignments ended in humiliation, a horrible, secret thought took hold in him: perhaps, just possibly, whatever talent he had was of the kind that would never be more than promise.

Washed up as a "real" writer before he was thirty, Phillips went to Los Angeles and formed a company with his best childhood friend Jason McHugh, independent producer of Cannibal! The Musical and Orgazmo. The Royal Nonesuch is the story of Phillips's rollercoaster ride through the twisted world of underground Hollywood and the funhouse of the Internet during the boom. Phillips builds a hilarious and poignant memoir, in the tradition of Augusten Burroughs and Sean Wilsey, from tales of promise and failure, family and madness, friendship and redemption, fame and infamy, and good old-fashioned hustling. It is a remarkable book; a brilliant portrait of a generation in all its foolish glory.

Review:

"The hipster cultural economy of the dot-com boom is skewered in this hilarious coming-of-age memoir. As a struggling 20-something novelist (Tuscaloosa), Phillips headed to Los Angeles in the late 1990s, where he started two iconic ventures at the intersection of art, commerce and pretentiousness. The first was a 'naming company' in which he made scads of money for brainstorming resonantly vacuous brand names for image-obsessed companies. The second was a content company that produced gonzo film and video pieces (signature opus: The Sound of One Hand Clapping, starring Phillips as a Shaolin monk who defeats ninjas with his genitals) for Internet dissemination and, hopefully, cable pickup. Loosely orbiting South Park auteurs Matt Stone and Trey Parker, the author embraces their aesthetic of scabrous, juvenile shock effect as a kind of anti-mainstream media insurgency — and then starts to question it after concocting a vile fake snuff film aimed at starting a Blair Witch — style Web frenzy. Phillips embeds his off-kilter moral journey in an unsparing comic portrait of underground Hollywood, with its schizophrenic hustlers, desperate pitching, deluded financial projections, lascivious Sundance parties, bad indie films and more-alternative-than-thou poseurs who denounce corporate co-optation while angling to be co-opted. He surveys this freak show with a mordant, cutting wit that delivers insight and pathos along with the laughs." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Review:

"Thirteen years ago, when Glasgow Phillips was in his mid-20s, he published an engaging first novel, 'Tuscaloosa.' It was very much a coming-of-age novel, about a young man who returns home to the Alabama city that provides the book's title, and it got deservedly respectful attention. Still, it steered Phillips into a classic case of writer's block. Over and over again he tried to get into a second... Washington Post Book Review (read the entire Washington Post review)

Review:

"Through brief success and persistent failure, Phillips struggles to reconcile himself with the notion that great potential and great expectations guarantee us exactly nothing. Funny, insightful, disturbing, and diverting." Booklist

Review:

"Glasgow Phillips is no genius...but he's a very likable fellow, and you'll end up rooting for him even though you know his harebrained ideas will come to nothing." Wall Street Journal

Review:

"A darkly comic, self-attacking anti-memoir that in its better moments offers an acid critique of contemporary American culture and its twin obsessions: fame and riches....[W]hen Mr. Phillips hits his stride, he sustains some wonderful comedic riffs." William Grimes, New York Times

Review:

"This is the best book I've read about being in your twenties and trying to figure out what to do with your life, and that's not just because I'm in it. Something this funny shouldn't also be this profound; after laughing, crying, and cheering the cast, all I wanted was a bigger part." Matt Stone

Review:

"The Royal Nonesuch is very funny, far too real for comfort, and even, finally, life-affirming. To borrow a phrase from Mr. Phillips, reading this book is like getting kicked in the clams with a clown shoe. You double over, not sure whether you're laughing or crying, and then you want to kick the clown back, in the clams. That course of action won't be available to all readers, but I have Mr. Phillips's address, and I'm on my way now to the clown she store." Dave Eggers

Review:

"Glasgow Phillips has harnessed vast observational and comedic talents for the purpose of waste, waste, and thrice waste — till now! The Royal Nonesuch is both a self-reckoning and a generational one, and Phillips fills this ridiculous, entertaining, crazy-ass morality tale with proof that he's a fancy pants literary type after all. Hooray!" Sean Wilsey

Review:

"A mundane account of a pampered kid trying to find himself that offers nothing particularly illuminating, artful or self-reflective." Kirkus Reviews

Synopsis:

The Royal Nonesuch is the story of Phillips's rollercoaster ride through the twisted world of underground Hollywood and the funhouse of the Internet during the boom.

About the Author

Glasgow Phillips is a film and television writer in Los Angeles whose credits include South Park and Father of the Pride, as well as catastrophic pilots for Comedy Central and MTV. He is the author of Tuscaloosa: A Novel.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780802170286
Author:
Phillips, Glasgow
Publisher:
Grove Press, Black Cat
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Authors, American
Subject:
Motion picture industry
Subject:
Authors, American -- 20th century.
Subject:
Hollywood (Los Angeles, Calif.)
Subject:
Biography-Literary
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Publication Date:
20070231
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
384
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 16 oz

Other books you might like

  1. Heyday: A Novel
    Used Trade Paper $1.95
  2. Because She Can Used Hardcover $1.95
  3. You Don't Love Me Yet 1st Edition
    Used Hardcover $5.95
  4. Then We Came to the End: A Novel
    Used Trade Paper $4.95

Related Subjects

Biography » Literary
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

The Royal Nonesuch: Or, What Will I Do When I Grow Up? Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.95 In Stock
Product details 384 pages Grove Press - English 9780802170286 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "The hipster cultural economy of the dot-com boom is skewered in this hilarious coming-of-age memoir. As a struggling 20-something novelist (Tuscaloosa), Phillips headed to Los Angeles in the late 1990s, where he started two iconic ventures at the intersection of art, commerce and pretentiousness. The first was a 'naming company' in which he made scads of money for brainstorming resonantly vacuous brand names for image-obsessed companies. The second was a content company that produced gonzo film and video pieces (signature opus: The Sound of One Hand Clapping, starring Phillips as a Shaolin monk who defeats ninjas with his genitals) for Internet dissemination and, hopefully, cable pickup. Loosely orbiting South Park auteurs Matt Stone and Trey Parker, the author embraces their aesthetic of scabrous, juvenile shock effect as a kind of anti-mainstream media insurgency — and then starts to question it after concocting a vile fake snuff film aimed at starting a Blair Witch — style Web frenzy. Phillips embeds his off-kilter moral journey in an unsparing comic portrait of underground Hollywood, with its schizophrenic hustlers, desperate pitching, deluded financial projections, lascivious Sundance parties, bad indie films and more-alternative-than-thou poseurs who denounce corporate co-optation while angling to be co-opted. He surveys this freak show with a mordant, cutting wit that delivers insight and pathos along with the laughs." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Review" by , "Through brief success and persistent failure, Phillips struggles to reconcile himself with the notion that great potential and great expectations guarantee us exactly nothing. Funny, insightful, disturbing, and diverting."
"Review" by , "Glasgow Phillips is no genius...but he's a very likable fellow, and you'll end up rooting for him even though you know his harebrained ideas will come to nothing."
"Review" by , "A darkly comic, self-attacking anti-memoir that in its better moments offers an acid critique of contemporary American culture and its twin obsessions: fame and riches....[W]hen Mr. Phillips hits his stride, he sustains some wonderful comedic riffs."
"Review" by , "This is the best book I've read about being in your twenties and trying to figure out what to do with your life, and that's not just because I'm in it. Something this funny shouldn't also be this profound; after laughing, crying, and cheering the cast, all I wanted was a bigger part."
"Review" by , "The Royal Nonesuch is very funny, far too real for comfort, and even, finally, life-affirming. To borrow a phrase from Mr. Phillips, reading this book is like getting kicked in the clams with a clown shoe. You double over, not sure whether you're laughing or crying, and then you want to kick the clown back, in the clams. That course of action won't be available to all readers, but I have Mr. Phillips's address, and I'm on my way now to the clown she store."
"Review" by , "Glasgow Phillips has harnessed vast observational and comedic talents for the purpose of waste, waste, and thrice waste — till now! The Royal Nonesuch is both a self-reckoning and a generational one, and Phillips fills this ridiculous, entertaining, crazy-ass morality tale with proof that he's a fancy pants literary type after all. Hooray!"
"Review" by , "A mundane account of a pampered kid trying to find himself that offers nothing particularly illuminating, artful or self-reflective."
"Synopsis" by , The Royal Nonesuch is the story of Phillips's rollercoaster ride through the twisted world of underground Hollywood and the funhouse of the Internet during the boom.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.