Minecraft Adventures B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Q&A | August 26, 2015

    Christopher Moore: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Christopher Moore



    Describe your latest book. Secondhand Souls is the sequel to my bestselling novel A Dirty Job, which was about a single dad in San Francisco who... Continue »
    1. $18.89 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      Secondhand Souls

      Christopher Moore 9780061779787

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$35.00
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
2 Remote Warehouse Photography- Technique

Jones Beach

by

Jones Beach Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Beginning in the early 1970s, Joseph Szabo started capturing the melting pot of humanity on Jones Beach, one of the busiest strips of sand and ocean in the world with more than six million visitors a year. Among the sea of bodies, Szabos camera reveals moments of both quiet introspection and unashamed exuberance. Images of tanned muscle men, catwalk-like displays of beach wear, heavily oiled skin, masses of sprayed hair, and shy adolescents all reveal the dynamics of the beach so close to New York City. Class, race, and other potential divisions are temporarily forgotten, and the perfect and the flawed are portrayed with the same respect and tenderness. Szabo is an internationally acclaimed artist whose last two books (Teenage, Almost Grown) have influenced and been admired by a whole generation of photographers. Fans of Szabo, Jones Beach, and people interested in beach culture in general will treasure this funny, sexy, lovely volume created over 35 years. 

 

Synopsis:

Beginning in the early 1970s, Szabo started capturing the melting pot of humanity on Jones Beach, a busy strip close to New York City. Among the sea of bodies, Szabo's camera reveals moments of both quiet introspection and unashamed exuberance.

Video

About the Author

Joseph Szabo taught photography at a Long Island, NY high school from 1972 to 1999, as well as at the International Center of Photography in New York for more than twenty years. His work resides in many permanent collections including the Museum of Modern Art, Metropolitan Museum of Art, ICP, the Bibliotheque National in Paris, and Yale University.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780810980167
Author:
Szabo, Joseph
Publisher:
Abrams Image
Introduction by:
Aletti, Vince
Introduction:
Aletti, Vince
Subject:
Individual Photographers - Monographs
Subject:
Subjects & Themes - Portraits
Subject:
Subjects & Themes - Lifestyles
Subject:
PHOTOGRAPHY / General
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Introduction by Vince Aletti
Publication Date:
20100431
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 8 up to 17
Language:
English
Illustrations:
80 black-and-white photographs
Pages:
112
Dimensions:
10 x 10 x 0.75 in
Age Level:
from 13 up to 99

Other books you might like

  1. Good House Cheap House: Adventures... Used Hardcover $9.95

Related Subjects

Arts and Entertainment » Humor » General
Arts and Entertainment » Photography » General
Arts and Entertainment » Photography » Individual Photographers » Monographs
Arts and Entertainment » Photography » Photographers
Arts and Entertainment » Photography » Subjects and Themes » Lifestyles
Travel » General

Jones Beach New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$35.00 In Stock
Product details 112 pages Abrams Image - English 9780810980167 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Beginning in the early 1970s, Szabo started capturing the melting pot of humanity on Jones Beach, a busy strip close to New York City. Among the sea of bodies, Szabo's camera reveals moments of both quiet introspection and unashamed exuberance.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

       
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.