The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 18, 2014

Lin Enger: IMG Knowing vs. Knowing



On a hot July evening years ago, my Toyota Tercel overheated on a flat stretch of highway north of Cedar Rapids, Iowa. A steam geyser shot up from... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The High Divide

    Lin Enger 9781616203757

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$1.50
List price: $13.50
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Local Warehouse Small Press- Fiction and Prose

This title in other editions

Small Town Punk

by

Small Town Punk Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Trapped in dreary Sarasota, Florida in the early 1980s — during Reagan's Morning in America, — going to high school with junior fascists by day, working at Pizza Hut by night, his family a dysfunctional nightmare, 17-year old Buzz Pepper feels that nothing matters in life beyond drinking, drugs and punk rock. As the country around him is becoming more conservative and corporate, and adulthood seems like the ultimate corrupt existence, Buzz can only find solace within a close-knit group of fellow disillusioned teens, which includes his devoted younger sister, Sissy.

As they drive around in Buzz's beat-up van, encountering redneck cops, mocking the local geezers, and wondering if there is any meaning in what seems to be a meaningless world, Small Town Punk perfectly captures how it is to be young, yet feel that you have no future.

Review:

"Small Town Punk is full of raw feeling and taut smart prose. John Sheppard gets that Reagan-era rage and humor just right. This novel is an ode to those kids at the dead-end jobs who knew that the Morning in America was really dusk at best, but had each other, a little weed, some beer, and gas." Sam Lipsyte

Review:

"Many of the situations in Sheppard's loosely linked, semiautobiographical stories are familiar, but they feel authentic and lived-in....Sheppard is at his best, though, when he's writing about the relationship between hapless Buzz and his she-who-must-be-obeyed little sister." Booklist

Review:

"Sheppard writes with a sharp pen about the landscape that defines Buzz's world. But Buzz progresses in the novel from someone torn between what to do with his life when he is 17 to someone who, on turning 18, still hasn't a clue." Chicago Sun-TimeS

Synopsis:

They hate their parents. They suffer going to high school with junior fascists. They wear secondhand clothes. They live in a secondhand world. In the tradition of Hairstyles of the Dammed and The Perks of Being a Wallflower, Small Town Punk is the brutally funny story of lost teenagers stuck in a nothing small town, drinking and doing drugs between shifts at dead-end fast food jobs while struggling to find meaning in their meaningless world.

Synopsis:

A Catcher in the Rye for the punk generation.

Synopsis:

"Small Town Punkis full of raw feeling and taut smart prose. John Sheppard gets that Reagan-era rage and humor just right. This novel is an ode to those kids at the dead-end jobs who knew that the Morning in America was really dusk at best, but had each other, a little weed, some beer, and gas.--Sam Lipsyte

Trapped in dreary Sarasota, Florida in the early 1980s-during Reagan's "Morning in America,"-going to high school with junior fascists by day, working at Pizza Hut by night, his family a dysfunctional nightmare, 17-year old Buzz Pepper feels that nothing matters in life beyond drinking, drugs and punk rock.

As the country around him is becoming more conservative and corporate, and adulthood seems like the ultimate corrupt existence, Buzz can only find solace within a close-knit group of fellow disillusioned teens, which includes his devoted younger sister, Sissy. As they drive around in Buzz's beat-up van, encountering redneck cops, mocking the local "geezers,"and wondering if there is any meaning in what seems to be a meaningless world, Small Town Punkperfectly captures how it is to be young, yet feel that you have no future.

In the tradition of Hairstyles of the Dammedand Perks of Being A Wallflower, Small Town Punkis a brutally funny and poignant coming of age story that brilliantly evokes the surging joy, confusion and rage of youth.

About the Author

A veteran of the U.S. Army, John Shepphard's short stories have appeared in Bridge magazine, the2ndhand and Exquisite Corpse. He has an MFA from the University of Florida, where he studied under Padgett Powell, Marjorie Sandor and Harry Crews. The original self-published edition of Small Town Punk sold over 2000 copies.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780977197255
Author:
Sheppard, John
Publisher:
Ig Publishing
Author:
Shepphard, John
Subject:
General
Subject:
Brothers and sisters
Subject:
Teenagers
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Publication Date:
20070231
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
188
Dimensions:
8 x 5.5 x 0.4 in 8 oz

Other books you might like

  1. Nothing Feels Good: Punk Rock,... Used Trade Paper $7.50
  2. Tales of a Punk Rock Nothing
    Used Trade Paper $3.95
  3. Hairstyles of the Damned
    Used Trade Paper $1.95
  4. It's Kind of a Funny Story
    Used Trade Paper $6.95
  5. The Perks of Being a Wallflower
    Used Trade Paper $6.50
  6. My So-Called Punk: Green Day, Fall... New Trade Paper $18.99

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Small Press » Fiction and Prose

Small Town Punk Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$1.50 In Stock
Product details 188 pages Ig Publishing - English 9780977197255 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Small Town Punk is full of raw feeling and taut smart prose. John Sheppard gets that Reagan-era rage and humor just right. This novel is an ode to those kids at the dead-end jobs who knew that the Morning in America was really dusk at best, but had each other, a little weed, some beer, and gas."
"Review" by , "Many of the situations in Sheppard's loosely linked, semiautobiographical stories are familiar, but they feel authentic and lived-in....Sheppard is at his best, though, when he's writing about the relationship between hapless Buzz and his she-who-must-be-obeyed little sister."
"Review" by , "Sheppard writes with a sharp pen about the landscape that defines Buzz's world. But Buzz progresses in the novel from someone torn between what to do with his life when he is 17 to someone who, on turning 18, still hasn't a clue."
"Synopsis" by , They hate their parents. They suffer going to high school with junior fascists. They wear secondhand clothes. They live in a secondhand world. In the tradition of Hairstyles of the Dammed and The Perks of Being a Wallflower, Small Town Punk is the brutally funny story of lost teenagers stuck in a nothing small town, drinking and doing drugs between shifts at dead-end fast food jobs while struggling to find meaning in their meaningless world.
"Synopsis" by ,
A Catcher in the Rye for the punk generation.
"Synopsis" by , "Small Town Punkis full of raw feeling and taut smart prose. John Sheppard gets that Reagan-era rage and humor just right. This novel is an ode to those kids at the dead-end jobs who knew that the Morning in America was really dusk at best, but had each other, a little weed, some beer, and gas.--Sam Lipsyte

Trapped in dreary Sarasota, Florida in the early 1980s-during Reagan's "Morning in America,"-going to high school with junior fascists by day, working at Pizza Hut by night, his family a dysfunctional nightmare, 17-year old Buzz Pepper feels that nothing matters in life beyond drinking, drugs and punk rock.

As the country around him is becoming more conservative and corporate, and adulthood seems like the ultimate corrupt existence, Buzz can only find solace within a close-knit group of fellow disillusioned teens, which includes his devoted younger sister, Sissy. As they drive around in Buzz's beat-up van, encountering redneck cops, mocking the local "geezers,"and wondering if there is any meaning in what seems to be a meaningless world, Small Town Punkperfectly captures how it is to be young, yet feel that you have no future.

In the tradition of Hairstyles of the Dammedand Perks of Being A Wallflower, Small Town Punkis a brutally funny and poignant coming of age story that brilliantly evokes the surging joy, confusion and rage of youth.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.