Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Best Books of the Year | December 7, 2014

    Gigi Little: IMG Best Kids' Books of 2014



    No, I'm sorry, it's impossible. The best kids' books of 2014? The best? Can't do it. There have been entirely too many exceptional examples of the... Continue »
    1. $11.87 Sale Board Book add to wish list

      Countablock

      Christopher Franceschelli and Peskimo 9781419713743

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Literature- A to Z

Windy City: A Novel of Politics

by

Windy City: A Novel of Politics Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The acclaimed author of the intensely powerful novel Pretty Birds, Scott Simon now gives us a story that is both laugh-out-loud funny and heart-piercing — as sprawling and brawling as Chicago, where politics is a contact sport.

The mayor of Chicago is found in his office late at night, sitting in his boxer shorts, facedown dead in a pizza. The mayor was a hero and a rascal: dynamic, charming, ingenious, corruptible, and a masterly manipulator. The city mourns. But it's discovered that the mayor was murdered — shortly after he may have begun to squeal on some of his colleagues at City Hall. Over the next four days, police race to find the mayor's killer, while the politicians who bemoan his passing scramble for his throne.

At the center is Sundaran "Sunny" Roopini, forty-eight, alderman of the Forty-eighth Ward, and vice-mayor. Sunny is an Indian immigrant, a restaurant owner, and a recent widower. He is getting tired of politics and wants to hold on just long enough to do the best for his two restive teenage daughters. But as acting interim mayor for a few days, Sunny must deal with forty-nine other aldermen who have their own clashing ambitions.

How will Sunny do what's best for both his family and city in a time of crisis?

As The Last Hurrah embodied urban politics for a previous generation, Windy City captures politics in the multiethnic tumult of today's big city, where a stalled subway raises fears of a terrorist attack and smoke-filled rooms are abolished by no-smoking statutes. The story takes a raft of colorful characters — pinky-ringed pols, pious reformers, money-grubbers, and wheeler-dealers of every creed, color, and proclivity — through City Hall corridors, neighborhood restaurants and clubs, weddings, sex scandals, gospel churches, police stations, and sting operations to deliver an ending that is unexpectedly noble.

Windy City is a roller coaster of a novel that dips and soars through the amusement park of politics. With echoes of Primary Colors and Thank You for Smoking, Windy City will win votes as the best political novel in many years. Its personal story — about a flawed, decent man thrust suddenly under hot lights — will also win hearts.

Review:

"In his second novel, the host of National Public Radio's Weekend Edition paints a detailed portrait of Chicago politics, beginning with the sudden death of the mayor. The focus quickly shifts to Indian vice-mayor Sunny Roopini, who must assuage a traumatized electorate while laying down a few paving stones for the mayor's successor. Matters are further complicated when the police discover deadly amounts of liquid nicotine on the late mayor's pizza, a revelation that inspires a mayoral staffer to leap from his apartment window. Roopini's brief interim mayorship proves to be a minefield of favors, accommodations and downright extortion — the latter by a U.S. Attorney determined to dig up any ethical hiccup he can. The suffocating political life is enough to beckon Roopini toward retirement (particularly with his two daughters on the cusp of adulthood), but the city doesn't seem willing to let him go. The proceedings can be fascinating, but Simon is too attached to his (admittedly impressive) descriptive powers, dragging the narrative through a swamp of mannerisms, fashion sketches, culinary processes and (especially) political maneuvering. Politics junkies will get off on the detail, but readers with less than a passing interest in the sausage-making that goes on at City Hall may be frustrated." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Review:

"The Chicago metropolitan area, with a total population of about 9 million people, is now home to more than half a million Mexicans. Another 130,000 residents come from Poland, while 70,000 are originally from India and 60,000 from the Philippines. The metro area also supports significant immigrant populations from Italy, South Korea, Ethiopia, Iran, Guatemala, Nigeria, Syria and who knows how many... Washington Post Book Review (read the entire Washington Post review)

Synopsis:

For readers who loved Primary Colors and Thank You for Smoking comes this wise and funny novel of politics — Chicago-style — from NPR anchor and national bestselling author Simon.

About the Author

Scott Simon is the host of NPR's Weekend Edition with Scott Simon. He has reported stories from all fifty states and every continent, covered ten wars, from El Salvador to Iraq, and has won every major award in broadcasting. He is the author of Home and Away, a memoir; Jackie Robinson and the Integration of Baseball; and the novel Pretty Birds. He lives with his wife, Caroline, and their daughters, Elise and Lina.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781400065578
Subtitle:
A Novel of Politics
Author:
Simon, Scott
Publisher:
Random House
Subject:
Political
Subject:
Humorous
Subject:
Death
Subject:
Mayors
Subject:
Humorous fiction
Subject:
Political fiction
Subject:
General Fiction
Copyright:
Publication Date:
March 11, 2008
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
432
Dimensions:
9.38x6.50x1.45 in. 1.43 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Thank You for Smoking Used Trade Paper $4.95
  2. Primary Colors: A Novel of Politics Used Mass Market $1.00
  3. The Canyon of Bones (Skye's West) New Mass Market $5.99
  4. Lush Life
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  5. Blood Kin
    Used Trade Paper $3.50
  6. Guernica: A Novel
    Used Trade Paper $7.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

Windy City: A Novel of Politics Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.95 In Stock
Product details 432 pages Random House - English 9781400065578 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "In his second novel, the host of National Public Radio's Weekend Edition paints a detailed portrait of Chicago politics, beginning with the sudden death of the mayor. The focus quickly shifts to Indian vice-mayor Sunny Roopini, who must assuage a traumatized electorate while laying down a few paving stones for the mayor's successor. Matters are further complicated when the police discover deadly amounts of liquid nicotine on the late mayor's pizza, a revelation that inspires a mayoral staffer to leap from his apartment window. Roopini's brief interim mayorship proves to be a minefield of favors, accommodations and downright extortion — the latter by a U.S. Attorney determined to dig up any ethical hiccup he can. The suffocating political life is enough to beckon Roopini toward retirement (particularly with his two daughters on the cusp of adulthood), but the city doesn't seem willing to let him go. The proceedings can be fascinating, but Simon is too attached to his (admittedly impressive) descriptive powers, dragging the narrative through a swamp of mannerisms, fashion sketches, culinary processes and (especially) political maneuvering. Politics junkies will get off on the detail, but readers with less than a passing interest in the sausage-making that goes on at City Hall may be frustrated." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by , For readers who loved Primary Colors and Thank You for Smoking comes this wise and funny novel of politics — Chicago-style — from NPR anchor and national bestselling author Simon.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.