Poetry Madness
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Q&A | February 27, 2014

Rene Denfeld: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Rene Denfeld



Describe your latest book. The Enchanted is a story narrated by a man on death row. The novel was inspired by my work as a death penalty... Continue »
  1. $18.19 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Enchanted

    Rene Denfeld 9780062285508

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.95
List price: $17.99
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
3 Beaverton Children's Young Adult- General

More copies of this ISBN

The Summer I Turned Pretty

by

The Summer I Turned Pretty Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The eagerly anticipated follow-up to My Life Next Door is a magnetic, push-me-pull-me summer romance for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han.

Gwen Castle's Biggest Mistake Ever, Cassidy Somers, is slumming it as a yard boy on her idyllic Nantucket-esque island this summer. He's a rich kid from across the bridge in Stony Bay, and she hails from a family of fishermen and housecleaners who keep the island's summer people happy. Gwen worries a life of cleaning houses will be her fate too, but just when it looks like she'll never escape her past--or the island--Gwen's dad gives her some shocking advice. Sparks fly and secret histories unspool as Gwen spends a gorgeous, restless summer struggling to resolve what she thought was true--about the place she lives, the people she loves, and even herself--with what really is.

Huntley Fitzpatrick delivers another enticing summer read full of expectation and regret, humor and hard questions, and a romance that will make every reader swoon.

Review:

"This well-written coming-of-age story introduces 15-year-old Isabel, aka Belly, for whom summer has always been the most important time of year: it's when her family shares a beach house with her mother's best friend, Susannah, and her two sons. Like Belly's older brother, Steven, Susannah's boys have always thought of Belly as their younger sister. But this summer — 'It was the summer everything began' — is different. One brother, Jeremiah, is suddenly interested in Belly, but she has always had a crush on dark and unattainable Conrad. And then there is Cam, also spending the summer at the beach, who becomes Belly's first boyfriend. Han (Shug) realistically balances Belly's navet with her awareness of the changes the years have brought ('In some ways it was even harder being the only girl back then. In some ways not'). Anecdotal chapters of past summers are interspersed, rounding out Belly's character, her attachment to Susannah and her desire for the boys to include her. First in a planned trilogy, Han's novel offers plenty of summertime drama to keep readers looking forward to the next installment. Ages 12 — up." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

Some summers are just destined to be pretty

Belly measures her life in summers. Everything good, everything magical happens between the months of June and August. Winters are simply a time to count the weeks until the next summer, a place away from the beach house, away from Susannah, and most importantly, away from Jeremiah and Conrad. They are the boys that Belly has known since her very first summer — they have been her brother figures, her crushes, and everything in between. But one summer, one wonderful and terrible summer, the more everything changes, the more it all ends up just the way it should have been all along.

Synopsis:

Bellyand#8217;s never been the kind of girl that things happen to. Year after year, sheand#8217;s spent her summers at the beach house with Conrad and Jeremiah. The boys never noticed Belly noticing them. And every summer she hoped it would be different. This time, it was. But the summer Belly turned pretty was the summer that changed everything. For better, and for worse.

About the Author

Jenny Han — Han like Hawn, Goldie; or Han Solo — was born and raised in Richmond, Virginia. She graduated from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (Go Carolina!) and earned an MFA in writing for children at New School University. She enjoys cupcakes, Scrabble, and hip-hop music. She lives in New York City. This is her first novel.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781416968238
Author:
Han, Jenny
Publisher:
Simon and Schuster Books for Young Readers
Author:
Fitzpatrick, Huntley
Subject:
General
Subject:
Vacation homes
Subject:
Beaches
Subject:
General Juvenile Fiction
Subject:
Family - General
Subject:
Social Issues - Friendship
Subject:
Social Issues - Adolescence
Subject:
Friendship
Subject:
Coming of age
Subject:
Bildungsromans
Subject:
Children s-General
Subject:
Love & Romance
Subject:
Summer; Belly; Jeremiah; Conrad; Cousins Beach; beach house; love; romance; crush; Jenny Han; first date; ocean; swimming; sun; beach
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardback
Series:
Summer I Turned Pretty, The
Publication Date:
20090505
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
from 9
Language:
English
Illustrations:
f-c jacket
Pages:
288
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in
Age Level:
08-12

Other books you might like

  1. Starclimber
    New Trade Paper $9.99
  2. Heroes of the Valley (Heroes of the...
    Used Trade Paper $6.50
  3. The Ghosts of Kerfol Used Trade Paper $0.95
  4. King of the Screwups
    New Trade Paper $7.99
  5. Red Moon at Sharpsburg Used Book Club Paperback $1.95
  6. Broken Soup New Hardcover $16.99

Related Subjects

Children's » General
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Adolescence
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Friendship
Young Adult » General

The Summer I Turned Pretty Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.95 In Stock
Product details 288 pages Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing - English 9781416968238 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "This well-written coming-of-age story introduces 15-year-old Isabel, aka Belly, for whom summer has always been the most important time of year: it's when her family shares a beach house with her mother's best friend, Susannah, and her two sons. Like Belly's older brother, Steven, Susannah's boys have always thought of Belly as their younger sister. But this summer — 'It was the summer everything began' — is different. One brother, Jeremiah, is suddenly interested in Belly, but she has always had a crush on dark and unattainable Conrad. And then there is Cam, also spending the summer at the beach, who becomes Belly's first boyfriend. Han (Shug) realistically balances Belly's navet with her awareness of the changes the years have brought ('In some ways it was even harder being the only girl back then. In some ways not'). Anecdotal chapters of past summers are interspersed, rounding out Belly's character, her attachment to Susannah and her desire for the boys to include her. First in a planned trilogy, Han's novel offers plenty of summertime drama to keep readers looking forward to the next installment. Ages 12 — up." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by ,

Some summers are just destined to be pretty

Belly measures her life in summers. Everything good, everything magical happens between the months of June and August. Winters are simply a time to count the weeks until the next summer, a place away from the beach house, away from Susannah, and most importantly, away from Jeremiah and Conrad. They are the boys that Belly has known since her very first summer — they have been her brother figures, her crushes, and everything in between. But one summer, one wonderful and terrible summer, the more everything changes, the more it all ends up just the way it should have been all along.

"Synopsis" by , Bellyand#8217;s never been the kind of girl that things happen to. Year after year, sheand#8217;s spent her summers at the beach house with Conrad and Jeremiah. The boys never noticed Belly noticing them. And every summer she hoped it would be different. This time, it was. But the summer Belly turned pretty was the summer that changed everything. For better, and for worse.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.