Signed Edition Sweepstakes
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 30, 2014

Brian Doyle: IMG The Rude Burl of Our Masks



One day when I was 12 years old and setting off on my newspaper route after school my mom said will you stop at the doctor's and pick up something... Continue »
  1. $13.27 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

    Children and Other Wild Animals

    Brian Doyle 9780870717543

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$10.50
List price: $14.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Self Help- Anxiety and Phobias
2 Hawthorne Psychology- Anxiety and Obsessive Compulsive Disorder

Coping with Anxiety: 10 Simple Ways to Relieve Anxiety, Fear & Worry

by

Coping with Anxiety: 10 Simple Ways to Relieve Anxiety, Fear & Worry Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In the tradition of their highly successful A Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction Workbook, Bob Stahl and Elisha Goldstein present a unique, accessible collection of daily practices to help readers stay grounded in the here and now.

 
Stress is a part of daily life, but over time it can cause us to feel anxious, irritable, and overwhelmed. So how can you keep stress from getting the best of you and avoid total burnout? The key to maintaining balance in life is to respond to stress with genuine, nonjudgmental awareness of our bodies and minds. Drawing on the ancient wisdom of mindfulness, this practical guide will show you tons of little ways you can overcome stress every day—no matter what life throws your way.

 
The mindfulness strategies in this book are inspired by mindfulness-based stress reduction (MBSR), a clinically proven program developed by Jon Kabat-Zinn. Research has shown that MBSR is effective in alleviating a number of health and mental health conditions, including stress, anxiety, panic, depression, chronic pain, and more. This important book works wonderfully on its own, or can be used in conjunction with A Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction Workbook.

 
If you are ready to permanently change the way you handle stress, gain powerful inspiration, and live more fully in the moment, this book is the perfect guide.

Synopsis:

In ten simple steps, the author of The Anxiety and Phobia Workbook explains this proven program that help readers relieve anxiety, fear, and worry by taking a sensible, clinically based approach to overcoming the problem.

Synopsis:

Introduces a sensible, clinically proven approach to the treatment of anxiety that presents ten simple steps to relieving the problem and maintaining an anxiety-free life, in a program that includes helpful exercises, relaxation techniques, and more. Original.

Synopsis:

Stress takes a serious toll on health, leading to anxiety, depression, weight gain, and even disease. In the tradition of A Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction Workbook, Bob Stahl and Elisha Goldstein present daily MBSR practices that readers can use every day to stay grounded in the here and now. Drawing on the ancient wisdom of mindfulness, MBSR Every Day is the only book that helps readers integrate MBSR into their daily lives—leading to better stress management, personal inspiration and fulfillment, and awareness of each moment.

Synopsis:

These immediate, user-friendly, and effective strategies are designed to help you overcome anxiety. They include step-by-step exercises that you can do in the moment without having to understand the subtleties of the most often used therapies for treating anxiety.

Synopsis:

Want quick, effective and easy-to-learn solutions to problem anxiety? Coping with Anxiety offers the most effective strategies for overcoming the physical, mental, and emotional symptoms of anxiety, distilled into ten clear and simple solutions.

Each of the ten solutions includes step-by-step exercises for combating a particular feature of anxiety, written in a concise, reader-friendly style. Each of the strategies provides something you can do in the moment, without having to work through the finer points of the most often used therapies for treating anxiety: cognitive therapy and desensitization.

Theoretical text is limited to that information necessary for understanding the goal of the solutions, which include body relaxation, mental relaxation, facing fears, changing diet, turning off worry, and much more.

About the Author

Edmund J. Bourne, PhD, is a psychologist in northern California specializing in the treatment of anxiety disorders and related problems. He is author of several books, including the bestselling Anxiety and Phobia Workbook, that have reached hundreds of thousands of people throughout the world. He welcomes comments and feedback, which can be sent to edbourne@globalshiftnow.com.
Lorna Garano is a freelance writer and editor living in Oakland, CA.

Table of Contents

Product Details

ISBN:
9781572243200
Author:
Bourne, Edmund J
Publisher:
New Harbinger Publications
Author:
Bourne, Edmund J.
Author:
Garano, Lorna
Author:
Stahl, Bob
Author:
Goldstein, Elisha
Location:
Oakland, CA
Subject:
General
Subject:
Self-help techniques
Subject:
Mental health
Subject:
Mood Disorders
Subject:
Anxiety
Subject:
Fear
Subject:
Worry
Subject:
Self-Help : General
Subject:
Stress Management
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Series Volume:
2001-211038
Publication Date:
20030431
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
224
Dimensions:
7 x 5 in

Other books you might like

  1. Physik: Septimus Heap, Book Three...
    Used Hardcover $3.95
  2. Everyone Worth Knowing Used Trade Paper $1.50
  3. The Devil Wears Prada
    Used Trade Paper $2.50
  4. The Dark Hills Divide: The Land of...
    Used Hardcover $2.50
  5. Chronicles of Ancient Darkness #02:...
    Used Trade Paper $4.95
  6. Magyk: Septimus Heap, Book One...
    Used Trade Paper $1.50

Related Subjects


Health and Self-Help » Child Care and Parenting » General
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » General
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » General Medicine
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » Stress
Health and Self-Help » Psychology » Anxiety and Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Health and Self-Help » Psychology » General
Health and Self-Help » Self-Help » Anxiety and Phobias
Health and Self-Help » Self-Help » General
Metaphysics » Healing

Coping with Anxiety: 10 Simple Ways to Relieve Anxiety, Fear & Worry Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$10.50 In Stock
Product details 224 pages New Harbinger Publications - English 9781572243200 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
In ten simple steps, the author of The Anxiety and Phobia Workbook explains this proven program that help readers relieve anxiety, fear, and worry by taking a sensible, clinically based approach to overcoming the problem.
"Synopsis" by , Introduces a sensible, clinically proven approach to the treatment of anxiety that presents ten simple steps to relieving the problem and maintaining an anxiety-free life, in a program that includes helpful exercises, relaxation techniques, and more. Original.
"Synopsis" by ,
Stress takes a serious toll on health, leading to anxiety, depression, weight gain, and even disease. In the tradition of A Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction Workbook, Bob Stahl and Elisha Goldstein present daily MBSR practices that readers can use every day to stay grounded in the here and now. Drawing on the ancient wisdom of mindfulness, MBSR Every Day is the only book that helps readers integrate MBSR into their daily lives—leading to better stress management, personal inspiration and fulfillment, and awareness of each moment.
"Synopsis" by ,

These immediate, user-friendly, and effective strategies are designed to help you overcome anxiety. They include step-by-step exercises that you can do in the moment without having to understand the subtleties of the most often used therapies for treating anxiety.

"Synopsis" by ,

Want quick, effective and easy-to-learn solutions to problem anxiety? Coping with Anxiety offers the most effective strategies for overcoming the physical, mental, and emotional symptoms of anxiety, distilled into ten clear and simple solutions.

Each of the ten solutions includes step-by-step exercises for combating a particular feature of anxiety, written in a concise, reader-friendly style. Each of the strategies provides something you can do in the moment, without having to work through the finer points of the most often used therapies for treating anxiety: cognitive therapy and desensitization.

Theoretical text is limited to that information necessary for understanding the goal of the solutions, which include body relaxation, mental relaxation, facing fears, changing diet, turning off worry, and much more.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.