Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Interviews | September 2, 2014

    Jill Owens: IMG David Mitchell: The Powells.com Interview



    David Mitchell's newest mind-bending, time-skipping novel may be his most accomplished work yet. Written in six sections, one per decade, The Bone... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$10.50
List price: $14.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Self Help- Anxiety and Phobias
2 Hawthorne Psychology- Anxiety and Obsessive Compulsive Disorder

Coping with Anxiety: 10 Simple Ways to Relieve Anxiety, Fear & Worry

by

Coping with Anxiety: 10 Simple Ways to Relieve Anxiety, Fear & Worry Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In the tradition of their highly successful A Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction Workbook, Bob Stahl and Elisha Goldstein present a unique, accessible collection of daily practices to help readers stay grounded in the here and now.

 
Stress is a part of daily life, but over time it can cause us to feel anxious, irritable, and overwhelmed. So how can you keep stress from getting the best of you and avoid total burnout? The key to maintaining balance in life is to respond to stress with genuine, nonjudgmental awareness of our bodies and minds. Drawing on the ancient wisdom of mindfulness, this practical guide will show you tons of little ways you can overcome stress every day—no matter what life throws your way.

 
The mindfulness strategies in this book are inspired by mindfulness-based stress reduction (MBSR), a clinically proven program developed by Jon Kabat-Zinn. Research has shown that MBSR is effective in alleviating a number of health and mental health conditions, including stress, anxiety, panic, depression, chronic pain, and more. This important book works wonderfully on its own, or can be used in conjunction with A Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction Workbook.

 
If you are ready to permanently change the way you handle stress, gain powerful inspiration, and live more fully in the moment, this book is the perfect guide.

Synopsis:

In ten simple steps, the author of The Anxiety and Phobia Workbook explains this proven program that help readers relieve anxiety, fear, and worry by taking a sensible, clinically based approach to overcoming the problem.

Synopsis:

Introduces a sensible, clinically proven approach to the treatment of anxiety that presents ten simple steps to relieving the problem and maintaining an anxiety-free life, in a program that includes helpful exercises, relaxation techniques, and more. Original.

Synopsis:

Stress takes a serious toll on health, leading to anxiety, depression, weight gain, and even disease. In the tradition of A Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction Workbook, Bob Stahl and Elisha Goldstein present daily MBSR practices that readers can use every day to stay grounded in the here and now. Drawing on the ancient wisdom of mindfulness, MBSR Every Day is the only book that helps readers integrate MBSR into their daily lives—leading to better stress management, personal inspiration and fulfillment, and awareness of each moment.

Synopsis:

Drawing on the author's training and clinical experience in Cognitive-Behavioral therapy,and#160;The Anxiety Toolkitand#160;offers actionable strategies that anyone can use to manage their anxiety--both personal and professional.

Anxious people often think a great deal about why they think and behave the way they do. They seek self-improvement information yet often get stuck in applying it. They read popular self-help books for anxiety, but these books are highly simplified, to the extent readers canand#8217;t make the leap from the examples in the books to their more complex real world problems.and#160;They turn toand#160;business books because theyand#8217;re motivated to achieve greater success, but since these books donand#8217;t address the reasons anxious people get stuck, theyand#8217;re not especially helpful.

and#160;

The Anxiety Toolkit provides the information anxious people look for but can't find. It draws on extensive social psychology research, and the author's training and clinical experience in Cognitive-Behavioral psychology, addressing the core problems that impede people who are anxious--inhibition, biased thinking, rumination, intolerance of uncertainty, excessive responsibility taking, self-criticism, perfectionism, and avoidance coping--and providing readersand#160;with the tools to manage these tendencies.

Synopsis:

These immediate, user-friendly, and effective strategies are designed to help you overcome anxiety. They include step-by-step exercises that you can do in the moment without having to understand the subtleties of the most often used therapies for treating anxiety.

About the Author

Edmund J. Bourne, PhD, is a psychologist in northern California specializing in the treatment of anxiety disorders and related problems. He is author of several books, including the bestselling Anxiety and Phobia Workbook, that have reached hundreds of thousands of people throughout the world. He welcomes comments and feedback, which can be sent to edbourne@globalshiftnow.com.
Lorna Garano is a freelance writer and editor living in Oakland, CA.

Table of Contents

Product Details

ISBN:
9781572243200
Author:
Bourne, Edmund J
Publisher:
New Harbinger Publications
Author:
Bourne, Edmund J.
Author:
Boyes, Ph.D, Alice
Author:
Garano, Lorna
Author:
Alice Boyes, Ph.D
Author:
Stahl, Bob
Author:
Goldstein, Elisha
Location:
Oakland, CA
Subject:
General
Subject:
Self-help techniques
Subject:
Mental health
Subject:
Mood Disorders
Subject:
Anxiety
Subject:
Fear
Subject:
Worry
Subject:
Self-Help : General
Subject:
Stress Management
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Series Volume:
2001-211038
Publication Date:
20030431
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Illustrations:
pagination tent
Pages:
256
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. Physik: Septimus Heap, Book Three...
    Used Hardcover $7.50
  2. Everyone Worth Knowing Used Trade Paper $0.95
  3. The Devil Wears Prada
    Used Trade Paper $2.50
  4. The Dark Hills Divide: The Land of...
    Used Hardcover $2.50
  5. Chronicles of Ancient Darkness #02:...
    Used Trade Paper $4.95
  6. Magyk: Septimus Heap, Book One...
    Used Trade Paper $1.50

Related Subjects


Health and Self-Help » Child Care and Parenting » General
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » General
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » General Medicine
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » Stress
Health and Self-Help » Psychology » Anxiety and Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Health and Self-Help » Psychology » General
Health and Self-Help » Self-Help » Anxiety and Phobias
Health and Self-Help » Self-Help » General
Metaphysics » Healing

Coping with Anxiety: 10 Simple Ways to Relieve Anxiety, Fear & Worry Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$10.50 In Stock
Product details 256 pages New Harbinger Publications - English 9781572243200 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
In ten simple steps, the author of The Anxiety and Phobia Workbook explains this proven program that help readers relieve anxiety, fear, and worry by taking a sensible, clinically based approach to overcoming the problem.
"Synopsis" by , Introduces a sensible, clinically proven approach to the treatment of anxiety that presents ten simple steps to relieving the problem and maintaining an anxiety-free life, in a program that includes helpful exercises, relaxation techniques, and more. Original.
"Synopsis" by ,
Stress takes a serious toll on health, leading to anxiety, depression, weight gain, and even disease. In the tradition of A Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction Workbook, Bob Stahl and Elisha Goldstein present daily MBSR practices that readers can use every day to stay grounded in the here and now. Drawing on the ancient wisdom of mindfulness, MBSR Every Day is the only book that helps readers integrate MBSR into their daily lives—leading to better stress management, personal inspiration and fulfillment, and awareness of each moment.
"Synopsis" by ,
Drawing on the author's training and clinical experience in Cognitive-Behavioral therapy,and#160;The Anxiety Toolkitand#160;offers actionable strategies that anyone can use to manage their anxiety--both personal and professional.

Anxious people often think a great deal about why they think and behave the way they do. They seek self-improvement information yet often get stuck in applying it. They read popular self-help books for anxiety, but these books are highly simplified, to the extent readers canand#8217;t make the leap from the examples in the books to their more complex real world problems.and#160;They turn toand#160;business books because theyand#8217;re motivated to achieve greater success, but since these books donand#8217;t address the reasons anxious people get stuck, theyand#8217;re not especially helpful.

and#160;

The Anxiety Toolkit provides the information anxious people look for but can't find. It draws on extensive social psychology research, and the author's training and clinical experience in Cognitive-Behavioral psychology, addressing the core problems that impede people who are anxious--inhibition, biased thinking, rumination, intolerance of uncertainty, excessive responsibility taking, self-criticism, perfectionism, and avoidance coping--and providing readersand#160;with the tools to manage these tendencies.

"Synopsis" by ,

These immediate, user-friendly, and effective strategies are designed to help you overcome anxiety. They include step-by-step exercises that you can do in the moment without having to understand the subtleties of the most often used therapies for treating anxiety.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.