Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Best Books of the Year | December 7, 2014

    Gigi Little: IMG Best Kids' Books of 2014



    No, I'm sorry, it's impossible. The best kids' books of 2014? The best? Can't do it. There have been entirely too many exceptional examples of the... Continue »
    1. $11.87 Sale Board Book add to wish list

      Countablock

      Christopher Franceschelli and Peskimo 9781419713743

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$7.95
List price: $17.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Beaverton Psychology- Biography
23 Local Warehouse Psychology- Mood Disorders and Depression

Prozac Nation: Young and Depressed in America

by

Prozac Nation: Young and Depressed in America Cover

ISBN13: 9781573225120
ISBN10: 1573225126
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

"A book that became a cultural touchstone." — The New Yorker

Elizabeth Wurtzel writes with her finger in the faint pulse of an overdiagnosed generation whose ruling icons are Kurt Cobain, Xanax, and pierced tongues. In this famous memoir of her bouts with depression and skirmishes with drugs, Prozac Nation is a witty and sharp account of the psychopharmacology of an era for readers of Girl, Interrupted and Sylvia Plath's The Bell Jar.

 

Synopsis:

Painful, poignant, and ultimately triumphant, Prozac Nation is Elizabeth Wurtzel's catharsis--a cry of rage at the chronic depression which has dominated most of her young life. "A powerful portrait of one girl's journey through the purgatory of depression".--The New York Times.

About the Author

Elizabeth Wurtzel is the author of bestselling books including Prozac Nation, Bitch, and More, Now, Again. A Harvard and Yale Law School graduate whose work has appeared in such publications as The New Yorker, New York, The Guardian, and The Oxford American, she lives in New York City.

Table of Contents

Prologue: I Hate Myself and I Want to Die

1. Full of Promise

2. Secret Life

3. Love Kills

4. Broken

5. Black Wave

6. Happy Pills

7. Drinking in Dallas

8. Space, Time, and Motion

9. Down Deep

10. Blank Girl

11. Good Morning Headache

12. The Accidental Blowjob

13. Woke Up This Morning Afraid I Was Gonna Live

14. Think of Pretty Things

Epilogue: Prozac Nation

Afterword (1995)

Acknowledgments

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

snldivastar88, November 27, 2006 (view all comments by snldivastar88)
this book seems to have a very powerful message.. We all know everyone has felt a form of such saddness in their life, though some more than others with no other way of expressing such one's self... This book says to me what others would like to hear.. "i feel pain too.. I know what you are feeling now.. its ok to feel sad i do too.." almost as if the book is talking to me through its magnificant wording structure.. I would love to have this book for myself...
~ashleigh~
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(22 of 41 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9781573225120
Author:
Wurtzel, Elizabeth
Publisher:
Riverhead Books
Author:
Wurtzel
Location:
New York, N.Y. :
Subject:
Women
Subject:
Specific Groups
Subject:
United states
Subject:
Depression
Subject:
Pathological Psychology
Subject:
Depression, mental
Subject:
Depressed persons
Subject:
Depressed persons -- United States -- Biography.
Subject:
Abnormal Psychology
Subject:
Psychopathology - General
Subject:
Specific Groups - General
Subject:
Fantasy - General
Subject:
Depressed persons - United States
Subject:
Wurtzel, Elizabeth - Mental health
Subject:
Biography - General
Subject:
Biography-Women
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Paperback / softback
Series Volume:
no. 7
Publication Date:
19951031
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Yes
Pages:
384
Dimensions:
8.00x5.24x1.08 in. .67 lbs.
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. Please Don't Kill the Freshman
    Used Pamphlet $6.50
  2. Girl, Interrupted
    Used Hardcover $4.95
  3. Hermione Used Trade Paper $5.95
  4. Stick Figure: A Diary of My Former Self Used Hardcover $5.50
  5. Lisa, Bright and Dark New Mass Market $5.99
  6. Prozac Diary Used Trade Paper $4.50

Related Subjects


Biography » Women
Health and Self-Help » Psychology » Biographies
Health and Self-Help » Psychology » General Disorders
Health and Self-Help » Psychology » Mood Disorders and Depression
Health and Self-Help » Self-Help » Depression
Health and Self-Help » Self-Help » General

Prozac Nation: Young and Depressed in America Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$7.95 In Stock
Product details 384 pages Riverhead Books,c1995. - English 9781573225120 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Painful, poignant, and ultimately triumphant, Prozac Nation is Elizabeth Wurtzel's catharsis--a cry of rage at the chronic depression which has dominated most of her young life. "A powerful portrait of one girl's journey through the purgatory of depression".--The New York Times.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.