The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 4, 2014

Edward E. Baptist: IMG The Two Bodies of The Half Has Never Been Told: Slavery and the Making of American Capitalism



My new book, The Half Has Never Been Told: Slavery and the Making of American Capitalism, is the story of two bodies. The first body was the new... Continue »
  1. $24.50 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$9.95
List price: $23.95
Used Hardcover
Usually ships in 5 to 7 business days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Qty Store Section
1 Remote Warehouse Literature- A to Z

Landsman

by

Landsman Cover

ISBN13: 9781582433677
ISBN10: 1582433674
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $9.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A stirring, evocative and unforgettable epic novel of the Civil War in the tradition of Cold Mountain and Widow of the South.In the summr of 1853, in Lafayette Co. Louisiana, eleven year old Elias Abrams loses his mother to yellow fever. Greif-stricken and alone he becomes embrioled in the street life of New Orleans. After being accused of a crime, in order to escape arrest, he enlists in the third Louisiana Regiment, where thousands of Jews will fight for the Confederacy. The chaos of life at the front is broken in the form of a letter written by a young woman to a soldier to lift his spirits. Elias's courtship of sweet Nora Bloom becomes heady with true romance and escapest longings.Before long Elias's past catches up with him and he realizes he must face his demons or lose the woman he loves. Peter Melman has crafted a riveting tale of redemption and romance in the midst of this nation's most bloody and convulsive confilct.

Synopsis:

New Orleans is not as he Remembers It. The Blend of Mediterranean hues and architecture, the two- and three-stories of masonry and stucco, the stone arches and loggias and courtyards and delicate wrought-iron gallery grillwork, all seem to possess a quaint peculiarity now, as though, cautiously disembarking the steamboat in the early morning air long after Special Officer Dalrymple, Abrams has arrived to foreign shores. The scores of French-speaking Orleonois strolling on the boulevards further add to the city's steamy exoticism, and with them, the notion that such exoticism inevitably fails in the face of sterner, domestic truths. Live oak limbs along the levees now give the impression of sagging more despondently toward earth, the bales of cotton that once clotted the docks, seemingly too spare in number. Where is the balm of memory, the soothing familiarity of past life and love? There, at the corner of Old Levee and Dumaine, where Abrams once held Angeline's hand in his and kissed her knuckles gently, for free, because she had asked him to. "Like you was my beau," she had said, suddenly shy. "Like we was groomed to be good, you'n me." Or there, before the St. Louis Cathedral, where General Jackson has sat warlike for the past five years astride his charger, a bronze reminder that battles may be fought for New Orleans, and lost. In the Summer of 1853, In Lafayette City, Louisiana, eleven-year-old Elias Abrams loses his mother to yellow fever. Grief-stricken and alone, he becomes embroiled in the street life of New Orleans. After Elias is falsely accused of a crime and in order to escape arrest a decade later, he enlists as a private in the Third Louisiana Regiment, where threethousand other Jews will ultimately fight for the Confederacy. The chaos of life at the front is broken in the form of a letter written by a young woman to "a soldier" in order to lift his spirits. Elia's courtship of sweet Nora Bloom becomes heady with true romance and escapist longings. Before long, though, Elias's past catches up with him, and he realizes that he must face his demons or lose the woman he loves. Peter Melman has crafted a riveting tale of redemption and romance in the midst of this nation's most bloody and convulsive conflict. Landsman is transfixing and transporting, as well wrought as any classic work of historical fiction.

Synopsis:

Melman has crafted a riveting tale of redemption and romance in the midst of this nations most bloody and convulsive conflict. Transfixing and transporting, this novel is as well wrought as any classic work of historical fiction.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Jess, June 5, 2007 (view all comments by Jess)
I have not (yet) read Landsman, but I know the author, Peter Melman. This is because he is my English teacher at Hunter College Hich School. I have read some of his short stories, and they show off his amazing sense of humor. Peter Melman (or Dr. Melman, as me and my peers call him,) is an awesome teacher and if you don't read this book, I assure you, you're missing out!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 4 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9781582433677
Author:
Melman, Peter Charles
Publisher:
Counterpoint LLC
Author:
Melman, Peter
Subject:
General
Subject:
History
Subject:
Jews
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Jews -- United States.
Subject:
Louisiana History Civil War, 1861-1865.
Subject:
Historical
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Edition Description:
Trade Cloth
Publication Date:
20070531
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Language:
English
Pages:
336
Dimensions:
9.25 x 6.13 in 21.8 oz

Other books you might like

  1. Justice Used Hardcover $2.95
  2. Goodnight Texas New Trade Paper $14.50
  3. The Lives of Rocks Used Trade Paper $6.50
  4. Satan in Goray Used Mass Market $3.50
  5. Preliminaries
    Used Hardcover $13.00
  6. The Law of Dreams
    Used Trade Paper $6.50

Related Subjects


Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Debut Fiction

Landsman Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$9.95 In Stock
Product details 336 pages Counterpoint LLC - English 9781582433677 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , New Orleans is not as he Remembers It. The Blend of Mediterranean hues and architecture, the two- and three-stories of masonry and stucco, the stone arches and loggias and courtyards and delicate wrought-iron gallery grillwork, all seem to possess a quaint peculiarity now, as though, cautiously disembarking the steamboat in the early morning air long after Special Officer Dalrymple, Abrams has arrived to foreign shores. The scores of French-speaking Orleonois strolling on the boulevards further add to the city's steamy exoticism, and with them, the notion that such exoticism inevitably fails in the face of sterner, domestic truths. Live oak limbs along the levees now give the impression of sagging more despondently toward earth, the bales of cotton that once clotted the docks, seemingly too spare in number. Where is the balm of memory, the soothing familiarity of past life and love? There, at the corner of Old Levee and Dumaine, where Abrams once held Angeline's hand in his and kissed her knuckles gently, for free, because she had asked him to. "Like you was my beau," she had said, suddenly shy. "Like we was groomed to be good, you'n me." Or there, before the St. Louis Cathedral, where General Jackson has sat warlike for the past five years astride his charger, a bronze reminder that battles may be fought for New Orleans, and lost. In the Summer of 1853, In Lafayette City, Louisiana, eleven-year-old Elias Abrams loses his mother to yellow fever. Grief-stricken and alone, he becomes embroiled in the street life of New Orleans. After Elias is falsely accused of a crime and in order to escape arrest a decade later, he enlists as a private in the Third Louisiana Regiment, where threethousand other Jews will ultimately fight for the Confederacy. The chaos of life at the front is broken in the form of a letter written by a young woman to "a soldier" in order to lift his spirits. Elia's courtship of sweet Nora Bloom becomes heady with true romance and escapist longings. Before long, though, Elias's past catches up with him, and he realizes that he must face his demons or lose the woman he loves. Peter Melman has crafted a riveting tale of redemption and romance in the midst of this nation's most bloody and convulsive conflict. Landsman is transfixing and transporting, as well wrought as any classic work of historical fiction.
"Synopsis" by , Melman has crafted a riveting tale of redemption and romance in the midst of this nations most bloody and convulsive conflict. Transfixing and transporting, this novel is as well wrought as any classic work of historical fiction.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.