Signed Edition Sweepstakes
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 30, 2014

Brian Doyle: IMG The Rude Burl of Our Masks



One day when I was 12 years old and setting off on my newspaper route after school my mom said will you stop at the doctor's and pick up something... Continue »
  1. $13.27 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

    Children and Other Wild Animals

    Brian Doyle 9780870717543

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$6.50
List price: $25.00
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Local Warehouse Spirituality- General

Roll around Heaven: An All-True Accidental Spiritual Adventure

by

Roll around Heaven: An All-True Accidental Spiritual Adventure Cover

ISBN13: 9781582702360
ISBN10: 1582702365
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $6.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Chronicling nearly two decades of Jessica Maxwell's all-true accidental spiritual adventure and filled with astonishing stories, witty insights, and breathtaking revelations, Roll Around Heaven will surely inspire each reader to embrace the power of the divine in his or her own life.

An adventure writer by trade, Jessica had never given God a second thought until, as she describes it, "He/She/It grabbed me by the ear, marched me into the divine principal's office, and told me to quit goofing off and start paying attention." On her amazing journey, Jessica travels the globe on magazine sporting assignments, only to end up talking about God with Islamic women in Dubai, chasing away evil spirits in a Himalayan hotel, and receiving Celtic revelations on the holy isle of Iona.

Jessica soon learns that her earthbound goals are mere day hikes compared to her soaring ascent to heaven on earth. Spiced with humor, rich with original insight, tart with irreverence, and sweetened with compassion for the modern pilgrim, Roll Around Heaven offers readers a perfect recipe for spiritual success in a chronically baffling world.

Review:

"Successful magazine travel writer Maxwell didn't intend to write a book about spirituality. The author of books on golf, fishing and other nature adventures claimed an 'allergy to religion,' yet spirituality seemed to find her anyway. After stumbling upon a lovable pig farmer/spiritual teacher, the self-proclaimed spiritual klutz finds herself wading through adventures with auras, demons, psychics and Jesus. In this book, Maxwell catalogs 16 years of spiritual experiences. The reader is taken through her quest for peace and understanding as she discovers that, regardless of the path, all religions call for loving others. Maxwell draws on religious symbolism from all world religions and quotes everyone from C.S. Lewis to Ramakrishna; the book is essentially spiritual and syncretistic. Readers who find Maxwell more superstitious than authentic should still appreciate her distinctive writing style. Her training as a nature writer allows her to see an experience from the outside in a way inward-looking spiritual writers often cannot. Her cheeky-to-chaste style is both conversational and controlled. Readers will enjoy watching this 'former spiritual dodo-brain' discover beauty beyond nature." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Review:

"Forget about searching for the divine only in dusty old churches. In Roll Around Heaven, Jessica Maxwell proves you can stumble into a state of grace in a baseball stadium, on a pig farm, or even while lumbering down a freeway." David Oliver Relin, author of Three Cups of Tea

Review:

"After you've been there and done that, it's time to figure out what it all means. So Jessica Maxwell, an intrepid traveler with a delightful and amusing style, applies her deceptively light touch to the idea of spiritual seeking. Highly recommended." Tim Cahill, author of Hold the Enlightenment and Lost in My Own Backyard

Review:

"What a fabulous journey! Through Jessica's eyes and voice it is just pure magic!" Taj Mahal, American bluesman

Review:

"Readers who enjoyed Eat, Pray, Love will...enjoy every minute of this rollicking spiritual ride. An inspirational feast for the faithful and enlightening food for thought for the more cynical." Booklist

Synopsis:

An all-true accidental spiritual adventure that led one nonbeliever to lunch with Deepak Chopra, dance with Stephen Hawking, heal animals with Yogananda, sing Christmas carols with an enlightened rabbi, banish evil spirits with a Himalayan Rinpoche, talk all night with the daughters of Islam, find true love in a Presbyterian choir, share Celtic visions on the isle of Iona, and learn an abiding respect for all paths to God.

Filled with far-flung settings, polished prose, and travel writer Jessica Maxwell's eye-opening and often humorous experiences, Roll Around Heaven will resonate with seekers and cynics, nature lovers and travel enthusiasts, and readers from all walks of life.

About the Author

Jessica Maxwell is a nationally acclaimed travel writer and the author of three books. Her work has been included in more than two dozen anthologies, including Bill Bryson's Best American Travel Writing 2000 and Tim Cahill's Best American Travel Writing 2006. She is a regular contributor to AARP The Magazine, Forbes, and Gourmet.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 8 comments:

Earthteaherb, April 5, 2010 (view all comments by Earthteaherb)
Loved it! You rock, Aunty jessica :D !
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
RichardHerman, November 29, 2009 (view all comments by RichardHerman)
I must confess, my delightful read and positive review of Roll Around Heaven is biased by my personal contacts with Jessica Maxwell. I had the honor of shooting the photograph of Jessica Maxwell for Roll Around Heaven and I can tell you the light in her eyes is as authentic as her “accidental spiritual adventures.”

Jessica is a reporter in the best journalistic tradition demonstrated by her long successful adventure writing career. Like Jessica’s previous writings, Roll Around Heaven once again takes us on a path of mystery, adventure, and romance. She writes of adventures of the spirit and miracles and yet is always grounded in the here and now. Jessica’s ego and “point of view” never gets in the way and we get to have a good laugh along the read and the way.

So however you choose to define the “divine,” read Roll Around Heaven.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
martinjones, November 13, 2009 (view all comments by martinjones)
Jessica Maxwell has discovered the essence of the spiritual life: life is one wondrous spiritual journey -- there is nothing ordinary. Or maybe we are missing the magic in the everyday. Her plain, witty and unaffected style carries readers along her journey as if they were experiencing these life-changing revalations first hand. A great read -- and an inspiration!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(5 of 6 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 8 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9781582702360
Author:
Maxwell, Jessica
Publisher:
Beyond Words Publishing
Subject:
Inspiration & Personal Growth
Subject:
Spirituality - General
Subject:
Personal Memoirs
Subject:
Personal Transformation
Subject:
Spiritual biography
Subject:
Maxwell, Jessica
Subject:
Biography - General
Subject:
self help; Deepak Chopra; self-discovery; inspirational; travel; memoir; female empowerment; journey; spiritual journey; soul searching
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardback
Publication Date:
20091031
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
28 bandamp;w photos
Pages:
288
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in

Other books you might like

  1. Eat, Pray, Love: One Woman's Search...
    Used Trade Paper $3.50
  2. Traveling Mercies: Some Thoughts on...
    Used Trade Paper $2.95

Related Subjects

Biography » General
Featured Titles » Biography
Metaphysics » General
Religion » Christianity » Christian Living
Religion » Christianity » General
Religion » Spirituality » General
Religion » Western Religions » General and Comparative Religion
Religion » Western Religions » Inspirational
Religion » Western Religions » Mysticism

Roll around Heaven: An All-True Accidental Spiritual Adventure Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$6.50 In Stock
Product details 288 pages Beyond Words Publishing - English 9781582702360 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Successful magazine travel writer Maxwell didn't intend to write a book about spirituality. The author of books on golf, fishing and other nature adventures claimed an 'allergy to religion,' yet spirituality seemed to find her anyway. After stumbling upon a lovable pig farmer/spiritual teacher, the self-proclaimed spiritual klutz finds herself wading through adventures with auras, demons, psychics and Jesus. In this book, Maxwell catalogs 16 years of spiritual experiences. The reader is taken through her quest for peace and understanding as she discovers that, regardless of the path, all religions call for loving others. Maxwell draws on religious symbolism from all world religions and quotes everyone from C.S. Lewis to Ramakrishna; the book is essentially spiritual and syncretistic. Readers who find Maxwell more superstitious than authentic should still appreciate her distinctive writing style. Her training as a nature writer allows her to see an experience from the outside in a way inward-looking spiritual writers often cannot. Her cheeky-to-chaste style is both conversational and controlled. Readers will enjoy watching this 'former spiritual dodo-brain' discover beauty beyond nature." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Review" by , "Forget about searching for the divine only in dusty old churches. In Roll Around Heaven, Jessica Maxwell proves you can stumble into a state of grace in a baseball stadium, on a pig farm, or even while lumbering down a freeway."
"Review" by , "After you've been there and done that, it's time to figure out what it all means. So Jessica Maxwell, an intrepid traveler with a delightful and amusing style, applies her deceptively light touch to the idea of spiritual seeking. Highly recommended."
"Review" by , "What a fabulous journey! Through Jessica's eyes and voice it is just pure magic!"
"Review" by , "Readers who enjoyed Eat, Pray, Love will...enjoy every minute of this rollicking spiritual ride. An inspirational feast for the faithful and enlightening food for thought for the more cynical."
"Synopsis" by , An all-true accidental spiritual adventure that led one nonbeliever to lunch with Deepak Chopra, dance with Stephen Hawking, heal animals with Yogananda, sing Christmas carols with an enlightened rabbi, banish evil spirits with a Himalayan Rinpoche, talk all night with the daughters of Islam, find true love in a Presbyterian choir, share Celtic visions on the isle of Iona, and learn an abiding respect for all paths to God.

Filled with far-flung settings, polished prose, and travel writer Jessica Maxwell's eye-opening and often humorous experiences, Roll Around Heaven will resonate with seekers and cynics, nature lovers and travel enthusiasts, and readers from all walks of life.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.