The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | September 2, 2014

Jill Owens: IMG David Mitchell: The Powells.com Interview



David MitchellDavid Mitchell's newest mind-bending, time-skipping novel may be his most accomplished work yet. Written in six sections, one per decade, The Bone... Continue »
  1. $21.00 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Bone Clocks

    David Mitchell 9781400065677

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$14.95
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
2 Remote Warehouse Mystery- A to Z

Bertie and the Seven Bodies

by

Bertie and the Seven Bodies Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The eldest son of Queen Victoria, Bertie will one day be King Edward VII. For the moment, though, his primary responsibility is to enjoy himself, a task at which he excels - bedding society beauties, tormenting his long-suffering wife, and taking his ro

Synopsis:

The eldest son of Queen Victoria, Bertie will one day be King Edward VII. For the moment, though, his primary responsibility is to enjoy himself, a task at which he excels - bedding society beauties, tormenting his long-suffering wife, and taking his royal bulk off to other people's country estates, there to shoot things, eat enormous meals, and pinch the serving maids. It is at just such an estate that the story unfolds, though this is no ordinary shooting-party, and with a killer afoot, the glittering guest-list is dwindling rapidly. Bertie greets the murders with some delight, as they allow him to exercise his passion for amateur sleuthing (a task at which he doesn't particularly excel). Lovesey wrote Seven Bodies as an homage to Agatha Christie, but he laced his classically structured puzzle with his own sly wit, gleefully poking fun at the pomposities of privilege. Utterly charming ...what a delight! - New York Times A delicious option for fans of Agatha Christie and Anne Perry

Product Details

ISBN:
9781933397368
Author:
Lovesey, Peter
Publisher:
Felony & Mayhem
Author:
Lovesey, Peter
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - Traditional British
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Mystery-A to Z
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20060531
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
268
Dimensions:
7.58x5.60x.63 in. .67 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. The Body in the Snowdrift (Faith... Used Mass Market $4.95
  2. A Deeper Sleep (Kate Shugak Mysteries) Used Mass Market $5.50
  3. Black Tower Used Mass Market $2.95
  4. Gaits of Heaven (Dog Lover's Mysteries) Used Mass Market $3.50
  5. Murder on Lenox Hill (Gaslight...
    Used Mass Market $3.50
  6. Evanly Choirs (Constable Evan Evans... Used Mass Market $4.50

Related Subjects

» Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z

Bertie and the Seven Bodies New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$14.95 In Stock
Product details 268 pages Felony & Mayhem - English 9781933397368 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , The eldest son of Queen Victoria, Bertie will one day be King Edward VII. For the moment, though, his primary responsibility is to enjoy himself, a task at which he excels - bedding society beauties, tormenting his long-suffering wife, and taking his royal bulk off to other people's country estates, there to shoot things, eat enormous meals, and pinch the serving maids. It is at just such an estate that the story unfolds, though this is no ordinary shooting-party, and with a killer afoot, the glittering guest-list is dwindling rapidly. Bertie greets the murders with some delight, as they allow him to exercise his passion for amateur sleuthing (a task at which he doesn't particularly excel). Lovesey wrote Seven Bodies as an homage to Agatha Christie, but he laced his classically structured puzzle with his own sly wit, gleefully poking fun at the pomposities of privilege. Utterly charming ...what a delight! - New York Times A delicious option for fans of Agatha Christie and Anne Perry
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.