Dreadfully Ever After Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | September 2, 2014

Jill Owens: IMG David Mitchell: The Powells.com Interview



David MitchellDavid Mitchell's newest mind-bending, time-skipping novel may be his most accomplished work yet. Written in six sections, one per decade, The Bone... Continue »
  1. $21.00 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Bone Clocks

    David Mitchell 9781400065677

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$9.98
Sale Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
4 Burnside Sale Books- Mystery
5 Local Warehouse LG- LARGE PRINT

More copies of this ISBN

Angel's Tip (Large Print)

by

Angel's Tip (Large Print) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In a city full of victims . . . it's hard to choose just one.

Fresh-faced Indiana college student Chelsea Hart is so excited to spend the final hours of her spring break in the VIP room of an elite New York City club that she remains behind when her girlfriends call it a night. The next morning, as her concerned friends anxiously pace their hotel lobby, joggers find Chelsea's body in East River Park, her wavy blond hair brutally hacked off.

NYPD Detective Ellie Hatcher catches the case and homes in on the group of privileged men who were last seen plying Chelsea with free-flowing alcohol. But before she can even gather the preliminary evidence, the gruesome murder is grabbing headlines and drawing unwanted media attention to the department. So when Ellie builds a tight case against Jake Myers, a young hedge fund manager, the department brass and the district attorney's office are elated: the case will soon be cleared, the media will tout the department's quick work, and Ellie will be a dream witness at the trial against Myers.

But Ellie has her doubts. Chelsea's murder is eerily similar to three other deaths that occurred nearly a decade ago: the victims were young, female, and in each case, the killer had taken her hair as a souvenir.

Ellie's investigation pulls her into a late-night world of exclusive clubs, conspicuous wealth, and hedonistic consumption. And her search for the truth not only pits her against her fellow cops but also places her under the watchful eye of a psychopath eager to add the prideful young female detective to his list.

Wrenching and suspenseful, Angel's Tip is an electric thriller that offers a voyeuristic glimpse into the glamorous but dangerous world of New York nightlife. This stunning whodunit proves yet again that Alafair Burke "knows when and how to drop clues to keep readers at her mercy" (Entertainment Weekly).

Synopsis:

Angels Tip is a riveting read that snaps with the beat of New York….A knuckle-biting journey thatll keep you turning pages until the very end.”
—Faye Kellerman, bestselling author of the Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus novels

“Alafair Burke has created a winning heroine in Ellie Hatcher, someone to root for.”
—Tami Hoag, bestselling author of Down the Darkest Road

“Complex plotting, multi-layered characters, a creepy serial killer—in Angels Tip, Burke has once again proven herself a terrific storyteller.”
—Sandra Brown, bestselling author of Lethal

Acclaimed thriller writer Alafair Burke delves into the underworld of the Manhattan nightclub scene in Angels Tip. Burke is the daughter of crime fiction superstar James Lee Burke, creator of Cajun detective Dave Robicheaux, prompting the Fort Worth Star-Telegram to proclaim that “this fast-paced-but-human thriller proves that writing talent is genetic.” A superb crime novel featuring NYPD Detective Ellie Hatcher (“a strong female protagonist in the tradition of Sara Paretskys V.I. Warshawski and Marcia Mullers Sharon McCone” —Boston Globe), Angels Tip follows Ellies investigation into the murder of a young college student, quite possibly by a member of New Yorks young moneyed elite, and fans of Lisa Gardner, Karin Slaughter, Harlan Coben, and Sue Grafton will most definitely want to trail along.

About the Author

A former deputy district attorney in Portland, Oregon, Alafair Burke now teaches criminal law at Hofstra Law School and lives in New York City. A graduate of Stanford Law School, she is the author of the Samantha Kincaid series, which includes the novels Judgment Calls, Missing Justice, and Close Case. Her most recent book is Angel's Tip, the second thriller featuring Ellie Hatcher.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780061668616
Author:
Burke, Alafair
Publisher:
HarpLPLuxe
Author:
by Alafair Burke
Author:
Green, Tim
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - General
Subject:
Murder
Subject:
Women detectives
Subject:
New york (n.y.)
Subject:
Suspense fiction
Subject:
Action & Adventure
Subject:
Mystery-A to Z
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - Women Sleuths
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Large Print
Large Print:
Y
Publication Date:
20080902
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
from 5 to 9
Language:
English
Pages:
512
Dimensions:
9 x 6 x 0.89 in 14.96 oz
Age Level:
from 10 to 14

Other books you might like

  1. Duma Key (Large Print) (Large Print... Used Trade Paper $16.95
  2. Dance of Death (Large Print) New Hardcover $42.75
  3. To Shield the Queen (Large Print) New Trade Paper $20.99
  4. Night Probe!
    Used Mass Market $3.50
  5. Olive Kitteridge
    Used Trade Paper $5.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z

Angel's Tip (Large Print) Sale Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$9.98 In Stock
Product details 512 pages Harperluxe - English 9780061668616 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Angels Tip is a riveting read that snaps with the beat of New York….A knuckle-biting journey thatll keep you turning pages until the very end.”
—Faye Kellerman, bestselling author of the Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus novels

“Alafair Burke has created a winning heroine in Ellie Hatcher, someone to root for.”
—Tami Hoag, bestselling author of Down the Darkest Road

“Complex plotting, multi-layered characters, a creepy serial killer—in Angels Tip, Burke has once again proven herself a terrific storyteller.”
—Sandra Brown, bestselling author of Lethal

Acclaimed thriller writer Alafair Burke delves into the underworld of the Manhattan nightclub scene in Angels Tip. Burke is the daughter of crime fiction superstar James Lee Burke, creator of Cajun detective Dave Robicheaux, prompting the Fort Worth Star-Telegram to proclaim that “this fast-paced-but-human thriller proves that writing talent is genetic.” A superb crime novel featuring NYPD Detective Ellie Hatcher (“a strong female protagonist in the tradition of Sara Paretskys V.I. Warshawski and Marcia Mullers Sharon McCone” —Boston Globe), Angels Tip follows Ellies investigation into the murder of a young college student, quite possibly by a member of New Yorks young moneyed elite, and fans of Lisa Gardner, Karin Slaughter, Harlan Coben, and Sue Grafton will most definitely want to trail along.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.