The Good, the Bad, and the Hungry Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | June 18, 2014

Daniel H. Wilson: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Daniel H. Wilson



Like many writers, I'm constantly haunting coffee shops with a laptop out and my headphones on. I listen to a lot of music while I write, and songs... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$9.99
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Children's- Science Fiction and Fantasy
7 Burnside Children's Young Adult- General
25 Local Warehouse General- General
25 Remote Warehouse Children's- Adventure Stories

Insignia

by

Insignia Cover

ISBN13: 9780062093004
ISBN10: 0062093002
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

"Insignia expertly combines humor with a disarming and highly realistic view of the future. The characters are real, funny, and memorable. You won't be able to put this book down."—Veronica Roth, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Divergent and Insurgent

The earth is in the middle of WWIII in Insignia, the first entry in S. J. Kincaid's fast-paced sci-fi adventure trilogy perfect for fans of Ender's Game.

The planet's natural resources are almost gone, and war is being fought to control the assets of the solar system. The enemy is winning. The salvation may be Tom Raines. Tom doesn't seem like a hero. He's a short fourteen-year-old with bad skin. But he has the virtual-reality gaming skills that make him a phenom behind the controls of the battle drones.

As a new member of the Intrasolar Forces, Tom's life completely changes. Suddenly, he's someone important. He has new opportunities, friends, and a shot at having a girlfriend. But there's a price to pay. . . .

Synopsis:

It's World War III. The enemy is winning. What if the government's secret weapon is you?

Video gamer Tom Raines has been recruited for the chance of a lifetime: to train at the Pentagonal Spire, an elite military academy, in preparation for becoming a member of the Intrasolar Forces. Life at the Spire holds everything that Tom's always wanted and never had—friends, the possibility of a girlfriend, and a life where his every action matters—but what will it cost him?

Gripping and provocative, S. J. Kincaid's futuristic thrill ride of a debut crackles with memorable characters, tremendous humor, and a vision of the future that asks startling, timely questions about the melding of humanity and technology.

About the Author

S. J. Kincaid was born in Alabama, grew up in California, and attended high school in New Hampshire. She also interned for a politician in Washington, DC, and received degrees from universities in Illinois and Ohio, but it was while living beside a haunted graveyard in Edinburgh, Scotland, that she realized she wanted to be a writer. Ms. Kincaid now lives in California's Bay Area.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Beverly B, August 7, 2013 (view all comments by Beverly B)
Insignia is the rare novel that will be spectacularly popular with sci-fi fans and readers who think they don't like sci-fi. It is funny, exciting, suspenseful,has lovable characters, and plenty of surprise twists. What teen would not take advantage of the opportunity to become: smarter (without school), stronger (without boring workouts), better looking (without surgery) and a national hero by protecting the US from evil enemies? Tom Raines needed no time to make his decision. Tom Raines hates his life. For years he has lived totally off the grid as a drifter, con artist and parent to his compulsive gambler anti-government father. The only joy Tom has in his life is playing virtual reality games. He is one of the best VR players in the world which he is how he attracts the attention of an elite military academy that usually only accepts cream-of-the-crop candidates from powerfully connected families. Tom's father is vehemently against Tom going to the academy. He tells Tom the government cannot be trusted, and this WWIII, that has been going on for years, is more about corporate profits than saving the world. But Tom wants to do something significant with his life. He wants a life as different from his father's as he can find, and he sees the academy as his only chance to create a new destiny for himself. Tom has no idea how unskilled he is in normal life until he starts at the academy. He has never: had friends, had to share, worked in a group or as a team, taken a test, been to a party, hung out with peers, had to do what someone else tells him. Needless to say, things do not go smoothly for Tom. Just about the time Tom thinks he may actually be able to make the transition, his mother's narcissistic, greedy, sociopathic CEO boyfriend shows up with a plan for Tom to work with him to their mutual benefit. He does not take "No" for an answer. Dalton Prestwick should have known better than to cross a genius teen. Tom's revenge is laugh out loud funny and the highlight of the story. Like many novels today, Insignia is bogged down with too many characters and sub-plots that are interesting, but inconsequential to the main plot, and are clearly included just for the sequels. Sequels most readers will be anxiously waiting to snatch up as soon as they come out.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780062093004
Author:
Kincaid, S. J.
Publisher:
Katherine Tegen Books
Subject:
Children s-General
Edition Description:
Paperback
Publication Date:
20130631
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 8
Language:
English
Pages:
480
Dimensions:
8 x 5.3125 in 10.4 oz
Age Level:
from 13

Other books you might like

  1. Septimus Heap #06: Septimus Heap,... New Trade Paper $7.99
  2. Hold Me Closer, Necromancer
    Sale Trade Paper $4.98
  3. Shine
    Used Trade Paper $5.50
  4. Son New Trade Paper $9.99
  5. Monument 14 Sale Trade Paper $4.98
  6. Shades of Earth: An Across the... Sale Hardcover $8.98

Related Subjects

Children's » Action and Adventure » Adventure Stories
Children's » General
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Science Fiction
Young Adult » Featured Titles
Young Adult » General

Insignia New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$9.99 In Stock
Product details 480 pages Katherine Tegen Books - English 9780062093004 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , It's World War III. The enemy is winning. What if the government's secret weapon is you?

Video gamer Tom Raines has been recruited for the chance of a lifetime: to train at the Pentagonal Spire, an elite military academy, in preparation for becoming a member of the Intrasolar Forces. Life at the Spire holds everything that Tom's always wanted and never had—friends, the possibility of a girlfriend, and a life where his every action matters—but what will it cost him?

Gripping and provocative, S. J. Kincaid's futuristic thrill ride of a debut crackles with memorable characters, tremendous humor, and a vision of the future that asks startling, timely questions about the melding of humanity and technology.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.