The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | September 2, 2014

Jill Owens: IMG David Mitchell: The Powells.com Interview



David MitchellDavid Mitchell's newest mind-bending, time-skipping novel may be his most accomplished work yet. Written in six sections, one per decade, The Bone... Continue »
  1. $21.00 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Bone Clocks

    David Mitchell 9781400065677

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$10.50
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside SF- C

More copies of this ISBN

Dreams and Shadows

by

Dreams and Shadows Cover

ISBN13: 9780062190420
ISBN10: 0062190423
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $10.50!

 

Staff Pick

Beautiful! Dreams and Shadows starts with a tight little horror story, follows with a dreamy fairy tale, and ends with a gritty urban fantasy. It's a multi-genre meditation on the power of love, revenge, and innocent wishes with great big consequences. I loved it.
Recommended by Kristi L, Powells.com

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A brilliantly crafted modern tale from acclaimed film critic and screenwriter C. Robert Cargill — part Neil Gaiman, part Guillermo Del Toro, part William S. Burroughs — that charts the lives of two boys from their star-crossed childhood in the realm of magic and mystery to their anguished adulthoods

There is another world than our own — one no closer than a kiss and one no further than our nightmares — where all the stuff of which dreams are made is real and magic is just a step away. But once you see that world, you will never be the same.

Dreams and Shadows takes us beyond this veil. Once bold explorers and youthful denizens of this magical realm, Ewan is now an Austin musician who just met his dream girl, and Colby, meanwhile, cannot escape the consequences of an innocent wish. But while Ewan and Colby left the Limestone Kingdom as children, it has never forgotten them. And in a world where angels relax on rooftops, whiskey-swilling genies argue metaphysics with foul-mouthed wizards, and monsters in the shadows feed on fear, you can never outrun your fate.

Dreams and Shadows is a stunning and evocative debut about the magic and monsters in our world and in our self.

Review:

"In this beautifully written debut, Ain't It Cool News Web site contributor Cargill chronicles the friendship and adventures of Ewan, stolen as a baby by the fairy-goblin crossbreeds called Bendith Y Mamau, and Colby, an eight-year-old who encounters a djinn, with an unhurried storyteller style that provides total immersion. The two boys travel from the faerie lands known as the Limestone Kingdom, a realm filled with creatures of myth — Coyote, changelings, the Wild Hunt, and more — to Austin, Tex., where they must learn to navigate the often treacherous path to adulthood. Legends and faerie lore are given a dark urban twist with a raw, honest, sometimes violent edge. The universe is richly detailed, and issues of destiny and sacrifice give the story depth. Readers with delicate sensibilities should leave this one for those who enjoy a roller-coaster ride into the depths of strangeness and despair. Agent: Peter McGuigan, Foundry Literary + Media." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Review:

“Exceptional worldbuilding, sure-handed plotting and well-rounded characters, even the nasty ones, abound, and the whole impressive enterprise moves smartly along through a fairy culture with a structure and motivations sharply different from that of humans. A mesmerizing and highly original debut.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Review:

“Hard to put down…this is definitely going to attract readers of contemporary fantasy, particular those who enjoy Neil Gaiman's adult books or Lev Grossman's The Magicians.” Library Journal

Review:

“Richly imagined...an auspicious debut.” Booklist

Review:

“A thoroughly enchanting debut novel” Starburstmagazine.com

Synopsis:

Screenwriter and acclaimed film critic C. Robert Cargill makes his fiction debut with Dreams and Shadows, taking beloved fantasy tropes, giving them a twist, and turning out a wonderful, witty, and wry take on clash between the fairy world and our own.

Something is missing from Ewan and Colby's lives. Residing in the corners of their memories is their time in Limestone Kingdom, a realm filled with magic and mystery, a world where only some may travel amongst the menagerie of mystical souls and sinister demons.

Cargill offers well-crafted characters and an absorbing, intricate plot that will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman and Lev Grossman. Dreams and Shadows pulls you into an extraordinary universe of darkness that exposes the magic and monsters in our world, and in ourselves.

About the Author

C. Robert Cargill has written for Ain't It Cool News for more than a decade under the pseudonym Massawyrm, served as a staff writer for Film.com and Hollywood.com, and appeared as the animated character Carlyle on spill.com. He is the screenwriter of the film Sinister. He lives and works in Austin, Texas.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

ikram, March 25, 2013 (view all comments by ikram)
An amazing novel steeped in the darkness and the grotesque. I was surprised to find myself submerged in a world of bloodthirsty fairies and creatures of myth, written with such vividness I couldn't help but feel as though the author had seen these manipulative creatures with his own two eyes. Full of suspense and thrills, the story itself deals with the consequences of childhood and of meddling with forces unknown. I adored the rawness of it and the witty, matter of fact dialogue that passed between the plethora of creatures and characters revealed to the reader. I was particularly fond of a scene set upon a roof between Colby and an angel, gradually getting more drunk whilst watching The Hunt storm the town's streets. The characters are fabulous and all of the loose threads at the start of the novel are pulled together by the time we reach its dramatic, blood splattered conclusion. I can't help but think fans of Neil Gaiman would fall head over heels for this urban fantasy. An explosive, lingering debut.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780062190420
Author:
Cargill, C. Robert
Publisher:
Harper Voyager
Subject:
Fantasy - General
Subject:
Fantasy - Contemporary
Subject:
Science Fiction and Fantasy-Fantasy
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Publication Date:
20130231
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Language:
English
Pages:
448
Dimensions:
9 x 6 x 1.29 in 22.8 oz

Other books you might like

  1. His Dark Materials #01: The Golden...
    Used Trade Paper $5.95
  2. Etiquette and Espionage (Finishing...
    Used Hardcover $9.95
  3. Hades: Lord of the Dead (Olympians) Sale Trade Paper $5.98
  4. Redshirts
    Used Trade Paper $8.00
  5. Childhoods End Used Mass Market $3.50
  6. Angelopolis (Angelology #2) New Hardcover $27.95

Related Subjects

Featured Titles » Literature
Featured Titles » Staff Favorites
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Debut Fiction
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Fantasy » Contemporary
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Fantasy » General
Humanities » Mythology » Folklore and Storytelling

Dreams and Shadows Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$10.50 In Stock
Product details 448 pages Harper Voyager - English 9780062190420 Reviews:
"Staff Pick" by ,

Beautiful! Dreams and Shadows starts with a tight little horror story, follows with a dreamy fairy tale, and ends with a gritty urban fantasy. It's a multi-genre meditation on the power of love, revenge, and innocent wishes with great big consequences. I loved it.

"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "In this beautifully written debut, Ain't It Cool News Web site contributor Cargill chronicles the friendship and adventures of Ewan, stolen as a baby by the fairy-goblin crossbreeds called Bendith Y Mamau, and Colby, an eight-year-old who encounters a djinn, with an unhurried storyteller style that provides total immersion. The two boys travel from the faerie lands known as the Limestone Kingdom, a realm filled with creatures of myth — Coyote, changelings, the Wild Hunt, and more — to Austin, Tex., where they must learn to navigate the often treacherous path to adulthood. Legends and faerie lore are given a dark urban twist with a raw, honest, sometimes violent edge. The universe is richly detailed, and issues of destiny and sacrifice give the story depth. Readers with delicate sensibilities should leave this one for those who enjoy a roller-coaster ride into the depths of strangeness and despair. Agent: Peter McGuigan, Foundry Literary + Media." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Review" by , “Exceptional worldbuilding, sure-handed plotting and well-rounded characters, even the nasty ones, abound, and the whole impressive enterprise moves smartly along through a fairy culture with a structure and motivations sharply different from that of humans. A mesmerizing and highly original debut.”
"Review" by , “Hard to put down…this is definitely going to attract readers of contemporary fantasy, particular those who enjoy Neil Gaiman's adult books or Lev Grossman's The Magicians.”
"Review" by , “Richly imagined...an auspicious debut.”
"Review" by , “A thoroughly enchanting debut novel”
"Synopsis" by , Screenwriter and acclaimed film critic C. Robert Cargill makes his fiction debut with Dreams and Shadows, taking beloved fantasy tropes, giving them a twist, and turning out a wonderful, witty, and wry take on clash between the fairy world and our own.

Something is missing from Ewan and Colby's lives. Residing in the corners of their memories is their time in Limestone Kingdom, a realm filled with magic and mystery, a world where only some may travel amongst the menagerie of mystical souls and sinister demons.

Cargill offers well-crafted characters and an absorbing, intricate plot that will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman and Lev Grossman. Dreams and Shadows pulls you into an extraordinary universe of darkness that exposes the magic and monsters in our world, and in ourselves.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.