Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    What I'm Giving | December 4, 2014

    Fred Armisen: IMG Fred Armisen: What I'm Giving



    At Powell's, we feel the holidays are the perfect time to share our love of books with those close to us. For this special blog series, we reached... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$6.50
List price: $8.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Children's Young Adult- General
2 Hawthorne Children's Young Adult- General
1 Local Warehouse Children's Young Adult- General

This title in other editions

Hold Still

by

Hold Still Cover

ISBN13: 9780142416945
ISBN10: 0142416940
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Printz Award-winning author Meg Rosoff's latest novel is a gorgeous and unforgettable page-turner about the relationship between parents and children, love and loss.

Mila has an exceptional talent for reading a room—sensing hidden facts and unspoken emotions from clues that others overlook. So when her fathers best friend, Matthew, goes missing from his upstate New York home, Mila and her beloved father travel from London to find him. She collects information about Matthew from his belongings, from his wife and baby, from the dog he left behind and from the ghosts of his past—slowly piecing together the story everyone else has missed. But just when shes closest to solving the mystery, a shocking betrayal calls into question her trust in the one person she thought she could read best. 

 

 

Synopsis:

In words and illustrations, Ingrid has left behind a painful farewell in her journal for Caitlin. Now Caitlin is left alone, by loss and by choice, struggling to find renewed hope in the wake of her best friend's suicide. Illustrations.

Synopsis:

Just out of high school, Emi Price is a talented young set designer already beginning to thrive in the L.A. film scene. But her artistic eye has failed her in one key area: helping her to design a love life thats more than make-believe. Then she finds a mysterious letter at an estate sale, and it sends her chasing down the loose ends of a movie icons hidden life. And along the way, she finds Ava, and at long last, Emis own hidden life begins to bloom. 

 

Synopsis:

For fans of Gayle Forman and Stephen Chbosky, an achingly raw and surprisingly funny novel about coping with loss

Emmys best friend Kim had promised to visit from the afterlife after she died. But so far Kim hasnt shown up even once. Emmy blames herself for not believing hard enough. Finally, as the one-year anniversary of Kim's death approaches, Emmy is visited by a ghost—but its not Kim. Its Emmys awful dead science teacher.

Emmy cant help but think that she's failed at being a true friend. But as more ghosts appear, she starts to realize that she's not alone in her pain. Kim would have wanted her to move forward—and to do that, Emmy needs to start letting go.

About the Author

Nina LaCour is a high school English teacher and former bookseller. A San Francisco Bay area native, Nina lives in Oakland, California. This is her first novel.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

RoseSpades, January 1, 2013 (view all comments by RoseSpades)
Before I begin, let me say that I absolutely adore this book, and I have from the first time I read it three years ago.

Also, this review contains minor (or major, depending on your definition) character/plot related spoilers. You have been warned.

Hold Still is at its heart a story about personal growth, moving on, letting go, and rebuilding one's life in the wake of tragedy. More specifically it's about how Caitlin's best friend's suicide turns her life upside down and forces her to question what had become the most important relationship in her life. While there are many other intriguing secondary characters, I found myself most drawn to Caitlin's personal journey throughout the course of the novel. As the story progresses you see Caitlin isolate herself from the world. You see her blame herself and subsequently punish herself by wrecking one of the most healing relationships she's formed since her Ingrid's death. But eventually she manages to turn her life around again, take control, and mend her broken relationships. It is this transformation that makes the story so powerful for me.

However, that is not to say that the secondary characters aren't important or relevant. Caitlin's parents, for one, are absolutely wonderful, and her mother in particular plays a crucial part in showing Caitlin's development. When Caitlin is depressed she tends to take out her frustration on her mother. What I love about these scenes is that Caitlin is never seen as being justifiable when she does this. Her mother (and father, though there's less conflict here) cares for her deeply, and is repaid for this with snide and often very hurtful remarks. I think some of the most crucial turning points for Caitlin are a) when she comforts her mother in the hardware store after it becomes obvious how much she worries about the possibility of Caitlin being suicidal, and b) when Caitlin gives in to one of her mother's requests willingly and with humor. (This is one of the funniest scenes in the book: after asking Caitlin to leave the door to her room open a crack when her boy friend is over Caitlin says, and I'm paraphrasing here, "Dylan is a lesbian, should I leave the door open when she's over?" "Are you a lesbian, honey?" "well, no" "then I think you can keep it closed.")

Which brings me to Caitlin's schoolmates (and Maddy, who is in high school as well, but goes to school in San Francisco). In general I think LaCour does an excellent job characterizing the social hierarchy in a suburban high school, as well as what happens when you don't really fit into that hierarchy. This is shown most eloquently through the students' treatment of Dylan (while there's no bullying because she's gay, she isn't exactly welcomed, either), as well as the way Caitlin has never really fit in, and how Jason is treated as the token black guy in a generally white school. As for my opinions on the characters themselves, I adore Dylan and Maddy--Dylan is such a source of wisdom, and ultimately inspiration, for Caitlin, especially when it comes to recognizing that she isn't the only suffering after Ingrid's death. Maddy is just lovely, there's really no better word to describe her, but she's also wise in a more conscious way than Dylan is. Furthermore, I think that Alicia and Henry, while not very likable, are really well characterized, and Henry even manages to be sympathetic as the privileged rich kid who can get away with anything, but has never known much love rom his socialite parents. Taylor is a bit too good to be true (when does the popular guy actually go for the odd one out, really?), but is adorkable enough to pull it off. He also gets really excited about history and pirate mathematicians, which earns him points in my book.

Lastly, one thing I've heard many times is that readers wish there had been more of Ingrid's story in the book, and/or that the official synopsis was misleading. I will say this: Hold Still is not a story about Ingrid, or about her suicide. Hold Still is a story about recovery, forgiveness, and the power of the human will. LaCour goes many places thematically in the novel, and many of them are dark, but the story ends on a hopeful note. Yes, sometimes tragedy strikes, and yes sometimes you lose people and can never get them back. Sometimes you let people down. Ultimately, though, life will get better, and whether the rubble of the past remains or is blown away, you can turn your life around again.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780142416945
Author:
Lacour, Nina
Publisher:
Speak
Author:
Rosoff, Meg
Author:
Ellis, Ann Dee
Subject:
Social Issues - Friendship
Subject:
Social Issues - Suicide
Subject:
Social Issues - Depression & Mental Illness
Subject:
Situations / Friendship
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction-Suicide
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction
Subject:
Mysteries & Detective Stories
Subject:
Situations / Death & Dying
Subject:
Love & Romance
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20101031
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 9
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
336
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
12-17

Other books you might like

  1. Arrow Over the Door (Puffin Chapters) Used Trade Paper $2.50
  2. Muchacho
    New Trade Paper $8.99
  3. Funny How Things Change Used Hardcover $5.95
  4. Love You Hate You Miss You
    Used Trade Paper $6.50
  5. Say the Word Used Hardcover $4.50
  6. No More Us for You Used Hardcover $9.00

Related Subjects

Children's » Sale Books
Children's » Staff Picks
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Depression and Mental Illness
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Friendship
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Suicide
Young Adult » General

Hold Still Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$6.50 In Stock
Product details 336 pages Speak - English 9780142416945 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , In words and illustrations, Ingrid has left behind a painful farewell in her journal for Caitlin. Now Caitlin is left alone, by loss and by choice, struggling to find renewed hope in the wake of her best friend's suicide. Illustrations.
"Synopsis" by ,

Just out of high school, Emi Price is a talented young set designer already beginning to thrive in the L.A. film scene. But her artistic eye has failed her in one key area: helping her to design a love life thats more than make-believe. Then she finds a mysterious letter at an estate sale, and it sends her chasing down the loose ends of a movie icons hidden life. And along the way, she finds Ava, and at long last, Emis own hidden life begins to bloom. 

 

"Synopsis" by ,
For fans of Gayle Forman and Stephen Chbosky, an achingly raw and surprisingly funny novel about coping with loss

Emmys best friend Kim had promised to visit from the afterlife after she died. But so far Kim hasnt shown up even once. Emmy blames herself for not believing hard enough. Finally, as the one-year anniversary of Kim's death approaches, Emmy is visited by a ghost—but its not Kim. Its Emmys awful dead science teacher.

Emmy cant help but think that she's failed at being a true friend. But as more ghosts appear, she starts to realize that she's not alone in her pain. Kim would have wanted her to move forward—and to do that, Emmy needs to start letting go.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.