Tournament of Books 2015
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | January 14, 2015

    Marie Mutsuki Mockett: IMG On Trimming Roses



    Gardens do not wait. Weeds grow and flowers wilt. In the days and weeks following my father's death, my parents' garden continued to flourish and... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$8.50
List price: $16.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton World History- Medieval and Renaissance

Four Queens: The Provencal Sisters Who Ruled Europe

by

Four Queens: The Provencal Sisters Who Ruled Europe Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Four accomplished sisters who rose from near obscurity to become the most powerful women in Europe

Set against the backdrop of the turbulent thirteenth century, a time of chivalry and crusades, poetry, knights, and monarchs comes the story of the four beautiful daughters of the count of Provence whose brilliant marriages made them the queens of France, England, Germany, and Sicily.

From a cultured childhood in Provence, each sister was propelled into a world marked by shifting alliances, intrigue, and subterfuge. Marguerite, the eldest, whose resolution and spirit would be tested by the cold splendor of the Palais du Roi in Paris; Eleanor, whose soaring political aspirations would provoke her kingdom to civil war; Sanchia, the neglected wife of the richest man in England who bought himself the crown of Germany; and Beatrice, whose desire for sovereignty was so acute that she risked her life to earn her place at the royal table.

A compulsively readable narrative, Four Queens shatters the myth that women were helpless pawns in a society that celebrated physical prowess and masculine intellect. A riveting historical saga for fans of Alison Weir and Antonia Fraser.

Synopsis:

Set against the backdrop of the turbulent 13th century comes the story of the four beautiful daughters of the count of Provence, whose brilliant marriages made them the queens of France, England, Germany, and Sicily.

Synopsis:

For fans of Alison Weir and Antonia Fraser,acclaimed author Nancy Goldstoneandrsquo;s thrilling history of the royal daughters who succeeded in rulingandmdash;and shapingandmdash;thirteenth-century Europe

Set against the backdrop of the thirteenth century, a time of chivalry and crusades, troubadors, knights and monarchs, Four Queens is the story of four provocative sistersandmdash;Marguerite, Eleanor, Sanchia, and Beatrice of Provenceandmdash;who rose from near obscurity to become the most coveted and powerful women in Europe. and#160;Each sister in this extraordinary family was beautiful, cultured, and accomplished but what made these women so remarkable was that each became queen of a principal European powerandmdash;France, England, Germany and Sicily. During their reigns, they exercised considerable political authority, raised armies, intervened diplomatically and helped redraw the map of Europe. and#160;Theirs is a drama of courage, sagacity and ambition that re-examines the concept of leadership in the Middle Ages.

Synopsis:

Four Queens is a rich pageant of glamour, intrigue, and feminine power at a time when women were thought to have played limited roles. In thirteenth-century Europe, four sisters from a single family-Marguerite, Eleanor, Sanchia, and Beatrice of Provençe-rose from obscurity to become the queens of, respectively, France, England, Germany, and Sicily. All four were beautiful, cultured, and ambitious, and their stories offer a window into the era of chivalry, crusades, poetry, knights, and monarchs that will appeal to fans of Alison Weir and Antonia Fraser.

About the Author

Nancy Goldstone is the coauthor of five books, including Out of the Flames. She lives with her husband and daughter in Connecticut.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780143113256
Author:
Goldstone, Nancy
Publisher:
Penguin Books
Subject:
Royalty
Subject:
Europe - General
Subject:
Medieval
Subject:
Women
Subject:
Europe History 476-1492.
Subject:
Queens - Europe
Subject:
Biography-Royalty
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20080331
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Illustrations:
b/w illustrations and (4) maps throughou
Pages:
368
Dimensions:
8.38x5.52x.80 in. .71 lbs.
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. Portrait of an Unknown Woman
    Used Trade Paper $1.46
  2. These Is My Words
    Used Trade Paper $5.95
  3. Even After All This Time: A Story of... Used Hardcover $4.50
  4. The Way the Crow Flies (P.S.)
    Used Trade Paper $5.95
  5. The Devil Kissed Her Used Hardcover $10.50
  6. The Binding Chair; or, A Visit from... Used Trade Paper $3.50

Related Subjects

Biography » Royalty
Biography » Women
History and Social Science » Sale Books
History and Social Science » Western Civilization » Medieval
History and Social Science » World History » European History General
History and Social Science » World History » Medieval and Renaissance

Four Queens: The Provencal Sisters Who Ruled Europe Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$8.50 In Stock
Product details 368 pages Penguin Books - English 9780143113256 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Set against the backdrop of the turbulent 13th century comes the story of the four beautiful daughters of the count of Provence, whose brilliant marriages made them the queens of France, England, Germany, and Sicily.
"Synopsis" by ,
For fans of Alison Weir and Antonia Fraser,acclaimed author Nancy Goldstoneandrsquo;s thrilling history of the royal daughters who succeeded in rulingandmdash;and shapingandmdash;thirteenth-century Europe

Set against the backdrop of the thirteenth century, a time of chivalry and crusades, troubadors, knights and monarchs, Four Queens is the story of four provocative sistersandmdash;Marguerite, Eleanor, Sanchia, and Beatrice of Provenceandmdash;who rose from near obscurity to become the most coveted and powerful women in Europe. and#160;Each sister in this extraordinary family was beautiful, cultured, and accomplished but what made these women so remarkable was that each became queen of a principal European powerandmdash;France, England, Germany and Sicily. During their reigns, they exercised considerable political authority, raised armies, intervened diplomatically and helped redraw the map of Europe. and#160;Theirs is a drama of courage, sagacity and ambition that re-examines the concept of leadership in the Middle Ages.

"Synopsis" by ,
Four Queens is a rich pageant of glamour, intrigue, and feminine power at a time when women were thought to have played limited roles. In thirteenth-century Europe, four sisters from a single family-Marguerite, Eleanor, Sanchia, and Beatrice of Provençe-rose from obscurity to become the queens of, respectively, France, England, Germany, and Sicily. All four were beautiful, cultured, and ambitious, and their stories offer a window into the era of chivalry, crusades, poetry, knights, and monarchs that will appeal to fans of Alison Weir and Antonia Fraser.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.