Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Q&A | November 20, 2014

    Ron Rash: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Ron Rash



    Describe your latest book/project/work. Something Rich and Strange is a collection of selected stories, including three stories previously... Continue »
    1. $19.59 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$3.50
List price: $6.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
3 Local Warehouse Children's- Newbery Award Winners

The Cricket in Times Square (Chester Cricket and His Friends)

by

The Cricket in Times Square (Chester Cricket and His Friends) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Tucker is a streetwise city mouse. He thought hed seen it all. But hes never met a cricket before, which really isnt surprising, because, along with his friend Harry Cat, Tucker lives in the very heart of New York City—the Times Square subway station. Chester Cricket never intended to leave his Connecticut meadow. Hed be there still if he hadnt followed the entrancing aroma of liverwurst right into someones picnic basket. Now, like any tourist in the city, he wants to look around. And he could not have found two better guides—and friends—than Tucker and Harry. The trio have many adventures—from taking in the sights and sounds of Broadway to escaping a smoky fire.

     Chester makes a third friend, too. It is a boy, Mario, who rescues Chester from a dusty corner of the subway station and brings him to live in the safety of his parents newsstand. He hopes at first to keep Chester as a pet, but Mario soon understands that the cricket is more than that. Because Chester has a hidden talent and no one—not even Chester himself—realizes that the little country cricket may just be able to teach even the toughest New Yorkers a thing or two.

 
The Cricket in Times Square is a 1961 Newbery Honor Book.

Synopsis:

A mouse, a cat, and a cricket take a bite out of the Big Apple.

Synopsis:

The New York Times bestselling author of I Am A Genius of Unspeakable Evil and I Want to Be Your Class President reinvents the Excalibur legend—with rats!

When Joey is bitten by an elderly rat, he goes from aspiring seventh-grader to three-inch tall rodent.

At first, Joey is amazed by his new rat self. The city streets call to him at night. Smells that would have repelled him before are suddenly tantalizing. (A chicken bone? Yes! A squashed cockroach? Like perfume!) And wow, the freedom! But when a bout of hunger leads Joey to pull the spork from the scone, he finds himself at the center of a longtime rat prophecy.

Joey has unwittingly unlocked the sword Ratscalibur; and now, it is up to him to protect his new rat friends from the evil crows who seek to destroy their peaceful kingdom. But what does an eleven-year-old know about actual swordplay? And what happens when Joey no longer wants to be a rat?

Synopsis:

Fans of E.B. White and Dick King-Smith will adore this heartwarming and funny animal adventure by the award-winning author of Counting by 7s

Mama has trained up her baby possums in the ways of their breed, and now its time for all of them—even little Appleblossom—to make their way in the world. Appleblossom knows the rules: she must never be seen during the day, and she must avoid cars, humans, and the dreaded hairies (sometimes known as dogs). Even so, Appleblossom decides to spy on a human family—and accidentally falls down their chimney! The curious Appleblossom, her faithful brothers—who launch a hilarious rescue mission—and even the little girl in the house have no idea how fascinating the big world can be. But they're about to find out!

With dynamic illustrations, a tight-knit family, and a glimpse at the world from a charming little marsupial's point of view, this cozy animal story is a perfect read-aloud and a classic in the making.

About the Author

George Selden (1929-1989) wrote not only the adventures of Chester, Harry, Tucker, and their friends but also The Genie of Sutton Place, which was one of School Library Journal’s Best Books of the Year.

 

Garth Williams (1912-1996) illustrated all of George Selden’s Chester Cricket books. His other distinguished work includes Charlotte’s Web, Stuart Little, and the Little House books.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780312380038
Author:
Selden, George
Publisher:
Square Fish
Illustrator:
Williams, Garth
Author:
Lieb, Josh
Author:
Salamon, Julie
Author:
Rosen, Gary R.
Author:
Sloan, Holly Goldberg
Author:
Williams, Garth
Author:
Rosen, Gary
Author:
Weber, Jill
Subject:
General Juvenile Fiction
Subject:
General
Subject:
Cats
Subject:
Mice
Subject:
Science Fiction, Fantasy, & Magic
Subject:
Animals - Insects Spiders etc.
Subject:
New york (n.y.)
Subject:
Animals - Mice Hamsters Guinea Pigs etc.
Subject:
Animals - Cats
Subject:
Classics
Subject:
Fantasy
Subject:
Magic
Subject:
Fantasy & Magic
Subject:
Children s-General
Subject:
Readers - Beginner
Subject:
Action & Adventure
Subject:
Lifestyles - City & Town Life
Subject:
Lifestyles/City & T
Subject:
own Life
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series:
Chester Cricket and His Friends
Publication Date:
20080431
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 3 to 6
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Black-and-white illustrations
Pages:
192
Dimensions:
7.5 x 6 in 1 lb
Age Level:
08-12

Other books you might like

  1. The Twenty-One Balloons (Puffin...
    Used Trade Paper $2.95
  2. Pippi Longstocking (Seafarer Book) Used Trade Paper $4.50
  3. Tuck Everlasting Used Mass Market $1.95
  4. In the Year of the Boar and Jackie...
    Used Trade Paper $2.95
  5. The Mouse and the Motorcycle (Avon...
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  6. Stone Fox Used Mass Market $1.95

Related Subjects


Children's » Animals » Insects, Spiders, etc.
Children's » Awards » Newbery Award Winners
Children's » Featured Titles
Children's » General
Children's » Middle Readers » Newbery Award Winners
Children's » Sale Books
Young Adult » Fiction » Newbery Award Winners
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Friendship
Young Adult » General

The Cricket in Times Square (Chester Cricket and His Friends) Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$3.50 In Stock
Product details 192 pages Square Fish - English 9780312380038 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
A mouse, a cat, and a cricket take a bite out of the Big Apple.
"Synopsis" by ,
The New York Times bestselling author of I Am A Genius of Unspeakable Evil and I Want to Be Your Class President reinvents the Excalibur legend—with rats!

When Joey is bitten by an elderly rat, he goes from aspiring seventh-grader to three-inch tall rodent.

At first, Joey is amazed by his new rat self. The city streets call to him at night. Smells that would have repelled him before are suddenly tantalizing. (A chicken bone? Yes! A squashed cockroach? Like perfume!) And wow, the freedom! But when a bout of hunger leads Joey to pull the spork from the scone, he finds himself at the center of a longtime rat prophecy.

Joey has unwittingly unlocked the sword Ratscalibur; and now, it is up to him to protect his new rat friends from the evil crows who seek to destroy their peaceful kingdom. But what does an eleven-year-old know about actual swordplay? And what happens when Joey no longer wants to be a rat?

"Synopsis" by ,
Fans of E.B. White and Dick King-Smith will adore this heartwarming and funny animal adventure by the award-winning author of Counting by 7s

Mama has trained up her baby possums in the ways of their breed, and now its time for all of them—even little Appleblossom—to make their way in the world. Appleblossom knows the rules: she must never be seen during the day, and she must avoid cars, humans, and the dreaded hairies (sometimes known as dogs). Even so, Appleblossom decides to spy on a human family—and accidentally falls down their chimney! The curious Appleblossom, her faithful brothers—who launch a hilarious rescue mission—and even the little girl in the house have no idea how fascinating the big world can be. But they're about to find out!

With dynamic illustrations, a tight-knit family, and a glimpse at the world from a charming little marsupial's point of view, this cozy animal story is a perfect read-aloud and a classic in the making.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.