Mega Dose
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | September 15, 2014

    Lois Leveen: IMG Forsooth Me Not: Shakespeare, Juliet, Her Nurse, and a Novel



    There's this writer, William Shakespeare. Perhaps you've heard of him. He wrote this play, Romeo and Juliet. Maybe you've heard of it as well. It's... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$9.50
List price: $19.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Sociology- Urban Studies City Specific

This title in other editions

Sidewalk

by

Sidewalk Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

An exceptional ethnography marked by clarity and candor, Sidewalk takes us into the socio-cultural environment of those who, though often seen as threatening or unseemly, work day after day on “the blocks” of one of New Yorks most diverse neighborhoods. Sociologist Duneier, author of Slims Table, offers an accessible and compelling group portrait of several poor black men who make their livelihoods on the sidewalks of Greenwich Village selling secondhand goods, panhandling, and scavenging books and magazines.

Duneier spent five years with these individuals, and in Sidewalk he argues that, contrary to the opinion of various city officials, they actually contribute significantly to the order and well-being of the Village. An important study of the heart and mind of the street, Sidewalk also features an insightful afterword by longtime book vendor Hakim Hasan. This fascinating study reveals todays urban life in all its complexity: its vitality, its conflicts about class and race, and its surprising opportunities for empathy among strangers.

Sidewalk is an excellent supplementary text for a range of courses:

INTRODUCTION TO SOCIOLOGY: Shows how to make important links between micro and macro; how a research project works; how sociology can transform common sense.

RACE AND ETHNIC RELATIONS: Untangles race, class, and gender as they work together on the street.

URBAN STUDIES: Asks how public space is used and contested by men and women, blacks and whites, rich and poor, and how street life and political economy interact.

DEVIANCE: Looks at labeling processes in treatment of the homeless;

interrogates the “broken windows” theory of policing.

LAW AND SOCIETY: Closely examines the connections between formal and informal systems of social control.

METHODS: Shows how ethnography works; includes a detailed methodological appendix and an afterword by research subject Hakim Hasan.

CULTURAL ANTHROPOLOGY: Sidewalk engages the rich terrain of recent developments regarding representation, writing, and authority; in the tradition of Elliot Liebow and Ulf Hannerz, it deals with age old problems of the social and cultural experience of inequality; this is a telling study of culture on the margins of American society.

CULTURAL STUDIES: Breaking down disciplinary boundaries, Sidewalk shows how books and magazines are received and interpreted in discussions among working-class people on the sidewalk; it shows how cultural knowledge is deployed by vendors and scavengers to generate subsistence in public space.

SOCIOLOGY OF CULTURE: Sidewalk demonstrates the connections between culture and human agency and innovation; it interrogates distinctions between legitimate subcultures and deviant collectivities; it illustrates conflicts over cultural diversity in public space; and, ultimately, it shows how conflicts over meaning are central to social life.

About the Author

Mitchell Duneier is an associate professor of sociology at the University of Wisconsin-Madison and the University of California at Santa Barbara. His first book, Slim's Table, received the 1994 Distinguished Publication Award from the American Sociological Association.

Ovie Carter, a photographer for the Chicago Tribune, has received the Pulitzer Prize and multiple awards of Excellence from the National Association of Black Journalists.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780374527259
Foreword:
Carter, Ovie
Author:
Hasan, Hakim
Photographer:
Carter, Ovie
Author:
ell
Author:
Carter, Ovie
Author:
Duneier, Mitchell
Author:
Duneier, Mitch
Publisher:
Farrar Straus Giroux
Subject:
City and town life
Subject:
Sociology - Urban
Subject:
African American Studies
Subject:
Afro-american men
Subject:
Ethnic Studies - African American Studies
Subject:
Ethnic Studies - African American Studies - General
Subject:
Anthropology - Cultural
Subject:
United states
Subject:
City and town life -- United States.
Subject:
City and town life - New York (State) -
Subject:
African American Studies-General
Subject:
Sociology - General
Copyright:
Publication Date:
20001231
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Includes 77 black-and-white photographs
Pages:
400
Dimensions:
8.26 x 5.54 x 1.125 in

Other books you might like

  1. No Shame in My Game: the Working... Used Trade Paper $5.50
  2. Urban Problems in Sociological Perspecti Used Trade Paper $5.50
  3. Nickel and Dimed: On (Not) Getting... Used Hardcover $4.95
  4. The Souls of Black Folk (Dover... Used Trade Paper $2.95
  5. Obedience To Authority Used Trade Paper $3.50
  6. In Search of Respect: Selling Crack...
    Used Trade Paper $11.50

Related Subjects


History and Social Science » African American Studies » General
History and Social Science » Sociology » General
History and Social Science » Sociology » Urban Studies » City Specific
History and Social Science » Sociology » Urban Studies » General

Sidewalk Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$9.50 In Stock
Product details 400 pages Farrar Straus Giroux - English 9780374527259 Reviews:
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.