The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 15, 2014

Lois Leveen: IMG Forsooth Me Not: Shakespeare, Juliet, Her Nurse, and a Novel



There's this writer, William Shakespeare. Perhaps you've heard of him. He wrote this play, Romeo and Juliet. Maybe you've heard of it as well. It's... Continue »
  1. $18.19 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Juliet's Nurse

    Lois Leveen 9781476757445

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$6.95
List price: $16.99
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Local Warehouse Children's Picture Books- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

Duck and Goose

by

Duck and Goose Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

"That egg is mine! I saw it first," says Goose. "I touched it first. It's mine," declares Duck.

Like James Marshall's George and Martha, and Rosemary Wells's Benjamin and Tulip, Duck and Goose have to work at getting along. You see, Duck doesn't much care for Goose at first — and Goose isn't fond of Duck — but both want the egg that each claims to be his. As the two tend to their egg, and make plans for the future, they come to appreciate one another's strengths. And when a bluebird points out that it isn't really an egg — it's a polka dot ball — the two are not dismayed. After all, it is a lovely ball....

Filled with humor that young children will appreciate — and recognize! — and starring two unforgettable characters, Duck and Goose has all the ingredients of a classic-in-the-making.

Review:

"Olivia wants Duck and Goose for her birthday. Not the book, she's read the book, she loves the book. Now she wants Duck and Goose." Ian Falconer in The New Yorker

Review:

"The colors are delightful, the whimsical portrayal of each bird is attractive enough, and the text weaves it all together in a happy resolution in this wonderful story of sharing, conflict resolution, humility, and even play. Mr. Hills has a bright future ahead of him if this book is indicative of forthcoming works." Children's Literature

Review:

"The cartoon-style oil paintings set against soft-focus, almost impressionistic backgrounds keep Duck and Goose center stage, and their expressions are priceless. A sweet addition." School Library Journal

Review:

"Duck and Goose's gradual shift from adversaries to partners to playmates is indicated artfully by effective but subtle changes in book design and text. Readers will likely hope to see more of this adorable odd couple." Kikrus Reviews

Synopsis:

From the illustrator of Little Pea comes a gleeful, goofy, gorgeous celebration of being new, curious, and ready to take on the world--perfect for fans of Duck and Goose

A baby chick bursts from his egg and into the world with hilarious enthusiasm, awe, and I-can't-help-myself energy, capturing babies' delight in new discovery and parents' joy in this amazing new person. Rompy, rhyming text evokes the zeal of a toddler who's eager for everything. And Jen Corace's gorgeous artwork is alive with critters and curiosities and surprises--the biggest of which? The hatching of a new baby sister, to the absolute delight of her now "expert" big brother!

Breathless, breathtaking, and downright funny, this story is sure to find fans in new moms, toddlers, and big brothers and sisters too.

Synopsis:

Step aside, Bert and Ernie, the new odd couple is here! 

Pug and Doug are best friends. They both love doughnuts, bird watching, and polka music. They are also very different. Doug has a big imagination. Pug…not so much. When a misunderstanding between the friends hurts Doug’s feelings, Pug must find a way to set things right.  

This charming and hilarious odd-couple friendship story is perfect for best buddies who usually, but don’t always, see eye-to-eye.

About the Author

Tad Hills is the author and illustrator of the New York Times bestselling book, Duck & Goose, called " expressive" and "adorable" in a starred review from Kirkus Reviews. He is also the illustrator of My Fuzzy Friends and Knock, Knock, Who's There? A painter, an actor, and an obsessive Halloween costume maker, he lives in Brooklyn, New York, with his wife and children.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780375836114
Author:
Hills, Tad
Publisher:
Schwartz & Wade Books
Author:
Breen, Steve
Author:
Esbaum, Jill
Author:
Foley, Greg
Author:
Corace, Jen
Author:
Dominguez, Angela
Subject:
Children's 4-8 - Picturebooks
Subject:
Interpersonal Relations
Subject:
Children's 4-8 - Fiction - General
Subject:
Ducks
Subject:
Animals - Ducks, Geese, Etc.
Subject:
Social Issues - Values
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction-Values and Virtues
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction
Subject:
Animals - Bears
Subject:
Animals - Birds
Subject:
Animals - Dogs
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardback - picture book
Series:
Duck & Goose
Publication Date:
20060131
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from P up to 2
Language:
English
Illustrations:
YES
Pages:
40
Dimensions:
9 x 9 in 1 lb
Children's Book Type:
Picture / Wordless
Age Level:
03-07

Other books you might like

  1. Time to Get Out of Bath, Shirley New Trade Paper $8.99
  2. Mouse's First Summer Used Trade Paper $7.95
  3. Gregory's Shadow Used Hardcover $9.50
  4. Grimm's Fairy Tales: A Peter... Used Hardcover $9.50
  5. Cinderella New Hardcover $16.99
  6. Alphabatics Used Trade Paper $2.50

Related Subjects


Children's » Animals » Ducks, Geese, etc.
Children's » Picture Books » A to Z
Children's » Picture Books » General
Children's » Sale Books
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Values and Virtues

Duck and Goose Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$6.95 In Stock
Product details 40 pages Schwartz & Wade Books - English 9780375836114 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Olivia wants Duck and Goose for her birthday. Not the book, she's read the book, she loves the book. Now she wants Duck and Goose."
"Review" by , "The colors are delightful, the whimsical portrayal of each bird is attractive enough, and the text weaves it all together in a happy resolution in this wonderful story of sharing, conflict resolution, humility, and even play. Mr. Hills has a bright future ahead of him if this book is indicative of forthcoming works."
"Review" by , "The cartoon-style oil paintings set against soft-focus, almost impressionistic backgrounds keep Duck and Goose center stage, and their expressions are priceless. A sweet addition."
"Review" by , "Duck and Goose's gradual shift from adversaries to partners to playmates is indicated artfully by effective but subtle changes in book design and text. Readers will likely hope to see more of this adorable odd couple."
"Synopsis" by ,
From the illustrator of Little Pea comes a gleeful, goofy, gorgeous celebration of being new, curious, and ready to take on the world--perfect for fans of Duck and Goose

A baby chick bursts from his egg and into the world with hilarious enthusiasm, awe, and I-can't-help-myself energy, capturing babies' delight in new discovery and parents' joy in this amazing new person. Rompy, rhyming text evokes the zeal of a toddler who's eager for everything. And Jen Corace's gorgeous artwork is alive with critters and curiosities and surprises--the biggest of which? The hatching of a new baby sister, to the absolute delight of her now "expert" big brother!

Breathless, breathtaking, and downright funny, this story is sure to find fans in new moms, toddlers, and big brothers and sisters too.

"Synopsis" by ,
Step aside, Bert and Ernie, the new odd couple is here! 

Pug and Doug are best friends. They both love doughnuts, bird watching, and polka music. They are also very different. Doug has a big imagination. Pug…not so much. When a misunderstanding between the friends hurts Doug’s feelings, Pug must find a way to set things right.  

This charming and hilarious odd-couple friendship story is perfect for best buddies who usually, but don’t always, see eye-to-eye.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.