Magnificent Marvel Supersale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | March 10, 2015

    J. C. Hallman: IMG One in the Oven; or, Why You Should Suck It Up and Meet Your Favorite Author



    At first, I was dead set against it. I would not try to meet Nicholson Baker while I was writing a book about Nicholson Baker. I had a good reason... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$9.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Children's Young Adult- General

The Theory of Everything

by

The Theory of Everything Cover

ISBN13: 9780399256264
ISBN10: 0399256261
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $9.95!

 

Awards

2014 Oregon Book Award for Young Adult Literature

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

One part Libba Bray's GOING BOVINE, two parts String Theory, and three parts love story equals a whimsical novel that will change the way you think about the world.

Sophie Sophia is obsessed with music from the late eighties. She also has an eccentric physicist father who sometimes vanishes for days and sees things other people don’t see. But when he disappears for good and Sophie’s mom moves them from Brooklyn, New York, to Havencrest, Illinois, for a fresh start, things take a turn for the weird. Sophie starts seeing things, like marching band pandas, just like her dad.

Guided by Walt, her shaman panda, and her new (human) friend named Finny, Sophie is determined to find her father and figure out her visions, once and for all. So she travels back to where it began — New York City and NYU’s physics department. As she discovers more about her dad’s research on M-theory and her father himself, Sophie opens her eyes to the world’s infinite possibilities — and her heart to love.

Perfect for fans of Going Bovine, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, Scott Pilgrim vs. The World and The Probability of Miracles.

About the Author

Kari Luna (www.kariluna.com) writes stories, teaches yoga and eats apricots. She also covets cashmere sweaters, collects toys from the sixties and thinks soul music is the cure for everything. She lives in Portland, Oregon. You can visit the fictional Sophie Sophia, read her blog, and download mixtapes at www.thetheoryofeverythingbook.com.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

Beverly B, April 24, 2015 (view all comments by Beverly B)
An odd story, quirky protagonist and lovable shaman panda make for an entertaining and memorable story. The Theory of Everything is a coming of age story with a twist. Sophia is an unreliable narrator, maybe. Sophia is having a difficult time. She is the new kid in school and wants to make a good impression. Her plan fails when the cafeteria workers start to perform Rock N Roll High School by the Ramones. Sophie dives into the mosh pit only to discover there was no performance, and she is flat on her back on the table of the mean girls. Sophie's mother moved them away from her father and his dangerously erratic behavior. Now, Sophie is experiencing the same strange visions as her father. Sophie's best friend thinks she is hallucinating. Her mother fears Sophie is mentally ill, but Sophie is convinced the visions are some kind of parallel universe. When the visions start coming more frequently, Sophie fears her mother will put her in a mental hospital. With help from her shaman giant panda, Walt, and her new best friend, Finny, Sophie goes in search of her father and answers to what is happening to her.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
Miss Anonymous, July 10, 2014 (view all comments by Miss Anonymous)
I haven't read this book yet but.... PANDAS ARE AWESOME. So I know I will love this book.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780399256264
Author:
Luna, Kari
Publisher:
Philomel Books
Subject:
Situations / Emotions & Feelings
Subject:
Family - General
Subject:
Children s-General
Edition Description:
Hardback
Publication Date:
20130731
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 9
Language:
English
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
8.48 x 5.87 x 1.24 in 1.03 lb
Age Level:
from 14

Other books you might like

  1. The Sky Is Everywhere
    New Trade Paper $9.99
  2. In the Shadow of Blackbirds
    New Trade Paper $8.95
  3. Tales From Ovid Used Trade Paper $6.50
  4. Turn Around Bright Eyes: The Rituals... Used Hardcover $9.95
  5. The Gift (Vintage International) Used Trade Paper $10.50
  6. Hollywood Said No!: Orphaned Film...
    Sale Trade Paper $8.98

Related Subjects

Business » Featured Titles
Children's » Featured Titles
Children's » General
Children's » Sale Books
Children's » Staff Picks
Featured Titles » General
Young Adult » Featured Titles
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Depression and Mental Illness
Young Adult » General

The Theory of Everything Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$9.95 In Stock
Product details 320 pages Philomel Books - English 9780399256264 Reviews:
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.