This is the International Mystery Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | March 26, 2015

    Kyle Boelte: IMG Selfies, Memoir, and the World Beyond the Self



    When I was a teenager in Colorado during the late '90s, I liked to climb 14ers — 14,000-foot mountains. I'd often hike with friends, and at... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$17.00
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Literature- A to Z
2 Burnside Literature- A to Z
2 Hawthorne Literature- A to Z
25 Local Warehouse Literature- A to Z
62 Local Warehouse Featured Titles- Literature
25 Remote Warehouse Literature- A to Z

Blasphemy: New and Selected Stories

by

Blasphemy: New and Selected Stories Cover

ISBN13: 9780802121752
ISBN10: 0802121756
All Product Details

 

Awards

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A bold and irreverent observer of life among Native Americans in the Pacific Northwest, the daring, versatile, funny, and outrageous Alexie showcases his many talents in Blasphemy, where he unites fifteen beloved classics with sixteen new stories in one sweeping anthology for devoted fans and first-time readers. Included here are some of his most esteemed tales, including “What You Pawn I Will Redeem,” in which a homeless Indian man quests to win back a family heirloom; “This Is What It Means to Say Phoenix, Arizona,” a road-trip morality tale; “The Toughest Indian in the World,” about a night shared between a writer and a hitchhiker; and his most recent, “War Dances,” about a man grappling with sudden hearing loss in the wake of his fathers death. Alexies new stories are fresh and quintessential, about donkey basketball leagues, lethal wind turbines, a twenty-four-hour Asian manicure salon, good and bad marriages, and all species of warriors in America today.

An indispensable Alexie collection, Blasphemy reminds us, on every thrilling page, why Alexie is one of our greatest contemporary writers and a true master of the short story.

Review:

"Alexie once again reasserts himself as one the most compelling contemporary practitioners of the short story. In Blasphemy, the author demonstrates his talent on nearly every page. . . . Will appeal to fans of Junot Diaz, George Saunders, and readers new to Alexie will find this enriching collection to be the perfect introduction to a formidable literary voice. . . . [Alexie] illuminates the lives of his characters in unique, surprising, and, ultimately, hopeful ways." Boston Globe

Review:

"Told in [Alexie's] irreverent, unforgettable voice . . . You'll feel you've been transported inside the soul of a deeply wounded people. But they are a people too comfortable in their brown skins to allow those wounds to break them. . . . With irony and sardonic wit, the Native men and women in Alexie's imagination find a way forward, and they endure. . . . [A] great triumph." Los Angeles Times

Review:

"Tough, warmhearted, rowdy, and moving....Alexie's achievement here is his depiction of the tangled complexities of race — that great open secret of American life — in an undidactic and utterly natural way." The Washington Post

Review:

"If literary fiction in its purest form is meant to be an accurate reflection of human experience and its inevitable ambiguities, Alexie skillfully offers us this in Blasphemy. . . . What Alexie makes poignantly clear in the stories he has written in his long and robust career is that we cannot choose whom we fall in love with, nor can we choose who, fundamentally, we are." San Francisco Chronicle

Review:

"In these comfort-zone-destroying tales, including the masterpiece, 'War Dances,' his characters grapple with racism, damaging stereotypes, poverty, alcoholism, diabetes, and the tragic loss of languages and customs. Questions of authenticity and identity abound....Alexie writes with arresting perception in praise of marriage, in mockery of hypocrisy, and with concern for endangered truths and imperiled nature. He is mischievously and mordantly funny, scathingly forthright, deeply and universally compassionate, and wholly magnetizing. This is a must-have collection." Donna Seaman, Booklist (starred review)

Review:

"[A] sterling collection of short stories by Alexie, a master of the form....The newer pieces are full of surprises....These pieces show Alexie at his best: as an interpreter and observer, always funny if sometimes angry, and someone, as a cop says of one of his characters, who doesn't 'fit the profile of the neighborhood.'" Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Review:

"Alexie hammers away at ever-simmering issues, like racism, addiction, and infidelity, using a no-holds-barred approach and seamlessly shattering the boundary between character and reader. But while these glimpses into a harried and conflicted humanity prod our consciousness, there's plenty of bawdiness and Alexie's signature wicked humor throughout to balance out the weight." Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Review:

"Told with his hallmark wit and candor [Blasphemy] captures the splendors of [Alexie's] considerable talent." Kit Mauldin, Portland Monthly

About the Author

Alexie is a poet, novelist, and screenwriter. He has won the Pen/Faulkner Award, Stranger Genius Award in Literature, Boston Globe-Horn Book Award for Excellence in Children's Literature, and the Malamud Award.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

NicholasK, March 2, 2015 (view all comments by NicholasK)
Alexie is a proficient writer in various forms of writing; most notably skilled in the art of the short story. In this collection of stories, Alexie details the lives of many characters, most of whom Native American in ethnicity, in a way that can only truly be described as literary art. Each character is so well developed, in such a short allotment of page space, that one can truly recognize the talent level of Alexie as a writer. His stories speak to the most human of levels in the reader, allowing the gauntlet of emotions felt to at once captivate the reader, and move the reader into challenging preconceived notions of how the world works. At times, I had to remind myself that these were fictional stories, rather than essays of nonfiction or memoir.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780802121752
Subtitle:
New and Selected Stories
Author:
Alexie, Sherman
Publisher:
Grove Press
Subject:
Stories (single author)
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Publication Date:
20131008
Binding:
Paperback
Language:
English
Pages:
480
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in

Other books you might like

  1. Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore
    Used Trade Paper $8.00
  2. The Round House (P.S.)
    Used Trade Paper $10.50
  3. Cocktail Hour under the Tree of...
    Used Trade Paper $8.00

Related Subjects

Featured Titles » General
Featured Titles » Literature
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Featured Titles
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Featured Titles » No Word Wasted Sale
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Sale Books
History and Social Science » Ethnic Studies » General
History and Social Science » Native American » Literature

Blasphemy: New and Selected Stories New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$17.00 In Stock
Product details 480 pages Grove Press - English 9780802121752 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Alexie once again reasserts himself as one the most compelling contemporary practitioners of the short story. In Blasphemy, the author demonstrates his talent on nearly every page. . . . Will appeal to fans of Junot Diaz, George Saunders, and readers new to Alexie will find this enriching collection to be the perfect introduction to a formidable literary voice. . . . [Alexie] illuminates the lives of his characters in unique, surprising, and, ultimately, hopeful ways."
"Review" by , "Told in [Alexie's] irreverent, unforgettable voice . . . You'll feel you've been transported inside the soul of a deeply wounded people. But they are a people too comfortable in their brown skins to allow those wounds to break them. . . . With irony and sardonic wit, the Native men and women in Alexie's imagination find a way forward, and they endure. . . . [A] great triumph."
"Review" by , "Tough, warmhearted, rowdy, and moving....Alexie's achievement here is his depiction of the tangled complexities of race — that great open secret of American life — in an undidactic and utterly natural way."
"Review" by , "If literary fiction in its purest form is meant to be an accurate reflection of human experience and its inevitable ambiguities, Alexie skillfully offers us this in Blasphemy. . . . What Alexie makes poignantly clear in the stories he has written in his long and robust career is that we cannot choose whom we fall in love with, nor can we choose who, fundamentally, we are."
"Review" by , "In these comfort-zone-destroying tales, including the masterpiece, 'War Dances,' his characters grapple with racism, damaging stereotypes, poverty, alcoholism, diabetes, and the tragic loss of languages and customs. Questions of authenticity and identity abound....Alexie writes with arresting perception in praise of marriage, in mockery of hypocrisy, and with concern for endangered truths and imperiled nature. He is mischievously and mordantly funny, scathingly forthright, deeply and universally compassionate, and wholly magnetizing. This is a must-have collection."
"Review" by , "[A] sterling collection of short stories by Alexie, a master of the form....The newer pieces are full of surprises....These pieces show Alexie at his best: as an interpreter and observer, always funny if sometimes angry, and someone, as a cop says of one of his characters, who doesn't 'fit the profile of the neighborhood.'"
"Review" by , "Alexie hammers away at ever-simmering issues, like racism, addiction, and infidelity, using a no-holds-barred approach and seamlessly shattering the boundary between character and reader. But while these glimpses into a harried and conflicted humanity prod our consciousness, there's plenty of bawdiness and Alexie's signature wicked humor throughout to balance out the weight."
"Review" by , "Told with his hallmark wit and candor [Blasphemy] captures the splendors of [Alexie's] considerable talent."
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.