The Fictioning
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Interviews | September 2, 2014

    Jill Owens: IMG David Mitchell: The Powells.com Interview



    David Mitchell's newest mind-bending, time-skipping novel may be his most accomplished work yet. Written in six sections, one per decade, The Bone... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$16.50
List price: $24.00
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Burnside SF- W

More copies of this ISBN

The Martian

by

The Martian Cover

ISBN13: 9780804139021
ISBN10: 0804139024
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $16.50!

 

Staff Pick

An absolutely riveting adventure about an astronaut stranded on Mars and what he must do to survive. White-knuckle, nail-biting sci-fi adventure at its best. You will never look at a potato the same way after reading this.
Recommended by Mary Jo, Powells.com

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Six days ago, astronaut Mark Watney became one of the first people to walk on Mars.

Now, he's sure he'll be the first person to die there.

After a dust storm nearly kills him and forces his crew to evacuate while thinking him dead, Mark finds himself stranded and completely alone with no way to even signal Earth that he’s alive — and even if he could get word out, his supplies would be gone long before a rescue could arrive.

Chances are, though, he won't have time to starve to death. The damaged machinery, unforgiving environment, or plain-old "human error" are much more likely to kill him first.

But Mark isn't ready to give up yet. Drawing on his ingenuity, his engineering skills — and a relentless, dogged refusal to quit — he steadfastly confronts one seemingly insurmountable obstacle after the next. Will his resourcefulness be enough to overcome the impossible odds against him?

Review:

“One of the best thrillers I’ve read in a long time. It feels so real it could almost be nonfiction, and yet it has the narrative drive and power of a rocket launch. This is Apollo 13 times ten.” Douglas Preston, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Impact and Blasphemy

Review:

“A book I just couldn’t put down! It has the very rare combination of a good, original story, interestingly real characters and fascinating technical accuracy…reads like MacGyver meets Mysterious Island. Astronaut Chris Hadfield, Commander of the International Space Station and author of An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth

Review:

"The best book I've read in ages. Clear your schedule before you crack the seal. This story will take your breath away faster than a hull breech. Smart, funny, and white-knuckle intense, The Martian is everything you want from a novel." Hugh Howey, New York Times bestselling author of Wool

Review:

The Martian kicked my ass! Weir has crafted a relentlessly entertaining and inventive survival thriller, a MacGyver-trapped-on-Mars tale that feels just as real and harrowing as the true story of Apollo 13.” Ernest Cline, New York Times bestselling author of Ready Player One

Review:

“Gripping…shapes up like Defoe’s Robinson Crusoe as written by someone brighter.” Larry Niven, multiple Hugo and Nebula Award-winning author of the Ringworld series and Lucifer’s Hammer

Review:

“The tension simply never lets up, from the first page to the last, and at no point does the believability falter for even a second. You can't shake the feeling that this could all really happen.” Patrick Lee, New York Times bestselling author of The Breach and Ghost Country

Review:

"Strong, resilient, and gutsy. It's Robinson Crusoe on Mars, 21st century style. Set aside a chunk of free time when you start this one. You're going to need it because you won't want to put it down." Steve Berry, New York Times bestselling author of The King’s Deception and The Columbus Affair

Review:

“An excellent first novel…Weir laces the technical details with enough keen wit to satisfy hard science fiction fan and general reader alike [and] keeps the story escalating to a riveting conclusion.” Publisher’s Weekly (starred)

Review:

"Riveting...a tightly constructed and completely believable story of a man's ingenuity and strength in the face of seemingly insurmountable odds." Booklist

Review:

“Sharp, funny and thrilling, with just the right amount of geekery….Weir displays a virtuosic ability to write about highly technical situations without leaving readers far behind. The result is a story that is as plausible as it is compelling.” Kirkus

Review:

"Weir combines the heart-stopping with the humorous in this brilliant debut novel...by placing a nail-biting life-and-death situation on Mars and adding a snarky and wise-cracking nerdy hero, Weir has created the perfect mix of action and space adventure." Library Journal (starred)

About the Author

Andy Weir was first hired as a programmer for a national laboratory at age fifteen and has been working as a software engineer ever since. He is also a lifelong space nerd and a devoted hobbyist of subjects like relativistic physics, orbital mechanics, and the history of manned spaceflight. The Martian is his first novel.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 8 comments:

nikkihsu, October 25, 2014 (view all comments by nikkihsu)
The Martian is a glorious and thrilling read that is a triumph of problem solving and out-of-the-box thinking ! It's an intense, face-paced and engaging outer space adventure portrayed through wisecrack humour as Mark Watney (botanist and engineer) navigates his course for survival. The story starts small, and personal, but really widens its scope and stays realistic even though he is expected to survive on MARS! The character Mark Watney is brilliant, humorous, relentlessly hopeful and heroic; he is Macguyver x1000 !! Majority of the story is written in his log, but expands to include other perspectives and each character is well drawn and distinct. Some of the science jargon is a slight inconvenience if that is something that will deter from the reading, but Andy Weir explains the complex ideas and situations with ease and clarity. This book is a celebration of courage, intelligence, bravery and survival! It is magnificent!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
b5dm, October 22, 2014 (view all comments by b5dm)
Great book and sci-fi story in the tradition of AC Clarke and KS Robinson.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
chipkerchner, October 21, 2014 (view all comments by chipkerchner)
A very slow start to the book - due to mostly boring log entries. Plus I was wondering how someone apparently so average sounding, got to be the 17th person on Mars. But as Mark Watney (the astronaut left behind) has to come up with creative approaches to stay alive, some that work and some that don't, the book builds up steam. Characters could have been more deep and Mark's sense of humor to a bit weird. But by the end, it's hard to put the book down.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
View all 8 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780804139021
Author:
Weir, Andy
Publisher:
Crown
Subject:
Science / Adventure
Subject:
Science Fiction and Fantasy-Adventure
Copyright:
Publication Date:
20140211
Binding:
Hardback
Language:
English
Pages:
384
Dimensions:
9.41 x 6.44 x 1.3 in 1.3 lb

Other books you might like

  1. The Casual Vacancy
    Used Hardcover $8.95
  2. Journey Into Fear Used Mass Market $2.50
  3. Wasp Factory
    Sale Trade Paper $7.98
  4. A Student's Guide to the Mathematics... New Trade Paper $28.99

Related Subjects

Featured Titles » Bestsellers
Featured Titles » General
Featured Titles » Genre
Featured Titles » Staff Favorites
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Suspense
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Adventure

The Martian Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$16.50 In Stock
Product details 384 pages Crown - English 9780804139021 Reviews:
"Staff Pick" by ,

An absolutely riveting adventure about an astronaut stranded on Mars and what he must do to survive. White-knuckle, nail-biting sci-fi adventure at its best. You will never look at a potato the same way after reading this.

"Review" by , “One of the best thrillers I’ve read in a long time. It feels so real it could almost be nonfiction, and yet it has the narrative drive and power of a rocket launch. This is Apollo 13 times ten.”
"Review" by , “A book I just couldn’t put down! It has the very rare combination of a good, original story, interestingly real characters and fascinating technical accuracy…reads like MacGyver meets Mysterious Island. Astronaut Chris Hadfield, Commander of the International Space Station and author of An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth
"Review" by , "The best book I've read in ages. Clear your schedule before you crack the seal. This story will take your breath away faster than a hull breech. Smart, funny, and white-knuckle intense, The Martian is everything you want from a novel."
"Review" by , The Martian kicked my ass! Weir has crafted a relentlessly entertaining and inventive survival thriller, a MacGyver-trapped-on-Mars tale that feels just as real and harrowing as the true story of Apollo 13.”
"Review" by , “Gripping…shapes up like Defoe’s Robinson Crusoe as written by someone brighter.” Larry Niven, multiple Hugo and Nebula Award-winning author of the Ringworld series and Lucifer’s Hammer
"Review" by , “The tension simply never lets up, from the first page to the last, and at no point does the believability falter for even a second. You can't shake the feeling that this could all really happen.”
"Review" by , "Strong, resilient, and gutsy. It's Robinson Crusoe on Mars, 21st century style. Set aside a chunk of free time when you start this one. You're going to need it because you won't want to put it down."
"Review" by , “An excellent first novel…Weir laces the technical details with enough keen wit to satisfy hard science fiction fan and general reader alike [and] keeps the story escalating to a riveting conclusion.”
"Review" by , "Riveting...a tightly constructed and completely believable story of a man's ingenuity and strength in the face of seemingly insurmountable odds."
"Review" by , “Sharp, funny and thrilling, with just the right amount of geekery….Weir displays a virtuosic ability to write about highly technical situations without leaving readers far behind. The result is a story that is as plausible as it is compelling.”
"Review" by , "Weir combines the heart-stopping with the humorous in this brilliant debut novel...by placing a nail-biting life-and-death situation on Mars and adding a snarky and wise-cracking nerdy hero, Weir has created the perfect mix of action and space adventure."
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.