25 Women to Read Before You Die
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays, Recipes | August 19, 2015

    Cara Nicoletti: IMG Ramona Quimby Yogurt-Marinated Chicken Thighs



    As a kid, I read for two reasons: the first, and most common, was to escape from my everyday life by imagining a different one — to read about... Continue »
    1. $19.60 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$13.50
List price: $19.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Literature- A to Z

Gone with the Wind

by

Gone with the Wind Cover

ISBN13: 9781451635621
ISBN10: 1451635621
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $13.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

“Downton Abbey” meets The Selection in this dystopian tale of love and betrayal

Sixteen-year-old Madeline Landry is practically Gentry royalty. Her ancestor developed the nuclear energy that has replaced electricity, and her parents exemplify the glamour of the upper class. As for Madeline, she would much rather read a book than attend yet another debutante ball. But when she learns about the devastating impact the Gentry lifestyle—her lifestyle—is having on those less fortunate, her whole world is turned upside down.  As Madeline begins to question everything she has been told, she finds herself increasingly drawn to handsome, beguiling David Dana, who seems to be hiding secrets of his own. Soon, rumors of war and rebellion start to spread, and Madeline finds herself at the center of it all. Ultimately, she must make a choice between duty—her family and the estate she loves dearly—and desire.

Fans of Ally Condie, Kiera Cass, Veronica Roth, and even Jane Austen will be enthralled by this breathtaking read.

Synopsis:

Since its original publication in 1936, Gone With the Wind—winner of the Pulitzer Prize and one of the bestselling novels of all time—has been heralded by readers everywhere as The Great American Novel.

Widely considered The Great American Novel, and often remembered for its epic film version, Gone With the Wind explores the depth of human passions with an intensity as bold as its setting in the red hills of Georgia. A superb piece of storytelling, it vividly depicts the drama of the Civil War and Reconstruction.

This is the tale of Scarlett O’Hara, the spoiled, manipulative daughter of a wealthy plantation owner, who arrives at young womanhood just in time to see the Civil War forever change her way of life. A sweeping story of tangled passion and courage, in the pages of Gone With the Wind, Margaret Mitchell brings to life the unforgettable characters that have captured readers for over seventy years.

Synopsis:

An anniversary edition of Margaret Mitchell's timeless classic.

About the Author

Bethany Hagen

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 3 comments:

lauren99, March 1, 2015 (view all comments by lauren99)
This novel clearly illustrates the Civil War era, especially showing how women were supposed to act. Scarlett O'Hara, the protagonist, defied those expectations. The writing was amazing, ad there was plenty of figurative language that deepened the understanding of the book. The characters were clearly developed and completely fit the time period. All of the pages were enjoyable. Even though the length was incredible, it is well worth the time to read.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
tlsjnj, August 4, 2012 (view all comments by tlsjnj)
My favorite book ever! Silly, I know, but I love it.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
Judy Staley, January 19, 2012 (view all comments by Judy Staley)
I have loved this Gone with the Wind since I was a child. It is the greatest book written.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
View all 3 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9781451635621
Author:
Mitchell, Margaret
Publisher:
Scribner
Author:
Conroy, Pat
Author:
Hagen, Bethany
Subject:
Classics
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Subject:
Scarlett O Hara; Rhett Butler; Atlanta; Mammy; Frankly My Dear; Clark Gable; Vivien Leigh; Tara; Margaret Mitchell; Pulitzer Prize; Civil War; Civil War fiction; Confederate Army; American South; Reconstruction; Academy Award; slavery; historical romance;
Subject:
Scarlett O Hara; Rhett Butler; Atlanta; Mammy; Frankly My Dear; Clark Gable; Vivien Leigh; Tara; Margaret Mitchell; Pulitzer Prize; Civil War; Civil War fiction; Confederate Army; American South; Reconstruction; Academy Award; slavery; historical romance;
Subject:
Scarlett O Hara; Rhett Butler; Atlanta; Mammy; Frankly My Dear; Clark Gable; Vivien Leigh; Tara; Margaret Mitchell; Pulitzer Prize; Civil War; Civil War fiction; Confederate Army; American South; Reconstruction; Academy Award; slavery; historical romance;
Subject:
Scarlett O Hara; Rhett Butler; 75th anniversary; Turner Classic; Atlanta; Mammy; Frankly My Dear; Clark Gable; Vivien Leigh; Tara; Margaret Mitchell; Pulitzer Prize; Civil War; Civil War fiction; Confederate Army; American South; Reconstruction; Academy A
Subject:
Scarlett O Hara; Rhett Butler; 75th anniversary; Turner Classic; Atlanta; Mammy; Frankly My Dear; Clark Gable; Vivien Leigh; Tara; Margaret Mitchell; Pulitzer Prize; Civil War; Civil War fiction; Confederate Army; American South; Reconstruction; Academy A
Subject:
dystopia;romance;social class;
Subject:
Scarlett O Hara; Rhett Butler; 75th anniversary; Turner Classic; Atlanta; Mammy; Frankly My Dear; Clark Gable; Vivien Leigh; Tara; Margaret Mitchell; Pulitzer Prize; Civil War; Civil War fiction; Confederate Army; American South; Reconstruction; Academy A
Subject:
Scarlett O Hara; Rhett Butler; 75th anniversary; Turner Classic; Atlanta; Mammy; Frankly My Dear; Clark Gable; Vivien Leigh; Tara; Margaret Mitchell; Pulitzer Prize; Civil War; Civil War fiction; Confederate Army; American South; Reconstruction; Academy A
Subject:
Scarlett O Hara; Rhett Butler; 75th anniversary; Turner Classic; Atlanta; Mammy; Frankly My Dear; Clark Gable; Vivien Leigh; Tara; Margaret Mitchell; Pulitzer Prize; Civil War; Civil War fiction; Confederate Army; American South; Reconstruction; Academy A
Subject:
Scarlett O Hara; Rhett Butler; 75th anniversary; Turner Classic; Atlanta; Mammy; Frankly My Dear; Clark Gable; Vivien Leigh; Tara; Margaret Mitchell; Pulitzer Prize; Civil War; Civil War fiction; Confederate Army; American South; Reconstruction; Academy A
Subject:
Scarlett O Hara; Rhett Butler; 75th anniversary; Turner Classic; Atlanta; Mammy; Frankly My Dear; Clark Gable; Vivien Leigh; Tara; Margaret Mitchell; Pulitzer Prize; Civil War; Civil War fiction; Confederate Army; American South; Reconstruction; Academy A
Edition Description:
Reissue
Publication Date:
20110503
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
from 9
Language:
English
Pages:
960
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
from 12

Other books you might like

  1. A Fine Balance
    Used Trade Paper $4.95
  2. Daring Spectacle: Adventures in...
    Used Trade Paper $9.95
  3. Unmaking the Public University: The... New Trade Paper $24.25

Related Subjects


Featured Titles » Bestsellers
Featured Titles » Literature
Featured Titles » Pulitzer Prize Winners
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Sale Books

Gone with the Wind Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$13.50 In Stock
Product details 960 pages Scribner Book Company - English 9781451635621 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Since its original publication in 1936, Gone With the Wind—winner of the Pulitzer Prize and one of the bestselling novels of all time—has been heralded by readers everywhere as The Great American Novel.

Widely considered The Great American Novel, and often remembered for its epic film version, Gone With the Wind explores the depth of human passions with an intensity as bold as its setting in the red hills of Georgia. A superb piece of storytelling, it vividly depicts the drama of the Civil War and Reconstruction.

This is the tale of Scarlett O’Hara, the spoiled, manipulative daughter of a wealthy plantation owner, who arrives at young womanhood just in time to see the Civil War forever change her way of life. A sweeping story of tangled passion and courage, in the pages of Gone With the Wind, Margaret Mitchell brings to life the unforgettable characters that have captured readers for over seventy years.

"Synopsis" by , An anniversary edition of Margaret Mitchell's timeless classic.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

       
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.