Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | June 20, 2014

Lauren Owen: IMG The Other Vampire



It's a wild and thundery night. Inside a ramshackle old manor house, a beautiful young girl lies asleep in bed. At the window, a figure watches... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.50
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Beaverton Literature- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

Chasing Rumi: A Fable about Finding the Heart's True Desire

by

Chasing Rumi: A Fable about Finding the Heart's True Desire Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Stirred by the potent poetry of Sufi mystic Rumi, a restless young man embarks on a life altering pilgrimage.

This enchanting story, set in the late 1940s, takes us from the hills and piazzas of Florence to the green-domed mosques of Konya, Turkey. Upon discovering a poem by the Sufi dervish Jelaluddin Rumi, Georgiou, a young Greek icon painter, is compelled to travel to the land that this poet called home. Inspired by Rumi’s magical words, Georgiou leaves his father and their small business in Italy to recapture the power of an early childhood vision. Having experienced a divine connection with a painting as a boy, he seeks to reconnect with the essence of that first transcendent feeling.

Through encounters with Christian and Islamic mystics, Georgiou learns to hear his own voice calling and understand what we all eventually learn - that life is a mystery. The closer he gets to Konya, the keener his perceptions become. But it is not until his arrival that he understands “that earthly and spiritual love, when they are total and without reserve, become one and the same”, and Georigiou’s life is changed forever.

Synopsis:

Inspired by the poetry of Rumi, the great Sufi mystic, a restless young man heads out on an epic voyage of the heart that takes him from the hills of Florence to the mosques of Konya, Turkey, and into the heart of religious mysticism.

Synopsis:

In the tradition of "The Alchemist" and "The Little Prince, " this enchanting story is set in the late 1940s and takes readers from piazzas of Florence to the mosques of Turkey. Upon discovering a poem by the 13th century Sufi dervish Rumi, Georgiou, a young Greek icon painter, is compelled to travel to the land that this poet called home.

Synopsis:

This enchanting story, set in the late 1950s, takes us from the hills and piazzas of Florence to the green domed mosques of Konya, Turkey. Upon discovering a poem by the thirteenth-century Sufi dervish Rumi, Georgiou, a young Greek icon painter, is compelled to travel to the land that this poet called home. Inspired by Rumi's magical words, Georgiou leaves his father and their small business in hopes of recapturing the transcendent power of an early childhood vision.

Through encounters with Christian and Islamic mystics, and guided by forces he cannot name, Georgiou gradually learns to follow his own heart. The closer he gets to Konya and to Rumi's tomb, the more in awe he becomes at the workings of fate. But it is only when Georgiou returns to Florence that his life changes forever in an experience that reveals the mystery of life and love.

In the tradition of The Alchemist and Siddartha, Chasing Rumi is a spellbinding and enduring story for all.

Synopsis:

This enchanting story, set in the late 1950s, takes us from the hills and piazzas of Florence to the green domed mosques of Konya, Turkey. Upon discovering a poem by the thirteenth-century Sufi dervish Rumi, Georgiou, a young Greek icon painter, is compelled to travel to the land that this poet called home. Inspired by Rumi's magical words, Georgiou leaves his father and their small business in hopes of recapturing the transcendent power of an early childhood vision.

About the Author

Roger Housden is the author of several books of nonfiction, including Fire in the Heart, Sacred America, and his new bestselling book, Ten Poems to Change Your Life. He lives with his wife, Maria, in Woodstock, New York. This is his first novel.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780060084455
Subtitle:
A Fable About Finding the Heart's True Desire
Author:
Housden, Roger
Publisher:
HarperOne LANGUAGE: eng
Location:
San Francisco
Subject:
General
Subject:
Visionary & metaphysical
Subject:
Jalal al-Din Rumi
Subject:
General Fiction
Copyright:
Edition Number:
1st ed.
Series Volume:
1
Publication Date:
20021001
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Yes
Pages:
144
Dimensions:
8.71x5.21x.68 in. .57 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Ten Poems to Open Your Heart
    Used Hardcover $9.95
  2. Ten Poems to Change Your Life
    Used Hardcover $9.95
  3. Risking Everything: 110 Poems of... Used Hardcover $11.00
  4. The Essential Rumi Used Hardcover $8.95
  5. The Call: Discovering Why You Are Here Used Hardcover $4.95
  6. Make Way for Ducklings Used Trade Paper $2.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Religion » Islam » Rumi

Chasing Rumi: A Fable about Finding the Heart's True Desire Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.50 In Stock
Product details 144 pages HarperSanFrancisco - English 9780060084455 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Inspired by the poetry of Rumi, the great Sufi mystic, a restless young man heads out on an epic voyage of the heart that takes him from the hills of Florence to the mosques of Konya, Turkey, and into the heart of religious mysticism.
"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of "The Alchemist" and "The Little Prince, " this enchanting story is set in the late 1940s and takes readers from piazzas of Florence to the mosques of Turkey. Upon discovering a poem by the 13th century Sufi dervish Rumi, Georgiou, a young Greek icon painter, is compelled to travel to the land that this poet called home.
"Synopsis" by , This enchanting story, set in the late 1950s, takes us from the hills and piazzas of Florence to the green domed mosques of Konya, Turkey. Upon discovering a poem by the thirteenth-century Sufi dervish Rumi, Georgiou, a young Greek icon painter, is compelled to travel to the land that this poet called home. Inspired by Rumi's magical words, Georgiou leaves his father and their small business in hopes of recapturing the transcendent power of an early childhood vision.

Through encounters with Christian and Islamic mystics, and guided by forces he cannot name, Georgiou gradually learns to follow his own heart. The closer he gets to Konya and to Rumi's tomb, the more in awe he becomes at the workings of fate. But it is only when Georgiou returns to Florence that his life changes forever in an experience that reveals the mystery of life and love.

In the tradition of The Alchemist and Siddartha, Chasing Rumi is a spellbinding and enduring story for all.

"Synopsis" by , This enchanting story, set in the late 1950s, takes us from the hills and piazzas of Florence to the green domed mosques of Konya, Turkey. Upon discovering a poem by the thirteenth-century Sufi dervish Rumi, Georgiou, a young Greek icon painter, is compelled to travel to the land that this poet called home. Inspired by Rumi's magical words, Georgiou leaves his father and their small business in hopes of recapturing the transcendent power of an early childhood vision.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.